We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cottage Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cottage Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 244: English reviews
Start your review of Cottage Hotel
 Click to rate
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Supposed to be terrible but very happy with it, small rooms but very clean and loads of hot water, staff running round trying to make everything as good as they could, food acceptable the last night of a 5 day Shearings holiday to the bulb fields, everything very fresh and after seeing a previous review was very pleasantly surprised.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank izzyw6
Cotignac, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing around it the area is rough. Parking is good and free. Old and tired but clean small rooms with ancient tiny bathroom . The receptionist/ barman/ waiter Pierre, was very helpful and a credit to the hotel. It wasn't noisey and we slept well. Just a stopover to catch the ferry after a long drive. Not a chance of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaisBayOui
Bath, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Cottage Hotel, Calais on the return leg of a trip to Netherlands to see the Keukenhof Gardens. The holiday was organised by Shearing Coach holidays, who picked the hotel; and while not in the “top end/luxury” holiday bracket, the holiday was reasonably expensive (around £650/700 for a 4 night break). Thus it may be that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stu151
USA
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Very convenient for Chunnel after driving across France. Dogs welcome (dogs seem to be more expensive in hotels than they used to be). Parking at door of hotel, and garage for refueling not far away. Efficient staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burgundyfan100
ch-calais, Direction at Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the COTTAGE HOTEL in Calais and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide a great service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I wish to welcome you back in...

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here overnight before a shuttle back to the UK. Clean and tidy rooms and the evening meal was really good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Located within a few minutes of the terminals it is perfect for an overnight stop before heading on. Lovely place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
ch-calais, Directrice at Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the COTTAGE HOTEL in Calais, and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide a great service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I wish to welcome you back in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

A few moments from the shuttle and if you want a simple no nonsense overnight stop this place is perfect. 24 hour check is useful when you're at the vagaries of Uk traffic and the shuttle too! The rooms are simple but plenty of room, comfortable and nice sheets. Breakfast is pretty good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hplclear
ch-calais, Responsable relations clients at Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the COTTAGE HOTEL in CALAIS and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide a great service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I wish to welcome you back in...

Pouzols-Minervois, France
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We have stayed at the Cottage hotel many times over the past eight years and always found it good. Last week however our two separate stays were far from good. On the first night there was no hot water in our room and still none in the morning. When we phoned later in the week to check before returning we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0hnbarber
ch-calais, Responsable relations publiques at Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr BARBER, First of all, we would like to apologize for these incidents. Indeed, as we explained to you during our telephone conversation, we had experienced disruptions in the operation of the hot water and this, for a few days. Unfortunately we experienced disturbances in the installation again during your second stay and once again we apologize. We confirm...

Pecs, Hungary
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We have used this hotel many times. It is ideally placed for the autoroute, ferry and tunnel and has a secure car park. Always a warm welcome from the 24 hour reception who give efficient check in and out. The rooms are basic but have all you need for an overnight and the wifi is good. The menu is short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahammari
ch-calais, Responsable relations clients at Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the COTTAGE HOTEL CALAIS , and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide a great service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. We assure you every time you visit...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

When arrived the receptionist was help full the room was very clean we only stayed one night, I had a meal in the hotel was very good free parking where the receptionist was able to see, very close to the both terminals, This was our third stay here and would book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flavour12
ch-calais, Responsable relations publiques at Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the COTTAGE HOTEL in Calais. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide a great service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. We assure you every time you visit us,...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Friendly budget overnight hotel.Ideal for ferries and or tunnel.Reasonably priced ,what more would you want?Dinner basic but good ,good value.Close to hypermarket and main roads.Stayed several times before

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikefr
ch-calais, Responsable relations clients at Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent at COTTAGE HOTEL. I am delighted to read that you found the hotel to be in a perfect location. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards. The Hotel Manager. C.COQUET

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Cottage Hotel

Address: 648 rue de Tunis, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Price Range: $86 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Calais
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cottage Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cottage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else”
Stu151, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front and back rooms are all quiet.”
j0hnbarber, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“When ever we stop we always get a main road view with having our dog with us but still very quiet,”
Flavour12, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floort rooms have windows which are either fully open or fully closed, not very secure in the hot summer period.”
450maureeng, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“if you cannot find it on sat nav, enter Rue de Tunis Calais”
JOHN1944Wales, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5