We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Green Tree Guest Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Green Tree Guest Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Green Tree Guest Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 36: English reviews
heeee
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Excellent accommodation of individual cottages. Very welcoming and friendly hosts giving lots of local knowledge Great location for Game parks, especially Addo

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heeee
Berlin
Reviewed 9 March 2010

we enjoyed a great breakfast, the well equipped room (even if you don´t have a toilet door that you could close, there was akind of a saloon door instead, but never mind ;-)), the warm and very kind host that gave us very important and helpful tipps for the game drive and even booked for us. Unfortunately we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mellicarrie
Lezl, Owner at The Green Tree Guest Cottages, responded to this review

Due to the coming 2010 Soccer World Cup, upgrades as been done to roads through South Afica. Unfortunately we were unlucky to have it close to our entrance, wich caused a bit of noise during day time, it has since been relocated away from our entrance, and something that was not permanent. This was something that was not in our...

stilbaai
Reviewed 8 March 2010

My wife and I live in SA, and were travelling with friends from Jersey C.I. and we used Green Trees as a base to tour the area, Addo etc. We stayed in two separate chalets self catering, which were imaculate and well appointed. We have stayed on working farms before and this was the best by far. Nothing was too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philstilbaai
WORCESTERSHIRE
Reviewed 25 February 2010

This was our third visit to Green Tree.We have stayed in different rooms and each one has been first class.The breakfast is supberb and evening meals worth every rand.Lezl,Datie and Reinhard are fantastic hosts and welcome us as one of the familySince our first visit they have installed a swimmimg pool which is an added bonus.The farm is perfectly situated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SPECIALMERLOT
London
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Great place to stay, but what made it exceptional was the service we received: travelled with both my partner + parents & received personal touches everywhere.. Nothing was too much effort & we felt at home & very comfortable. Cottages & scenery are both stunning, friendly service + food = YUMMY! Couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommend staying here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJams
Somerset West
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Wow what a wonderful time we had at Green Tree Farm - it exceeded our every expectation! The accommodation was beautiful and the service outstanding. The extra special touches were noted!! Our children had an experience of a lifetime - they even saw a baby calf being born! The food was excellent!! We enjoyed all the adventures of living on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne1444
uk
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The rooms were spacious but everything else was the worse we experienced in 4 weeks of travelling around SA. We booked dinner in advance but on arrival we were told that this was not a full dinner but as a light evening meal (mince meat with a Greek salad and chocolate brownies for desert at £20 for 2) Easily the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grahammiller_10
Lezl, Owner at The Green Tree Guest Cottages, responded to this review

Mr Miller I was really surprised when I saw this venomous attack that came from you. You never once mentioned how unhappy you where when here?? I still remember clearly, how I tried to be friendly to you and your friend, and you just made me feel I was in your way. I still thought this poor man must be...

Ferwert, Friesland, NL
Reviewed 18 January 2010

This was the highlight of our 7 week stay in South Africa. Friendly, excellent food, classy and detail to excellence. Thank you to our landlady Lezl van Niekerk. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Friesland4
Northamptonshire
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Need a car but no so remote after all you are in the Eastern Cape. Good location to Addo which was a complete joy. Lovely garden, good food. Lezl was a charming host and helped us enormously with local knowledge. Supper brought to your door cooked by Lezl and rooms cleared and beautifully cleaned by first class friendly staff. Felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulette66
UK
Reviewed 30 November 2009

we chose the cottages because they are very convenient for Addo Elephant Park and Schotia Safaris ( both of which we recommend ) Located on a dairy farm the cottages are large , spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated They are in a remote location and you need to drive to get to shops and restaaurants but don't let this put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravisUk

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanaga
7.6 km away
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Leeuwenbosch Country House
#1 of 3 in Amakhala Game Reserve
148 reviews
32.7 km away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
34.6 km away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
295 reviews
13.4 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,025 reviews
8.3 km away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the life style of country living on this beautiful dairy farm while visiting The Addo Elephant Park, Schotia safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve and more within 10 - 15 min drive from The Green Tree Cottages. Spacious, tastefully decorated self-catering cottages will ensure you a comfortable stay. The Green Tree Cottages are Owner managed for personal attention and good service. We would love to welcome you here. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Tree Guest Cottages

Address: Route 72, Wycombevale Farm, Nanaga 6185, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Nanaga
Price Range: $77 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Tree Guest Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Green Tree Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Green Tree Guest Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are great, vary in size and nr of beds”
 of 5 bubbles SvR1964, 21 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the noisy road”
 of 5 bubbles pencaksilatAmsterdam, 18 Dec 2012 | Read review
“I don't think there is a bad room there!”
 of 5 bubbles TamaraR65, 19 Jan 2012 | Read review
“For 2 persons or a close family - the porcupine cottage is best!!!! We loved our stay there in April 2011. For more family with dad and mom traveling along and a bit more space...you will love the Njala cottage!!!”
 of 5 bubbles CoetzeeMaryke, 17 Oct 2011 | Read review
4 of 4