We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Albergo Nazionale

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Albergo Nazionale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Located in the highest part of Volterra and close to the most interesting sites of the city. It is an very old hotel, the rooms are small. It is hotel most utilized by tours. This is not a hotel that you will find confort, in the other hand the location and price compensate. From the highest rooms you can see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miltonassumpcao
Giulio G, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albergo Nazionale, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Assumpcao, Thank you for your review and we hope to accommodate you again when he returns to Italy from your Brazil so dear to us. As he pointed out by ns. is a historic building on the top of the hill and at the same time in the city center. We believe that we should explain better what...

Reviewed 9 October 2016

We were in Volterra and most hotels were booked, so the Albergo Nazionale was about the only choice with a roof. It is an older seedier place. If there is a fine line between quaint and seedy the Nazionale passed it years ago. The gentlemen who checked us in was stone-faced, and spoke no English. Not a requirement, mind you,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat N
Giulio G, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albergo Nazionale, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review, unfortunately from His initials were not able to figure out what's your name, but the observations we believe it is passed in a time when we did not have the nos. best available rooms and the reception staff on vacation, we are confident of being able to enjoy your next stay in Volterra...

United States
Reviewed 4 October 2016

CONS: The chairs in the room were thread bare and full of stains. I could not sit in them, they were so horrible and disgusting. The room was suppose to have panaramic views. The room right next to us had the panaramic views, we had the obstructed views. 1030 check out is too early. One of the croissants had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
Giulio G, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albergo Nazionale, responded to this review

Dear Mr Lynn, Thank you for your review because all help us to improve ourselves and to change any defects that are highlighted and we are sorry for the inconvenience that you have experienced, but it allows us to let you know the Italian proverb: "He who causes His is ill cry himself. " In other words, if you had...

Otford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Old world type of rooms but comfortable. Very convenient for the bus station and for exploring the town. Restaurant attached with excellent food. Breakfast had a good selection. Staff friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alancer2016
Giulio G, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albergo Nazionale, responded to this review

Dear Alancer2016 Thank you for your review and we apologize for the delay in responding, we hope to see you count among ns. loyal customers and waiting to shake his hand and wish you and family a good path in life, Julio

Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Showing signs of age. Small rooms but adequately equipped and very clean. Good Continental buffet breakfast. Good free in room WiFi. Ideal location. We have stayed here before and would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dudley M
seattle
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Albergo Nazionale is a no frills hotel located in the center of Volterra. It's the perfect choice for a quick visit and for those on a budget. The rooms are reasonable & very clean. Definitely request a room on the top floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mquiz1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Great central location and nice room with window opening over a square. Woman on reception in morning was working very hard but kept smiling and not only let me use her computer to book accommodation but called up the hotels for me and checked they had rooms and spoke English. Very pleasant. Breakfast was also good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dorjetravel
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

I recently travelled to Volterra for a wedding and stayed at the Albergo Nazionale. I can't fault these guys on anything. I had the smallest room in the hotel, extremely cheap and still got a kingsize bed. Staff were very helpful. Grazie mille.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paddy O
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2015

My walking group was based in this hotel on a bed, breakfast and evening meal arrangement for 5 days at the beginning of May 2015. The room was ok if rather cramped - my friend and I had single beds which had to be pushed together to allow minor movements around the room. The furniture was fairly old and there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CathGriffiths
San Mateo, California
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Was easy to access from the bus drop off and centrally located to the entire city of Volterra. Had seen complaints about the surly front desk staff, but only encountered that with the male night manager,all of the ladies that worked other shifts were very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbertell

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
181 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
307 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
#12 of 24 in Volterra
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
432 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Villa Nencini
Hotel Villa Nencini
#13 of 24 in Volterra
188 reviews
0.5 km away
San Lino
San Lino
#7 of 24 in Volterra
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Nazionale is situated in an antique palace since 1890. Thanks to our great central position, you can visit wonderful Volterra easily on foot. We offer 38 rooms all of them with private bathroom with all necessary amenities, a telephone and a TV. . Spend an original and pleasant stay in one of our rooms. All the rooms are provided with the free Wi-Fi internet access.A lovely Restaurant can be found inside. Here, you can enjoy great Tuscan cuisine prepared with nothing but the freshest and most genuine ingredients , combined with an excellent wine selection. The restaurant is made up of an ample dining room that can host up to 110 people, making it particularly adaptable for weddings, ceremonies, official work or group dinners.If You're travelling by bike, You can store it inside the Hotel. If You're travelling by bus,We stand 50 meters in front of the main bus stop. If You arrive by motorcycle, You can park in public places outside the building.To reach easly the Hotel by car, follow Viale dei Ponti untill You reach Piazza Martiri della Liberta and enter this adress in Your sat nav system. You can park Your car in the close secure public garage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Albergo Nazionale

Address: Via Dei Marchesi 11, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Price Range: $83 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Albergo Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Nazionale Volterra
Albergo Nazionale Hotel Volterra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Albergo Nazionale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms on the highest floors.”
 of 5 bubbles miltonassumpcao, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms would be acceptable.”
 of 5 bubbles alancer2016, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“look for room overlooking the square”
 of 5 bubbles dorjetravel, 31 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Get the rooms facing out of Volterra.”
 of 5 bubbles paddyo165, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the best rooms and check before you accept - our rooms were small and needed a refurb.”
 of 5 bubbles CathGriffiths, 14 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay