We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The views over Positano are amazing and it's great having a room with a patio to step onto when you wake up. The rooms are rustic, however, with a tiny bathroom with an even smaller shower. We were fine with all of this, but we realized on our last of three nights there that my wife had been bitten numerous...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank John_J_from_Texas
Giancarlo M, Owner at Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast, responded to this review

Dear Henry, thanks for your review and apologies for what happened with the beg bugs. We confirm that we had cases of bed bugs in the past (which is when our guest Henry stayed with us), and we are sorry for that. If you had shared this with us we would have offered a full compensation. As soon as we...

Southern California
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We just finished a whirlwind driving tour around Italy, and a portion of it was two nights at Pensione Maria & Luisa, which we booked at 6pm the evening of check in before we drove OVER the peninsula on THAT road= ) We finally arrived at 7:30 or 8:00, checked into beautiful balcony rooms with HOT showers in February!! Carlo...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelCSR
Sydney
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The Balcony View and Carlo is what makes this simple accomodation supersan! We stayed two nights in a room without the balcony and two nights with the balcony and the balcony room is totally amazing. The rooms are basic, neat and clean. The location is out of the way but it doesn't take that long to get the the main...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank upupherewego
Toronto
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The view from our balcony was amazing, Carlo was very accommodating and kind, and his cat was the sweetest creature on the island:) The room was nothing special but don't plan on being in your room when you are in such a beautiful place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melissa K
sydney
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed at Pensione Maria Luisa in September 2010 during our trip through Italy and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The pensione is positioned on top of a cliff which overlooks the beautiful sea. We were lucky enough to stay in a sea view room and were mesmerized as soon as we stepped out onto the balcony! Admittedly, the rooms and bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misssyd
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I will concur with the other reviewers that Carlo has to be the nicest proprietor in all of Italy. The location makes this a difficult choice for older travellers, the less fit or those with mobility issues. Positano clings to a cliff face and has many streets which are so steep they incorporate stairs. The Maria Luisa is half-way down...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sydney_traveller_7
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We just recently stayed here in October and had the ocean view room. Let me just say that the view from the terrace will immediately make take your breath away and make you relax. The room décor is basic but clean and the room we stayed in the bathroom had been recently been renovated and clean.. The real star of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Carlo, the owner's childhood home. He was very helpful, arranging a driver to take us to Salerno 6.00. We had a problem with SITA bus and luggage from Sorrento to Positano. We were unable to get one of the fabled rooms with terrace overlooking the sea, but the room we got was OK, with sea glimpses and overlooking Positano. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pattimavis
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed here in May 2011 at the end of three weeks travel in Italy. The pensione is basic and honestly "dated". Our balcony room was spacious but was in need of a facelift. Still - it was clean and the service was good. But - the biggest PLUS was that awesome balcony and FANTASTIC view. Having the fridge available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TTTravels
Mill Valley, California
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My wife and I stayed there we thought it was nice place and enjoyed it. Unfortunately when we got back we started breaking out with rashes and red bumps all over our arms.. We found out we got bit by bedbugs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Henry117
Giancarlo M, Owner at Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for your review and apologies for the bed bugs. If you had shared this with us we would have offered a full compensation. We confirm that we had cases of bed bugs in the past (which is when our guest stayed), and we are sorry for that. As soon as we found this out we replaced our...

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 km away
Casa Maresca
Casa Maresca
#29 of 39 in Positano
119 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 39 in Positano
441 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel La Bougainville
Hotel La Bougainville
#22 of 39 in Positano
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
563 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
689 reviews
0.1 km away
Vittoria
Vittoria
#24 of 39 in Positano
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast

Address: Via Fornillo 42, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Price Range: $166 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast Hotel Positano
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont take the small room at a discount also. Instead ask for a bigger room.”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with a terrace. It's an extra fifteen euros but well worth it for the amazing views!”
 of 5 bubbles BuffyPaulie, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only some rooms have terraces and some have rather basic bathrooms. Room 7 very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 868jenny, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 has great views”
  • Window of my room
  • My View..Breathtaking
 of 5 bubbles Frannfish, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for a terrace room, otherwise avoid room 1 if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles majainaus, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay