Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa

Milton Moorea at sunset
Traveller (6988)
Room & Suite (1799)
Milton Moorea at sunset
Pool & Beach (1151)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
AU$1,195
AU$1,195
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 resort in Papetoai
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Surrounded by the crystal-clear water of the Pacific Ocean, our eco-friendly hotel features over-water bungalows and the only over-water restaurant in Moorea. Our tour desk can help arrange tours and activities, from snorkeling with stingrays to 4x4 tours. We have a full-service spa, lagoon-style pool, tennis courts, and a fitness center with yoga classes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Offer:Tahitian Escape Discount Offer

Location

Bp 1005, Papetoai 98729 French Polynesia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Temae Airport
Faaa Airport
25.4 km
See all flights
4,891Reviews277Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 3,062
  • 1,102
  • 400
  • 219
  • 108
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
scott w wrote a review June 2023
Moorpark, California13 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a review reflects a 5 night stay (end of May thru early June 2023).

Allow me to start this review by indicating that this is the SECOND time that we stayed at this property (first being in 1997) and it was our THIRD time visiting Moorea (previous time being in March 2020…yeah I know). After receiving notification from Costco Travel of a special deal that included airfare, all transfers, breakfast AND (3 course) dinner at the Hilton, free minbar use and free wifi. YES, this (and our previous stay here) was in an overwater bungalow.

Allow me to separate this review into discrete sections in an attempt to make it easier to read.

COSTCO TRAVEL: Excellent service and (overall) easy to work with. While their website provided almost everything you would need with the exception that there was no direct integration with Air Tahiti Nui so I was required to go to the airline’s web site and re-enter all of the necessary travel information. One issue that I had pertained to me repeatedly asking Costco Travel to confirm the details for the return ferry from Moorea to Tahiti and the time of the pick-up from the hotel on the final day of our vacation. Eve though Costco had this request more than a month before we were ticketed, after final documentation was created I noticed that this still was incorrect (seems most travel agencies will put you on a late afternoon ferry as your flight will not leave Tahiti until just before midnight). I once again asked Costco to make the changes and eventually was told by a rather curt agent, “Costco made the request but it’s up to the agent on the other side to fulfill it.” REALLY? COME ON! Costco is responsible for all ticketing and in my opinion, Costco dropped the ball on this. A simple call by one of the hotel concierge staff fixed the issue. Costco could have done the same thing. Shame on you Costco!

AIR / LAND TRANSFERS: As with the previous two trips, this visit had a local tour company collect arriving passengers and then drive them to the ferry dock. Excellent service all the way around! (NOTE: Arrangements were made with two different tour companies…one on Tahiti and another on Moorea.)

HOTEL STAY (Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort): Where to begin? My wife and I love the Hilton! Truly! It’s smaller than some Moorea resorts and it’s certainly farther away from places like the airport / ferry dock / golf course…that’s fine! I’ll start this portion going through the typical and general parts of our stay. CHECK-IN: Of course we (as do most guests) arrive well before the typical check-in time of 2PM. Rooms (especially overwater bungalows) should NOT be expected to be ready as they almost always are occupied 100% of the time. While I appreciate the fact that the staff working the front desk are trying to help multiple people at the same time, I do not understand why this same staff member made a rather flashy show of ushering my wife and I, along with two other couples, out of the main lobby and through parts of the hotel where we were all told that breakfast was included in our stay. THIS is where a recurring problem theme was first demonstrated… LACK OF & INCONSISTANT INFORMATION! This same staff member MUST have known that my wife and I were booked through Costco Travel on a special package…yet this was overlooked and it wasn’t until later this same day that we knew we needed to ask about the “included dinner” (and other amenities) that our package was to have included. After asking, we were reassured that these were included. This was one of SEVERAL times that we discovered that hotel staff did not take the time to explain everything fully. Other examples of this lack of information / inconsistent information was found in;
- The newly (approx. 3 years ago) refreshed rooms have confusing light switches, thermostat controls, shade controls, etc. It would have been nice to not have to discover this on our own.
- The fact that our special meal package includes THREE courses for dinner. This would have prevented at least two interactions with serving staff whom we initially thought were being REALLY pushy.
- The fact that all three serving venues are available to eat at (instead of only thinking that we “HAD” to eat ONLY at the main dining room). NOTE: I had one of the hotel concierge staff specifically inform me with the exception of a room service delivery fee, we could also order anything off the menu from Room Service. We decided to do this our final full night of our vacation…only to be informed by the delivery staff that this is NOT correct. After dinner (and half a bottle of 100 point wine later) I called the front desk, asked for the on-duty manager and we had a “spirited” conversation about this. The issue was resolved about 10 minutes later by a return call from this same manager informing me that he was reversing the charges (with the exception of the delivery fee). No heartfelt apology was offered or received.
- There was no clear explanation of how this property uses the in-room TV for communication. This is especially important because there is NO printed materials in the room (e.g., Room Service Menu, property description, offered services, etc.). Everything can be found on the TV (after navigating a dizzying number of menu options).
- Similar to the item above, not all of the three main eating locations are open the same hours every day. NOPE! There’s a variety of open and closed days and hours. Only the bar / restaurant by the pool has their hours of operation clearly posted. (Let’s not also forget that the main dining room also hosts more than one special “show” per week so reservations at almost every location is really necessary.
All of this could have been avoided if hotel staff had taken the time to explain things…or if the hotel had thought about all this in advance and had something printed that would be handed out when a new guest is being checked-in.

Allow me to share some “Room Wisdom” with you (this is only applicable to the overwater bungalows). On our first visit we stayed in a bungalow that was facing the EAST and overlooking the main lagoon. On this visit we stayed (at my advance request) in a room that faced WEST and had a direct view of Stonefish Bay and the mountains beyond. While BEAUTIFUL, I honestly feel that I made a mistake. Here’s why; 1) The music being played during the “special” dinner shows is LOUD (think Ted Nugent concert) and the sound absolutely carries over the water. 2) People renting / borrowing paddleboards and kayaks will travel directly behind your bungalow both for their outbound and return journey. 3) Tour boats / jet skis that pick-up & drop off people will travel near your back porch as well. SO…facing towards the east anyplace farther away from the hotel would be preferable.

HOTEL FOOD & DRINK: Hey, we’re not “foodies” but overall it was good. Drinks typically were watered down some and light on their “pours”.
HOTEL POOL SERVICE STAFF: Here’s another area where we were perplexed. About 75% of the time there was nobody in the little shack that hands out towels and rental gear. Nowhere to be found! Some of this same staff also serve as wait staff for the bar. I can’t tell you how many times we found these same people huddled in the bar area talking to each other and not serving customers on the beach or around the pool!

HOTEL POOL: Overall, the property pool is nice…not great…nice. It absolutely needs to be drained and resurfaced however as there are multiple “divots” in the surface and it looks like bubbles formed and have been scraped clean. To us, it just looks like there’s not a priority placed on maintenance.

HOTEL MAIN AREAS: Overall, the common areas are very well maintained and if you are up and about early you’ll see staff washing off all the furniture, raking the sand and cleaning up the beach area. This is done every day. What’s surprising is the fact that some of the railings are loose in their moorings and it’s obvious that lighting was removed from under the railings, yet the mechanical fasteners were left behind. Hmmmm….

HOTEL STAFF: Overall, everyone we met / interacted with was very friendly and happy to interact with us. Everyone from the breakfast staff to the pool bar to housekeeping.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: OK, we’ve now been to Moorea three times and we LOVE it! We’ve spoken to well over a dozen couples that have also been to Bora Bora and other nearby islands. The general consensus is that Moorea is more relaxed and certainly (somewhat) less expensive. It’s certainly remains our choice and we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Read the review about room selection!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rose RICHMOND, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Responded 6 June 2023
Ia Orana Scott, We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts here on this plateform as well. We are sincerely sorry that your experience with us was a disappointing one. Or rather, not a great and amazing one! We are sorry that we fell short on certain things. As mentioned on another response of ours to you, please excuse us for the inconsistency of service and information delivery. Scott, your comments will be passed along to our management team as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. With all of the above said, we are grateful for you to have shared your feedback and to have granted us a 4 star review. We do hope to see you again in the future so that we can earn that final star Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sigrunn Y wrote a review Oct 2020
38 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was great, we had a private pool garden suite. I wish we would of had an over water bungalow because the snorkeling was amazing. All of the staff we encountered were very nice, and for the most part they all learned our names. We ate at the breakfast buffet everyday which had an omelet station, fresh fruit (kiwi, pineapple, mango, watermelon, cantaloupe) crepes, eggs Benedict, croissants, honey, local jam, and Nutella. We were on a meal plan so dinner (appetizer, main course, and dessert) was included. Every dinner we ate there was great, my husband had the bluefin tuna sashimi every meal. There was plenty of food, we never felt hungry while we were there. I had read that you could drink the water at the resort but when we checked in we had to sign a paper saying the water is not for drinking. They had juice, bottled water, coffee and tea at breakfast and dinner they had a full drink menu. A bottle of water we shared was $6.50. I would suggest rinsing out the soda or juice cans in your room and not to bring any food unless it was in a sealed bag because tiny ants find everything. The stocked mini fridge was a bonus and they would also leave more bottles of water when they cleaned the room, if you had them clean. Our wifi went out one night, we called and a computer guy was at our villa in 3 minutes trying to figure out why. My only complaint was that we checked in early as do most people and the resort will NOT let you have any towels. This is the reason for my 4 star and not 5 star review. We got there about 9am and our room was not ready till 2pm. The water was beautiful and the pool looked great but with no towels who wants to get wet. I was not the only person that was upset by this, anyone I talked to or overheard while checking in were equally as upset. They had fully checked us in, had our credit card so I really do not see why we could not have towels. I would have been happy to come back with the fresh ones in our room to trade, but there was no use in trying the answer was NO. Would we go back? YES absolutely we will do an OWB and maybe try to come closer to our room being ready or pack at least 1 towel. We would do the meal plan again. I do suggest renting a car if you want to leave the property it's cheaper than a taxi and you can park for free. I had heard that restaurants will come pick you up for free, well that is only for dinner so if you want lunch which can run you over $70 easily at the resort rent a car!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rose RICHMOND, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Responded 21 Oct 2020
Dear S-JY896, Thank you for choosing Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa for your stay . We are pleased to read you and to know that you appreciated your stay at Hilton Moorea but we would like to apologize for the inconvenience about towels. You are welcome anytime for a better stay. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
zpiggy wrote a review Feb 2020
roaming...41 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was wonderful! We had a king panoramic overwater bungalow and I highly recommend the upgrade as it is further out on the pier and away from the nightly noise of the creparie. We were on the furthest left side facing the sunset, #101 and requested to be placed on that side via email and again when we arrived. The room was clean, comfortable and I loved that I could jump into the water from the deck or look through the glass viewing table in the room to see the fish below. Comfy beds, good air conditioning, no issues with wi-fi. Excellent snorkelling right off the deck. You have to ask for cushions for the deck furniture, if you want it. I should also mention that there are two US power sockets. One in the room and one in the bathroom. No converter was necessary.
I was worried that we may not have enough water everyday to keep us going but our mini fridge was fully stocked with a huge water + cokes and beer! We also had little waters as well and could get more on request.
Due to construction (which didn't really bother us much as we knew to expect it), we received 5000 fp francs per day which covered lots of drinks and food. They also gave us a free boat tour to a private island for snorkeling which was beautiful.
We went with Costco Travel and they seamlessly handled our transfers to and from the airport, ferry and resort. Also in the package included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast buffet was great- loved the fresh tropical fruit the most. And we enjoyed the dinners as well, especially the creparie. Chef Claude really made our evening special!
We arrived at 11am and had to wait until 2-ish until our room was ready, but we already expected that from other reviews. We left our bags in the lobby and enjoyed the pool. When our room was ready, they took our bags and they were waiting for us on our arrival. The front desk staff were always nice to us and very accommodating.

We would definitely go back for another stay. Expensive for sure, but we thought it was worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rose R, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Dear zpiggy, Ia Ora Na, We are really delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa and wish to thank you immensely for your gracious comment about your overall experience in our Resort. Once again thank you for choosing our hospitality and for taking the time to share your observations with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hilton Moorea in the near future. Best regards, Rose R.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AvgMom2Travel wrote a review Jan 2021
Long Island, New York287 contributions310 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Moorea for two nights before flying to Bora Bora in early December. This island is located 30-minute ferry ride from Papeete, the capital of Tahiti. From the ferry terminal to Hilton Moorea took another 30 minutes. We booked our vacation package through Costco Travel and were supposed to stay here for three nights, but Air Tahiti Nui cut our stay short by changing our departure date to one day earlier.

We had deluxe garden bungalow and it was perfectly situated – it was close to the beach and short walk to the restaurants and the pool. The room was divided into bathroom and bedroom, including a large sofa and a writing table. There was also spacious outdoor patio with plunge pool and outdoor dining area. The plunge pool had jets coming out from the sides. We enjoyed staying outside surrounded by tall bushes and lush mountain ranges in the background. It was simply breathtaking!

We were told that because of the pandemic, there would be no housekeeping, but we can always request for one. Since our stay was short, we did not mind. Our bungalow was meticulously cleaned before we arrived and the mini fridge was stacked with two days worth of complementary drinks.

Bathroom was spacious but had a curious feature. There was a large open window between the bathroom and the bedroom. This might be romantic for the honeymooners (that’s not us!), but I don’t think there is anything romantic about watching someone brushing their teeth. Luckily, there was shade that I can pull down.

The king-sized bed was very comfortable and we slept very well every night. Not having housekeeping service turned out great because we can leave our belongings scattered around until the day we checkout.

Our package only included breakfast, but the meals at Rotui Bar and Grill were reasonably priced and delicious. Chef Jerome was meticulous in his presentation of each dish. Everything was fresh. Breakfast was at Arii Vahine Restaurant and it was served buffet style but with special care put in place. Guests pick up individual tong at the entrance to use for all their food selections and then discard it in a bowl when they are done. If you order omelet, Chef Jerome will cook it perfectly and bring it to your table.

Pool was open and very clean. It was great to swim around – especially when there was no crowd.

Spa was closed.

We absolutely fell in love with Hilton Moorea for their great food and wonderful service! We hope to stay here longer next time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rose RICHMOND, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Responded 4 Jan 2021
Dear AvgMom2Travel, Thank you so much for choosing The Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa for your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feelings with us We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon. For this new year,may you and your family stay healthy. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pmattear wrote a review Sept 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia58 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
With many resorts still working on COVID processes this resort seems to have gotten it right while still maintaining a high level of customer service.

I am a Hilton Gold and we were given an upgrade to an over the water bungalow. Inside the room you get a complimentary mini bar filled with beer, wine and soda. This will be refilled if you call and request.

The breakfast buffet (complimentary as Gold) is open. They have provide each person individual tongs to select food so that contact is limited.

Service was spectacular from Barbara (amazing concierge/manager) to Henui (pool and beach supervisor). Each of them made sure all of our needs were met at all times. To be clear I cannot say enough about the high level of service provided at this resort!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: super easy to get from PPT by taking the fairy vice flying to Moorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rose RICHMOND, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Responded 3 Sept 2020
Dear Paul M, First of all thank you so much for choosing Hilton Moorea Resort & Spa for stay. We are happy to be able to read such a positive comment in this time of health crisis which is COVID and also that you had a wonderful stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to share your feelings We hope seeing you back very soon for an other perfect vacation. Stay safe! best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gabfam wrote a review Sept 2021
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan10 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Moorea was our first stop on our 2 week dream vacation for my wife and I to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary at the end of August 2021. Everything was flawlessly organized through Pacific for Less and Jennifer our travel agent there was a delight and so helpful to customize our package. We would work with her again in a heartbeat.

We were booked in a deluxe garden villa with a private pool and we are so glad we decided to stay in those accommodations. We were actually offered an upgrade to an over water bungalow and graciously declined (much to the surprise of the person who checked us in). I wanted to save the overwater bungalow experience for our final destination in Bora Bora. The garden villa met our needs perfectly and based on the location of many of the overwater bungalows, I think we probably would have ended up in an area where the debris would collect on the beach and cause quite a lot of bad odor.

We really thought the garden grounds were lovely to walk around through at night with all of the lit paths. One of our favorite parts of the day would be to go to the reception and chat with Barbara after dinner. She was an absolute delight and was so patient with my French. She, like so many French Polynesians, has beautiful tattoos and we were very interested in learning the story behind it since tattoos there are very personal and always reflect a life journey.

Yes the food is expensive but we thought the portions were large and we would often share an entrée. The mixed drinks are very expensive but they know how to pour a drink. The alcohol was generous and I often felt that I was getting two drinks for the price of one based on the pour!

They were definitely having issues with staffing leading up to another potential lockdown of the islands while we were there. Dinner one evening was painfully long and many guests were very upset. We had no where to go and just enjoyed the time with each other but others were not as forgiving. Understandable since everyone had made reservations and were waiting 45 minutes for a bread basket---us included, but we just chose to not let it bother us. We were in paradise after all and decided to go with the flow.

We thought the breakfast buffet was quite extensive and the food was very good. The staff there was wonderful. Nanette was especially cheerful and always greeted us with a smile and encouraged me to use my French.

The creperie in the middle of the bungalows was very good and again the portions were huge. We could have easily shared one and been totally satisfied.

We went off property to Rudy's for dinner which concierge helped coordinate and we were provided transportation with 3 other couples. That was a very nice option to have and the meal was fantastic!!

The view of the mountains around the resort was just surreal and we very much enjoyed our 3 night stay here. Our only disappointment was that the beach area really wasn't maintained well and they didn't seem to have any operations in place to collect the debris that would cause such bad odors when you were walking past those specific bungalows. I would have been very upset if I we had decided to stay in one of the overwater bungalows and not able to enjoy the outside deck because of the ongoing fish/decaying debris stench.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rose RICHMOND, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Responded 19 Oct 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a full review of our property! We are glad you were pleased with your choice of Garden Pool Bungalow. Around that time of the year the sea curent brings lots of algaes on the beach and our team works hard to keep it clean at all times. Barbara says hi and was very happy to share a bit of her life with you as well. We are happy to read you overall enjoyed your stay with us and hope you did enjoy Bora Bora too ? We look forward to welcoming you again. Sunny regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristine A wrote a review Jan 2020
Lehi, Utah3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at the Hilton for 5 days. The staff was incredible. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. They welcomed us with leis, fresh pineapple juice, and cold towels. The rooms all have minibars that are restocked daily with free beer, coke, diet coke, and water.
There's no fridge in the room, but we were able to keep some things cool in the mini bar by putting our ice bucket in there with it to turn it into a sort of cooler. Ice is also provided.
The hotel has free snorkeling equipment you can check out, as well as kayaks and paddle boards.
There is great snorkeling just out past the bungalows.
The bar has happy hour from 4-7 every day where you can get 2-for-1 cocktails.
We stayed in a garden bungalow with private pool for 3 nights and an overwater bungalow for 2 nights. The overwater bungalow was a unique experience and really enjoyed it. Although for privacy, the garden bungalow was definitely more private. Both were beautiful rooms.
The beds are comfortable and I slept well. Although there is the occasional rooster, so if you want to sleep in you might want to bring ear plugs.
I highly recommend the Hilton resort.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rose R, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Dear and Ia Orana kristinea747, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and am really happy to read, you have enjoyed your stay at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa. I am glad Hilton Moorea fullfill your expectations, and all the points you outlined is so comforting and am amazed the Staff made you live that unique experience, and am pleased to share your review with My Whole Team to show how hard work pays off, and reaching Guest Satisfaction is the MUST. My Team and I are really happy to welcoming you once again at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa in sharing new experiences in a near future trip of yours in French Polynesia. Warm regards, R.Richmond Hotel Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel163747 wrote a review July 2021
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived in July 2021. Was saddened to see there were different room categories than when I booked trip originally. I booked a panoramic overwater bungalow. When we tried picking rooms we were told the rooms we wanted are considered premium panoramic over water bungalows. When we booked that wasn’t an option.

We arrived to our room to find the previous guest old food plates outside. When we went inside. We found that the old guest drinks were still in the refrigerator. And hadn’t been restocked with fresh amenities.
The breakfast buffet food was amazing on Saturday. And everyday afterwards it wasn’t. The selection of offerings got slimmer and slimmer throughout the week. The drinks were inconsistent as far as taste. The ceviche was amazing. The Brie and mushroom burger was great. On our checkout day we ate one last time at the poolside restaurant. The staff member told us it was open seating and we can sit anywhere. We sat at the only table that was open which had seating for 6, while we were only 2 people. When the staff member came to us for orders she told us we had to move that there was a family and she would find us a table somewhere else. I felt embarrassed for me and my wife when we had to be moved lie if we did something wrong when she was the one who told us it was open seating. That day we also experienced a not so pleasant guest. The guest was in the pool, he kept blowing his knows into the pool and then would wash his hands and face with the pool water. It was disgusting to watch and unbelievable during the time of this pandemic. We were on the lounge chairs waiting for our transportation from Albert tours who were late for our pick up. We never got in the pool and we’re thankful we didn’t after seeing what happened. The dinner shows were good. The property is nice. We had issues with the wifi and was very spotty on our devices and couldn’t keep them connected to the network consistently.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rose RICHMOND, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Responded 16 July 2021
Dear Travel163747, Thank you for choosing the Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa for your stay and above all for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are well aware of the inconvenience that there may have been during your stay and we are extremely sorry. However, we continue to ensure that we improve our quality of service and we take note of your comments. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you in the near future and thus make you discover our hotel and its services in a better way. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
claudiabrownjackman wrote a review May 2020
Omaha, Nebraska2 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Last Summer, traveling alone, I stayed in bungalow 103 for the week, best of all bungalows. If you are planning an over the water bungalow I would recommend rooms 100, 101, 103 (the best in my opinion) 105, 107 or 109. They are located on the West side, GREAT, beautiful, private sun set watching and more importantly they are not part of the 'cul de sac' of bungalows. These rooms give you more privacy, no one watching you from across the waters. They also provide a nice view of the landscape combining mountains and water. Lastly, you exit straight into the ocean open, limitless waters. You're a good distance from shore so if you're into seeing black tip reef shark, eagle ray and sting rays these are the bungalows for you!
Again, super private, best views and entering into waters very far from shore to maximize snorkeling.

Moorea is the lesser known of the French Polynesian Islands and by far the best if you're looking for quiet and safe. Although the property is family friendly, mostly it's a honeymooners destination, so don't expect a night life or much shopping. Very safe and VERY friendly, helpful staff. You're in the middle of nature as such be prepared to see small harmless ants as they are all over the rooms and will find their way to bathroom and bedroom. I would suggest packing ant glue traps, solves the problem. Lots of excursions offered, take advantage of them, Miti Tours, hands down the best followed by horse back riding in the mountain! The buffet is grand and you will have many options. I often made sandwiches to take back with me for a light lunch. Grab some extra french bread and you will literally have the fish eating out of your hand, great for photos! The snorkeling is amazing, and you can be out for hours in the water, guaranteed to see sting/ eagle rays and harmless sharks.

Tips for a great trip: 1. Plan your departure from the property. Tahiti airlines does not open until late. Be prepared to wait in line for HOURS. No sense in rushing to the airport early as nothing will open until after 9 p.m. 2. Learn a little French, even just the basics. Greetings and requests done in French are very appreciative and their gratitude will be shown with little amenities. 3. Pack ant glue traps and Zip Lock bags. Zip Lock will help keep ants out of any food, help store any food you bring from buffet and keep bread dry when you're ready to feed the fish snorkeling.
One of the best vacations every taken and will definitely plan on returning!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Again, choose the West Side, Bungalows 100,101,103,105,107 or 109. Bring
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rose RICHMOND, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Dear Claudiabrownjackman, Thank you for choosing Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience and advice. We will be happy to welcome you again in our hotel. Warm regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin E wrote a review Oct 2020
Maitland, Florida149 contributions66 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for two nights in one of the beachfront bungalows. It was a nice room and you can swim off of the back deck. One issue we had was the room is directly next to a private residence. The chickens did not have accurate clocks and the fire that was burning during most of the night inundated our room with the smell of smoke, as well as our friends next to us. I don't have an issue with the neighbors doing their thing since it's their property, but it is unfortunate to pay that kind of money for such an experience. Light was an issue as well. The window in the bathroom does not have blinds and the security light on the walkway outside lit up our room. We ended up using the clothes line and hanging a robe on it to help block out some light. There is a shade that comes down to divide the bathroom from the bedroom, but it does little to stop light or sounds. The minibar has complimentary drinks in it, but the fridge even states on the outside that it's only meant to cool the drinks to 60F (15.5C) and not intended to act as a refrigerator. Why bother? With what one is paying, it's not unreasonable to expect a cold beverage to be retrieved from a proper refrigerator. So, you do have complimentary tepid beverages available. The breakfast buffet was excellent and they have good policies in place during Covid. It was comforting to actually see staff enforce mask policies. One man innocently forgot his mask walking to the buffet and a staff member kindly stopped him and asked him to mask up.

The staff were above the top kind and helpful. We had some excellent food and it was reasonably priced considering other dining on the island. They arranged for us to hire a car for the day and I would recommend doing this if you want to see the island. Again, the staff are very helpful.

I wanted to leave 3.5 stars, but you can't. Don't get me wrong; it is a nice resort and the staff were wonderful. I think you can find places equal in beauty at more affordable prices on Moorea. I would have left five stars just for the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rose RICHMOND, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Responded 21 Oct 2020
Dear S-JY896, Thank you for choosing Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa for your stay and for sharing your point of vue. Please accept our apologies for all the issues you encountered during your stay. You are welcome at any time for a better stay with us. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1jlh1973 asked a question June 2023
New Jersey50 contributions43 helpful votes
Hello does anyone know the most updated times for the breakfast buffet? Going in Sept. Thanks!
Answer from Culture14814767751
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were just there last week. Breakfast was served from 6:30am to 10am. Enjoy!
Answer from Jim B
Kyle, Texas8 contributions2 helpful votes
The buffet opens at 6:30pm. The show begins approximately 30-45 after the buffet opens. Reservations for the buffet and show are required. The theme changes for each buffet.
JM91695 asked a question Feb 2023
Belfair, Washington45 contributions6 helpful votes
What type of Nespresso machines do the rooms have?
Answer from Jim B
Kyle, Texas8 contributions2 helpful votes
Cafes Richard Ventura Capsule Machine
bgtwins4me wrote a tip 20 May
Battle Ground, Washington10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are paying for a premium panoramic view, make sure you do NOT get room #72! This is a resort for couples. I would not bring kids."
Read full review
Ken S wrote a tip 18 May
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spend the extra money and get the over water bungalow. Be sure to take part in the romantic dinner on the beach, and visit the spa."
Read full review
JanH9463 wrote a tip 5 May
Colleyville, Texas4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dine off property and skip cocktails. They basically have no alcohol in them."
Read full review
Jesse G wrote a tip 1 May
13 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make dinner reservations at the carpets,off property at Rudy’s, the beach cafe or the steak house. The food is fairly bland at the resort. "
Read full review
mfcMinneapolis wrote a tip Apr 2024
Rapid City, South Dakota327 contributions144 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go stay someplace else! The Sofitel is a far better property, and the staff cares about their guests. They honor their reservation commitmen"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Papetoai area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$1,115 - AU$1,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton moorea lagoon hotel papetoai, hilton moorea lagoon resort and spa, sheraton moorea, moorea sheraton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sheraton Moorea Lagoon Lagoon Resort and Spa
LOCATION
French PolynesiaSociety IslandsMooreaPapetoai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
106
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HILTON MOOREA LAGOON RESORT & SPA: 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Ta'ahiamanu Beach (0.9 km) and Afareaitu Waterfalls (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lilikoi Garden Café, Toatea Bar & Creperie, and Rotui Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
All Papetoai HotelsPapetoai Hotel DealsHotels near Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars