We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Start your review of Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve
 Click to rate
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the mud huts, the view is gorgeous and the beds comfortable. For the rest, the sinks and showers back up and gurgle, the road to the huts is dangerously steep and almost inaccessible. The kitchen is badly equipped, there were no matches and a few burnt down candles. The solar solutions do not work effectively, the overall...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirstenm899
Addo P, General Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review

Hi, Thank your for your feedback after your email. We are going to answer you more or less the same as we did by email. We didn't give you a waiver of 50%, you left the lodge without paying the outstanding amount for your accommodation, but after we answered your email, we decided to finish the story and to not...

Vancouver, British Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a wonderful "palace" at the end of a dirt road. The food in the dinning room was a surprising treat in what seemed to be a remote location. Sleeping under a thatched roof was great. We will return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelandjudy2017
Wien
Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Addo Bush Palace. The rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The property has amazing views onto the surrounding hills- especially early in the morning it was stunning! The food we had was great! However, the best of it all was the friendly, caring and helpful staff! They made our stay so special! Thanks...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliasC2174NV
Eriskirch, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Any time again! very kind Manager and excellent service with a breathtaking view We can fullheartedly recomend this location! The staff was very friendly and looked very well after us! We feld very confortable!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomasvY645YM
Loosdrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good place in Africa style with very good staff and food. Nice African dance after the diner with enthousiast staff. The exterieur and interior is very successful. Baboons in the garden and bush-bush. A recommendation for all travelers. Family from The Netherlands

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 268willemz
Nederland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a great time at Addo Bush Palace, it's such an indescribable beautiful place. The accommodation is built in the middle of the nature. So you will wake up with nice nature sounds. For example: I was laying in bed and saw some monkeys. The rooms are decorated in African style which I really appreciated because it gives you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marjolein Z
Addo P, General Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for your great review. We really enjoy getting feedback from our guests because it helps us grow. We have taken note of your reply regarding dinner, and will try to improve on that. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Jonathan Kirsten

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We selected the property through Trip Advisor and were pleased we did. Great place to stay a few days away from the main-stream with places to visit not far to drive. Freshly prepared meals add to the appeal. Take care wether you are selecting the self-catering or in-house offerings; we almost got caught out - nothing sinister going on, but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed for a few days at the self-catering portion of the Addo Bush Palace. The "mud huts" were actually very lovely, with very comfortable beds and the peace and quiet in the valley was amazing. We had a few hiccups with the solar power and the plumbing - which turned out to be the fault of a troop of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrahamIX
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

A friend and I visited Addo for a four day tour of the area, hoping to visit the Elephant Park, and one or more of the private reserves. We booked the Mud Huts at Addo Bush Palace. As advertised, they are rustic (solar lighting and solar hot water), but well furnished and appointed, with a kitchenette and staggering views of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terribleman
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We arrived and our first impressions of the place was to "drive away". In fact I rang our travel agent and asked if it was possible to find us other accommodation. The grounds immediately around the main house wasn't bad however further afield the grass hadn't been cut and I'm not sure when last a weed eater had been used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greater Addo hotels
14.3 km away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
422 reviews
19.6 km away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
13.5 km away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.3 km away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
28.9 km away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
293 reviews
35.7 km away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Addo Bush Huts are environmentally friendly as they use just solar power. The mud huts are located on the side of a mountain with superb mountainous and valley views. Perfect for adventurous heart, real bush experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve

Address: | Kromrivier Valley, Paterson, 6105, South Africa (Formerly Addo Palace "Ndebele Bush Lodge")
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo
Price Range: $63 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mud huts are a 7-10 minute walk from the main house.”
Terribleman, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room with a front view”
931candiceh, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in zebra lodge which is removed from the main lodge and restaurant, so somewhat quieter.”
I6151QHcharlottec, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
“a room in the main building seems a good option”
PGH1010, 31 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are great, but i will choose the main lodge.”
fernandonavarropelae, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5