We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Salty Dog Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Salty Dog Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 159: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I only had a short one night stay here with friends over the Christmas break however we had a great time. The rooms were spacious and affordable. I think some of the rooms could do with a bit of an update especially the couches in the studio rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarabNZ
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your rating and comments. Point taken, with hotels it is one of those things you are for ever spending money in different areas. Take care and we hope to see you again some time soon. Warm

Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The owner and staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs//wishes as we had just come in from fishing with ute & boat in tow. From talking on the phone to when we left we could not fault the friendly service.The unit was roomy & pleasant. We had a great sleep & a lovely complementary breakfast to send...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baylife132
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are pleased we suited your needs and hope you will return again sometime. Warm regards Debbie

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated in the small town of Snells Beach, which is not far from Warkworth & SH1. Accommodation is in a purpose built block away from the Salty Dog Tavern. As such no noise from the pub. Separate car park too. Good clean room although the shower curtain was, for unknown reasons, missing. Giant comfortable bed. The included buffet breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alannevillenz
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I will certainly head over for an inspection of your bathroom to find out why you had no shower curtain. I am surprised you were disappointed with breakfast and again will need to ask about why this was. Breakfast come with eggs, hash browns, sausages, bacon, spaghetti, 4 different cereals, orange juice, bread white and...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was clean and spacious. Was a bit dissappointed as they advertised a breakfast but because we were there boxing day they didn't have the buffet but instead put 4 slices of bread wrapped in gladwrap, butter and jam sachets in the room with 2 small packets 1 of cornflakes and 1 of weetbix plus some fruit juice in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize you didn't get a room downstairs there was no mention of this in the notes. I do have the email that was sent to you via our booking engine little hotelier so I am unsure why you didn't get it. We also did advise all customer of the...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Planned a weekend getaway to snells beach and as snells beach motel was booked out Salty Dog was the next best thing. The room was tidy, clean and had everything we needed. However if we were to visit again would definitely request an upstairs room. We were woken in the morning to very loud running water while the upstairs guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katbilly
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do hope you will be back and get to stay in one of the upstairs rooms. Happy New Year.

Levin, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Lovely, comfortable room. We had a disappointing meal in the bar, however, breakfast was fantastic. So, all in all, our stay was very pleasant and would certainly recommend The Salty Dog to anyone wishing to stay in this area. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear of your disappointing bar meal. If you get some time could you email me so we can address this. We hope to see you again some time soon Fiona. Warm Regards Debbie

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We tried this place again as I have had fond memories of this place in years gone by . The public lounge has changed and it was rowdy and not somewhere I would choose to have a drink now. We were in a group of six in booked in for dinner and accommodation. Now the dinner we had was LOVELY!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinoeaves
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Everything was clean. There has been some updating. The included breakfast was very good. We had dinner in the restaurant. It was of a fairly high standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janw0110
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback. We hope we may see you again some time. Warm Regards Debbie

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 October 2016

The service and freindly reception was ex. the accomadation was clean and up to a high stanadard. The breakfast was OK. The staff were very helpful and we would stay there again and recommend it to our friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to your return. Warm regards Debbie

New Zealand
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We had a lovely two night stay, staff and locals were friendly. Only a short walk down to the beach, which has a walkway from end to end. Bistro meals at the pub were great and reasonably priced, breakfast was included in our deal off Grabone, basic but all that was needed. We based ourselves at Snells Beach and visited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank offthefarm5
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and take in our surroundings. Hope you will join us again one day soon. Warm regards Debbie.

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
0.2 km away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
133 reviews
6.0 km away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
65 reviews
18.2 km away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 9 in Orewa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
70 reviews
3.7 km away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 8 in Matakana
176 reviews
24.6 km away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Salty Do Inn is an English Pub in the heart of Snells Beach, on the Matakana Coast. Known for it's friendly staff and Olde English Pub theme. Our premises are located only a short walk from Snells Beach and a short drive from Algies Bay, Scott's Landing, and Martins Bay. Within our Region we provide many attractions including stunning beaches, local Markets including the Matakana Farmers Market, many Wineries, and much more. Enjoy reasonable and affordable Accommodation in the beautiful Snells Beach - only 50 minutes from Auckland CBD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Inn

Address: 242 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach 0920, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Snells Beach
Price Range: $142 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salty Dog Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Salty Dog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Salty Dog Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We satyed in room 3 in was not too noisy”
 of 5 bubbles S3813NOraym, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we ask for studio 1, so private”
 of 5 bubbles 4765625, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We could hear the people in the room above moving around, but not too bad.”
 of 5 bubbles AucklandWino, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“quiet room, and located near sandspit and vineyards”
 of 5 bubbles murrayd487, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you can't climb stairs ask for a downstairs room.”
 of 5 bubbles morecambegirl60, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay