We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Anchorage Retreat

Save
Share
50 Parkers Access Trk, Wattle Hill, Victoria 3237 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Southern Anchorage Retreat boasts breathtaking views and is a tranquil retreat located near the 12 Apostles. Revitalise yourself in a peaceful bush setting, enjoy the comforts of being close to nature or just use us as a base to explore the many attractions close by... including the Spectacular 12 Apostles, Great Ocean Walk, Otway Fly Treetop Walk, etc, etc. Need to invigorate yourself or your relationship? We have just the place for you! We have 2 modern suites and 3 spectacular cottages, each loaded with luxuries to pamper your needs . A cottage stay allows you to relax in the luxurious jacuzzi, enjoy the warmth and romance of the wood heater fires, or simply crash on our comfy king and queen sized beds, we've got just the place for you. Then again you may like to relax on the deck with nature surrounding you, with kangaroos often passing or birdsong gently lulling you... it's impossible not to be swept away by the beauty of the environment of Southern Anchorage.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot bath
Bicycle rental
Diving
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Secured parking
Public wifi
Game room
Hiking
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
40Car recommended
Grade: 40 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 10 km
4Attractionswithin 10 km
156Reviews0Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 139
  • 13
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
TheClouds wrote a review Aug 2021
Melbourne, Australia8 contributions
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, it was so peaceful and well needed after a tough year. Have had many friends and family ask about where we stayed when showing photos so we hope they also get to enjoy this place in the future, which we also would love to come back. Pet Friendly too which was awesome because we could bring our Dog!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Fiji Cottage had beautiful lush green views with the ocean in the distance
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Maria T wrote a review Jul 2021
13 contributions2 helpful votes
Husband and I stayed for 2 night the accommodation was well equipped and exceptionally clean. We did some sightseeing the accommodation helped by being close to many thing. Had absolutely lovely time thank you so much
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Choose what suits you the whole accommodation was good all quite and exclusive
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Guitarfish wrote a review Apr 2021
Eltham, Australia53 contributions34 helpful votes
We spent one night in a suite here as part of a tour, and thought it was wonderful, a peaceful and relaxing base to kick back after a day’s hike. Our suite was spacious, elegantly decorated, spotless and very comfortable, with obvious care to the little details which make a stay all that much nicer. We had a balcony with seats looking across gardens and bush to the ocean, what a gorgeous way to end the day! We were happy to have a sofa for relaxing on, a comfortable bed, and a great shower in the nicely-appointed en-suite. The two suites share a large kitchen/dining/lounge area, and while (delicious) meals were included as part of our tour, we were impressed by the well-equipped kitchen which had everything you could need for self-catering. In the morning we loved watching and hearing birds in the surrounding gardens, as well as being amused by the antics of the resident wallabies and ‘roos nearby. Drew was friendly, helpful, and generous in sharing information about the area and things to do. The owners clearly take great care and effort so guests can enjoy their beautiful property, surrounded by nature, and it would be perfect for a romantic stay, somewhere to switch off and unwind, or a very comfortable base for touring or hikers to relax at the end of the day. We’d love to return for a longer stay!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Bec Ervin wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions
My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at Southern Anchorage Retreat in the Fiji cottage in February 2021. From the moment we arrived and saw the the spectacular views we knew we had picked a winner for our visit along the Great ocean road. We were greeted by Drew who very kindly gave us lots of information on some great places we should visit around the area including a chocolate and cheese shop! (Truly cannot go wrong with chocolate and cheese). When we arrived at the cottage we were extremely impressed by how cosy and welcoming it was, a home away from home feel. The cottage itself was extremely clean and well kept, the bed was HUGE very spacious and comfy, I especially liked that the doona covers were patterned and stylish not your usual boring white Doona that lots of hotels have. We took on Drew’s advice before we arrived and ensured we had plenty of food s for our stay which was great as it meant no stressing over where to go to find doc groceries. The main reason we chose the Fiji cottage was for the spa and breathtaking view that we have read about in other reviews. And it did not disappoint. Sitting back in the spa was so relaxing and definitely needed after all the stress of COVID. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we have told all of our friends and family about this wonderful accomodation tucked away on the great ocean road. It’s a true gem and I cannot wait to return. Thank-you drew and Maria for the wonderful stay, we’ll see you soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Pablo D wrote a review Feb 2021
Melbourne, Australia44 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
We booked to stay for 5 nights in the Fiji Cottage. The drive was spectacular and when we arrived in the tranquil bush settings and saw the rolling hills and the ocean in the distance from the balcony of our cottage, we were instantly impressed.(*see photos.) Birds were singing, fat cows were grazing lazily and the breeze was soothing. Taking Drew's advice, we ensured we brought enough food for a few days as shops and supermarkets were quite the distance away. The kitchen was well equipped with a fridge, oven, microwave, toaster, dishwasher and all the usual necessities. (*see photos) However, I would suggest bringing your own steak knives as there are none especially if you like a good hearty steak cooked on the Barbie. I'd also suggest bringing a sharp knife to prepare vegetables as the ones provided are blunt. First world problem but a helpful suggestion especially if you enjoy preparing meals and want to avoid the frustration of blunt knives. The views from in the cottage are beautiful and could be enjoyed more if the windows were clean. *(see photos) We were informed that the salt air from the ocean makes them like this which we understand but we also know that if the windows were cleaned on the day before or even on the day that guests arrive that there's no way they would be as bad as they were. When I ran my finger along the glass, it was greasy. We live 500 metres from the beach ourselves and have never has this issue because we maintain it accordingly. If you are a couple and enjoy the comfort of a cuddle when going to sleep then you may struggle being satisfied with these "commercial" twin singles which are joined to make a king. The beds are not conducive to affection nor a good night's sleep. I peeled back the covers and noticed the beds are not level which in turn felt like a divide. *(see photos) To my astonishment and dismay we also saw the underlay and next sheet heavily stained with old bodily fluids. (*see photos) Very cringeworthy.  I wish I never looked and remained ignorant! Having a cold beer whilst cooking meals on the rustic, salt ridden BBQ was enjoyable. I actually liked the effect as it added character. (*see photo) Internally, it was good,  though bring a lighter as it does not start easily. There is a note saying if the electric starter doesn't light up the gas, wait 5 minutes and try again. The lighter will save you time. There is no option in dining outside unless you bring the dining and chairs outside which is very doable. It is worth the effort especially if dining whilst the sun sets. The balcony is huge but unfortunately there's only 1 item of furniture on the deck. We were informed this is due to high winds that occasionally come through. It's such a shame because it could be a very nice place to sit or lie and relax. (*see photo)  Heavy styled furniture would definitely be an asset and add value. The jacuzzi is a bonus. Give it time to heat up, climb in with a beer or wine and let it wash any aches or pains away.  The aroma takes a little getting used to but before long you probably won't notice it. Overall, the cabin has so much potential. We tried to share our thoughts with Drew & Marie but it wasn't received so well.  My partner had a few business meetings to conduct and Drew assumed she was stressed from this. He even enquired if she had lost her job which we found a little intrusive. He then proceed to tell her that she should stop stressing and enjoy the tranquillity of the area.  We're both in our 50's and enjoy our lives so to have a person who doesn't know us express these views, gave us an indication that he wasn't able to absorb our feedback at all. His wife suggested we book in the city next time. As a result, we decided to re-locate the last 2 nights. We are empathetic people who understand that COVID-19 has had a significant impact on everyone especially in the tourism industry.  We will not be asking for a refund especially with the additional stage 4 restrictions that have just been introduced. In saying that, their lack of respect for us was the most disappointing aspect. Drew often mentioned he was a superhost and had received multiple rave reviews which is quite true. This however does not exempt you from treating your paying guests, that have chosen your establishment as their holiday destination as stressed out city people. Our photos give validation to what we've been telling you and to be honest, if you'd hadn't been so arrogant or rude then I would have left no review. Funnily enough, we wish you both well and hope this is a small bump in your journey towards continued success.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Devlin, Owner at Southern Anchorage Retreat
Responded 18 Feb 2021
Hello Daniela & Pablo, A big thank you for your review, it’s fabulous to get someone who critically pulls apart your business and was so negative. The feedback is greatly appreciated, as it gave us the opportunity to review our practice and focus on what we can do better and where we’re doing well - which is something we’ve done from Day 1 seven years ago. Firstly it’s also important for readers to realise that Daniela & Pablo also emphasised to us that they are considering getting into the tourism industry (I notice this wasn’t mentioned in their review)- so there was a motive for their review and an opportunity for them to bisect a business to see what they can do better and aim high- a noble sentiment! Before I start- I want to emphasise that there is always two sides to a tale- and we are a not a 5 star retreat and we are not perfect and always looking to improve- you should have seen the place when we took over. Accommodation is heavily reviewed and is a tough industry for operators to survive- it’s certainly not for everybody. Take for instance the first night of Daniella’s stay. I find it funny in your review that you claim that you are ‘empathetic’, yet after I drove home 3 hours from cleaning up my mother’s place (after her recent passing) I was summoned down to the cottage at 8:30pm and told it was not good enough- that you could smell the cooking from the previous guest and what was I going to do? You seemed on edge- and after hearing for another 3 times the lingering smell from the previous guests was not good enough. After racing back up to the office I grabbed a perfume diffuser that did seem to pacify your protests, and finally got to my dinner about 9 pm. Funny that my son and wife who cleaned earlier that day didn’t detect an odour- but maybe Daniela has very sensitive senses- I certainly didn’t detect a smell when I entered the cottage, but in the end was happy I was able to satisfy Daniela’s demands. Next I want to address a situation I find very disturbing and saddened by. My wife was in a good mood as she took the batteries that Daniela requested down to the cottage on the 4th day of their stay. As Maria entered the cottage Daniela stepped in front of Maria and for the next 10 minutes verbally intimidated, remonstrated and bullied Maria, stating we were doing a terrible job as accommodation providers, that we were showing no love to guests and the place was a disgrace! By not cleaning the windows on the day they arrived, by not providing cushions and throws (government directives recommend they're not in the cottages during covid), etc, the cottage lacked warmth and love. Daniella had a list of many other putdowns and failings that she continued to personally attacked Maria with and never once gave Maria the opportunity to respond. By employing a continually raised voice, gesturing madly, personal insults and allowing no time for Maria to reply, I really feel sorry that your method of communication is very reflective of ‘Bullying’ behaviour and I feel sad that you were gratified by intimidating another person. To address some of the concerns consider… the windows were cleaned within the week before Daniella’s stay by our son, and yes you did take a photo through the window in the corner with the flywire is aged and not perfect and has deteriorated. If people check Daniela’s photo of the table outside the bathroom/jacuzzi room- you will see the windows are in fact very clear and maybe Daniel refers to the windows smeared by the lickings of her two Dachshunds that we needed to clean after Daniel’s stay. I definitely admit we didn’t clean the outside of the windows on the day of Daniela’s visit- as we had 5 cleans across the whole retreat and this takes time with with strict government Covid cleaning regulations. Our kitchen is well equipped, very clean and tidy and well resourced. I take onboard your steak knives comment and will look to purchase some shortly- thanks for the heads up! I also take note on the knife sharpening- it is something we haven’t done for quite a while and I did notice that the guests have not been using the knife sharpener we have in the drawer- another thanks- it’s gone on our last of medium term jobs to do. With the bed another thanks, we have had the 2 zip together beds like many hotels but have decided to upgrade to a new king mattress- we will expect some poor reviews when we have singles stay on our commercial stretcher but that is the industry- you can’t please everybody! With the underlay, we have had it dry cleaned regularly- and the dry cleaner states its hygienic but permanently stained. We normally change this over at about this stage. With the barbecue I must admit they were on the list to replace last Winter but Covid put a stop to that. Many like us along the Great Ocean Road have had 7/8 months of no earning, and in our situation because we were a partnership we only received one job keeper, are still behind in rent, but are one of the fortunate ones- we were lucky to have money set aside for renovations- which has helped us get through- while many others have not re-opened post Covid. But your empathy would recognise our situation like many others in our situation. With the barbecue, don’t worry about bringing a lighter- just read the note on the barbeque that states ‘a red gas igniter is in the kitchen above the rangehood’. Outdoor furniture is a difficult one we’re always looking for solutions for. The previous hosts warned about 3 broken windows he suffered from having bulky deck furniture crash through them. Our weather certainly is impressive and those strong winter winds coming all the way from Antarctica hit our part of the coast first- it helps us realise the power of our ‘Shipwreck Coast’- and what the early explorers/settlers had to endure. We do have the comfy portable vinyl chairs in the cupboard the previous host used and we have added the outdoor setting. With winter being cold and windy, we certainly couldn’t consider heavily styled furniture as you suggest, as creepy crawlies, salt, mould and dirt would make them ‘cringeworthy’ very quickly. You did go on the attack with the smell of the spa in your verbal barrage- but because we have lpg gas heaters and consider the environment we use a more expensive treatment system- which is better for the guests and the environment- unfortunately if guests are looking for the chlorine smell and sore eyes, our spas are probably not their taste! Now I certainly wasn’t being invasive asking about Daniela’s wellbeing. From the time I met her on the first night she seemed very on edge and highly stressed, and I was just concerned about another human being- nothing sinister. To say I wasn’t able to ‘absorb your feedback’ was totally untrue- I only received third person commentary from Maria, who replayed the verbal and physical barrage you offer as feedback, and you’d already decided to leave after your ‘discussion’ with Maria. I find it quite compelling that Pablo stood back the whole time and observed Daniela’s poor behaviour and his only comment at the end was… ‘We’re not being mean- because we know its you’re livelihood- but there’s so much you can do better!’ Now, I must admit my wife did offer a parting shot (when your verbal lashing had concluded), ‘Maybe you should have just booked an apartment in the city, instead of here! Apparently this was the final straw for Maria- she was so distressed by your aggressive, intimidating bullying behaviour and I must apologise that Maria lost her cool, but I’m proud that she stood up to Daniela and was able to leave on that note. I must admit I did state once we were a superhost, and that this, our many awards and being in the top 5% of businesses’ reviewed reflects our many years of continued excellence and progress. We see this review as a blip in our journey and as I said we will use the many constructive comments you have offered to improve. Our integrity and empathy can be emphasised through Covid where we have returned all guest monies- as we don’t see Covid as our guest’s fault and this recent comment from Airbnb reflects how we are held by these Accommodation Providers and the service we provide our guests… Airbnb Message… I would like to thank you for showing generosity to the guest by providing refund outside your cancellation policy. Your ability to understand and empathize with your guest is truly refreshing for me to witness. I just wanted to take some time to let you know I greatly appreciate your kindness! Please allow me to thank you as well for being one of our Superhosts! This badge speaks volumes of who you are not only as a host but as a person. We appreciate you taking hosting to a whole new level! In closing we work hard as a family business, love our place and try to ensure our guests have an amazing stay and are really comfortable and happy. We are also the first to say we are not perfect! It’s important to realise…. that we are not critical of you trying to help or your suggestions- it is just your method of delivery- we have many of our regulars who leave a considerate note with suggestions and advice and this is much better than a personal attack.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 107 - USD 160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaWattle Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Southern Anchorage Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Southern Anchorage Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Great Ocean Road Wildlife Park (6.2 km), Wreck Beach (0.9 km), and Moonlight Head/Wreck Beach (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Southern Anchorage Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a spa, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Southern Anchorage Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Southern Anchorage Retreat?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Southern Anchorage Retreat?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Is Southern Anchorage Retreat located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Wattle Hill.
Are any cleaning services offered at Southern Anchorage Retreat?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Southern Anchorage Retreat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Southern Anchorage Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Southern Anchorage Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.