We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 504: English reviews
Start your review of The George Hotel
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a very quiet village at the side o f the river tees. Our bedroom was clean and of a reasonable size. It is obvious that the hotel is in need of a update both inside and out.We booked a one night stay with dinner and wine and it was a bargain.We thought the menu was expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave a review we do appreciate all feed back.The deals we have on are a bargain we have these deals on all year round.we are in the middle of changing our menu and prices to suit our guests.I will pass the comments on to our teams who do appreciate all the feed back they...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from one nights bed, breakfast and evening meal deal. Menu is fabulous and food cooked to perfection. Room was airy and spotless. Bed comfortable and bathroom immaculate. Staff friendly and competent. Hope to do it again, soon!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isa297
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review Isa297 it was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will be back to visit again soon Many Thanks Jeff & The Team

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

have visited the george over quite a few years but on my last visit i was abit disappointed that standard had slipped, well we went back the other weekend as we love the location and the general feel for the george had ask for a room with a bathroom as we were staying a couple of nights and i do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 864anne310
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review 864anne310 we are very happy to hear you feel that the hotel as improved. I will pass all comments on to our teams. we have taken your comments on board about the room walls being bleak we try to improve the hotel on our guests feed back which we do appreciate. we look forward to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Yesterday afternoon I went for Afternoon Tea with a couple of friends , for one of my friends birthday very disappointed the food and scones was absolutely terrible the scones were tasteless and rock hard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Christine I would like to apologize for this as I have mentioned to your friend below this is something that we are relaunching and testing at the moment and have informed the kitchen team of your displeasure and will work on this. We hope that you will return in the future! Many Thanks Jeff &...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked 8four for afternoon tea we were shown to a table just inside the door two settees but set out on a coffee table we asked to move were put at other end of bar which stunk of fish. There was only one couple in apart from ourselves the waitress offered to move us to a room overlooking the river...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JP50090682
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent afternoon tea with us, we have earmarked this area you have mention as our snug an ideal place for afternoon tea but we do offer many different seating options throughout the hotel. We have recently relaunched our afternoon tea and this is the first negative feedback we have...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We needed a hotel for one night in the Darlington area not knowing the area. We googled numerous hotels and got through to the George where we could actually speak to someone and book direct . We got a ver good value offer and the hotel welcomed our dog . On arrival the staff were very friendly and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review Dawn it was fantastic to read and I hope we can welcome you again in the future. I will inform our kitchen of your dining comments and hope we can work on this in the near future Many Thanks Jeff & The Team

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We have just got back from a delightful stay at the George. We booked a deluxe room with a travel cot. We were welcomed by friendly staff and directed to our room on the first floor. The room was lovely and warm and to our surprise, there was a bottle of wine and 2 glasses left for us. What a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TazJewell
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review it was a pleasure to read! I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your room and it is fantastic to hear how you enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay with us. We would love to have you back again soon :) Kindest Regards Jeff & The Team

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

The food and drink was fantastic. The service was superb,the place very tidy. Shame the rooms are all a bit dated and all need a little TLC to get good again. I.e. new mattresses, plugs attached to sinks, showers that close properly,toilets that fill correctly and speedily. Small things to fix and be a perfect little hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stephenwells2016
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review Stephen i am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and are planning to update our rooms in the future, our classic and mews bedrooms are of a more modern feel if you would those would have suited you better. I hope we can see you again soon! Many Thanks...

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and i really enjoyed our stay here. Really nice quaint hotel. Nice size room and ensuite, really clean and tidy hotel. In a lovely location. The restaurant overlooking the river is really nice. Food was excellent, but at £6.20 a glass, the wine was expensive. The bar area is great, with an open fire. Very friendly helpful staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CraigandLea
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review Craig it is always wonderful to hear that our valued guests have had such a great time with us. I will have our Bar manager review our pricing however I am assured that we are not only competitive but lower than our local competitors. I hope this doesn't put you off and you are...

Malton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

A good deal, for a bed only, two night stay, helpful staff quickly exchanged unheated bed room for, warm one. Good level of comfort,room appeared to have been recently up dated,request for bed side reading lamp, speedily dealt with. Bar and lounge area very busy but,large dining room empty. Management and waiter service shared between both areas subsequently,some time lapse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Robert I am glad that we were able assist you during your stay, we often find that our guests prefer to eat in our bar area as it has a more relaxed atmosphere but we do offer both services if our guests wish to dine in our restaurant. I hope that your health issues have...

241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
34.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
445 reviews
31.2 km away
Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
268 reviews
32.0 km away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
9.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Piercebridge
Price Range: $92 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“plenty to choose from up or down, river views”
 of 5 bubbles gffryhdgk, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“save your money - dont go”
 of 5 bubbles jocka11, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the recently refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles susansS6903MY, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 226 has a nice view of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles Abigail1410, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Luxury hotel at a budget price.”
 of 5 bubbles Houghtn_House, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5