We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Countryman's Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Countryman\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here last weekend and had a lovely weekend. The pub and dining area has a great ambience with oak beams and a big fireplace. The food was the best I have tasted in a while, the three cheese crumble with soldiers, was a big hit. The rooms are comfortable and clean with tea and coffee facilities, and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank _charitywitch
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and your kind review. We hope your parentd day at ITC was enjoyable. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at Pass Off time when your son has completed his training. Wish him Good Luck from everyone at The Countryman's More 

Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had dinner here last night while staying at Flowery Dell lodges in Richmond. Dog friendly pub which we were very grateful for. Food was excellent, better than your usual pub food. Staff and locals were all very friendly. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank 230Brenda
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit and your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to our "Pet Friendly" pub. Thank you for visiting, as I know we are not the nearest to your accommodation in Richmond. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and Camra/ Cask Marque rated cask ales. We hope to see you again soon. Thank... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one Saturday as we were looking for somewhere not too far from the A1 on our route south. Quite difficult to find with the roadworks around Catterick if following Sat Nav,so be warned. We knew we couldn't check in until 6 but arrived just after 5 prepared to read the paper in the car. Landlord saw us... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelaslongasican
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently & submitting your review which, together with your many others on TripAdvisor, I read with interest. We are glad you found our pub useful as a stop over when traveling the A1M. It is currently undergoing significant improvements in our local area as you note. Some Sat Navs may not yet have been... More 

Elton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This place is amazing. We stayed only one night and I wish it had of been more. Lovely big, clean and comfortable room. Food was great. Tony could not have been more helpful. The bar with the fire was awesome.Thanks just amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Rose B
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us last weekend. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Its nice to see your review is more in keeping with the general tone of our TripAdvisor reviews & that when a booking is confirmed, & therefore expected, we can still deliver a worthwhile service and product. Thank you again for... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

It was bad enough having driven for 4 hours to this place (with my family) to find that the room that I had booked the previous month (and confirmed that very week) was now not available, but to be blamed by the proprietor for HIS error was the final straw. A simple admission of his error would have sufficed.

Helpful?
Thank Colin S
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

I have been waiting for your promised review since your abusive visit yesterday. I anticipated it would be on TripAdvisor as you did not book through Booking.com & did not stay here. TripAdvisor is the only on line review facility that allows individuals who have not used the facility to submit a review. Yesterday you were abusive & your review... More 

Chorley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Stayed here recently, unfortunately it was only for 1 night.The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.Tony was a lovely host, very friendly and informative of the area.He also does a mean full cooked breakfast.Wouldnt hesitate to stay again.Thankyou Tony.

Helpful?
Thank MarneChorley
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying recently and your very kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your short time at The Countryman's. Glad you also enjoyed your breakfast!! I'm away on holiday at the moment so have a short break from cooking them and am enjoying someone ( in Croatia!) cooking them for me! I am however watching out for tips!... More 

Thailand
Level Contributor
224 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Having spent 3 nights here we were sorry to leave. Tony, the owner, is the consumate host where nothing is too much trouble. The full English breakfast carried me through the day and were the perfect start. There is a great choice of ales including the local brewed variety. Evening meal was delicious and the servings generous. Having our stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank John C
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your very kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your time in North Yorkshire and The Countrymans and the Steam Gathering in particular! Thank you again for your kind words. It was a pleasure to look after you both, we hope you had a good journey back and hope very much to have... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Thanks Tony for a good time at your hotel. Food, Room, ( Beer !!! ) Superb See you next year "Probably at the steam rally dates" thanks to your staff they were helpful in every way yourself included John & Eileen from Wigan.

Helpful?
Thank littlee1944
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at, what is, our busiest time of the year.It was a pleasure to look after you both and look forward to seeing you for the Steam Gathering next year. More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed here for two night over August Bank Holiday weekend and had a great time! The pub is a proper traditional place with no music, just what we like. We ate there both evenings and can recommend the food. We both had different things each night and enjoyed everything we had. Also breakfast was very good. Our room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank bolan1961
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and for your review. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed our village pub, that you found it comfortable, friendly and welcoming. . Given that you enjoyed the beer and food to, we hope we are getting things right. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you again. More 

Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We travelled down with elderly relative and dog - and we were all made so welcome . The bedrooms were very nice and clean and the beds very comfy. Bathrooms very clean. We had a wonderful meal which we all thoroughly enjoyed, a few drinks at the bar. Breakfasts were ample and enjoyable too. The proprietors and staff were so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frances C
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us on your recent trip down from Scotland. We are glad you found our location convenient to break the journey, and that you enjoyed your time at The Countrymans. It was a pleasure to look after you, "puppy" included, and it is very kind of you to take the time to submit a... More 

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunton
8.7 km away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
18.2 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
10.0 km away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Queens Head
Queens Head
#1 of 1 in Finghall
231 reviews
11.3 km away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
277 reviews
9.6 km away
Black Horse Inn
Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Kirkby Fleetham
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A traditional village pub at the heart of its rural community with four modern en suite rooms. AA three star rated with additional" Gold Standard" and AA Diners Award. The well stocked bar offers a full range of local cask ales and lagers. We are Cask Marque approved and included in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for 2015. The Countryman's Kitchen, now under new management provides food 18.00 to 21.00 EVERY WEEKDAY and SATURDAY EVENING AND FROM Midday to 18.00 on Sundays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Countryman's Inn

Address: South View, Hunton DL8 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hunton
Price Range: $92 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Countryman's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Countryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countryman`s Inn, Hunton Hotel Bedale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Countryman's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think there are only 4 rooms”
 of 5 bubbles travelaslongasican, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms appear to be of similar high standards.”
 of 5 bubbles 1vnlover, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't miss out they are great”
 of 5 bubbles littlee1944, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The stairs to the rooms above are very steep”
 of 5 bubbles 382francesc, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room 1 is massive”
 of 5 bubbles rutlandwander, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay