We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tor-na-Coille

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tor-na-Coille
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 318: English reviews
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is just on the outskirts of the town. The staff were friendly, the rooms are a decent size, and there is plenty of parking at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel if you are in Banchory or the surrounding area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Cle Elum, Washington
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We recently stayed the Tor-na-Coille as part of our small group tours and we were satisfied on every level. The most important thing for us in accommodations is the attitude of the people welcome into contact with first. Our greeting could not have been any nicer or more welcoming! We were treated to first class customer service and friendly staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottishDreamTours
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We very much enjoyed having your group to stay and look forward to you coming again - Don't leave it too long.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I was impressed with the food and service. Food was fresh and tasty. Got a friendly service from the staff Had a wonderful time. Very relaxed, lovely food and absolutely great service. I will definitely recommend to everyone. We willl be back again. Thanks to everyone

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariam1256
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed the food and the service and you had a relaxed and wonderful time here at Tor-Na-Coille Hotel. We look forward to your return. Thank you

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We stayed here for one night and loved the place. The staff were all friendly and couldn't do enough to help you. We stayed in a lovely, cozy room which was spacious with a large cosy bed , giving me the best sleep I've had in months. We had dinner and breakfast too and would recommend both. Can't wait to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fusion42
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you had 'the best nights sleep in months' and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Don't leave it too long!

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

After reading one review in particular that was less than complimentary, I am very pleased to say that our stay was perfect. The staff couldn't have done anymore for us, the room was very comfortable & well appointed and the dining room served delicious dinner & breakfast. A previous reviewer mentioned the lack of a working lift, but staff offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing your review of your stay with us. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed being with us. Thank you for your understanding about the lift not working. We are aware that we need to get this attended to as soon as we are able. We hope that you will return and stay...

Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 21 September 2016

2 nights for the Balmoral Games. Very friendly helpful staff in a hotel that needs some serious renovation. No hot water first night, then fire alarm during dinner! Of course food was cold when we were allowed back into the restaurant. Thankfully did get a discount on the room rate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David E
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us for the Balmoral Games and hope you will come again next year. We do have to evacuate the Hotel when the fire alarm goes off, however I do apologise for any inconvenience Kind Regards

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Well worth the venture North as this hotel is beautiful. Peaceful and laid back with lovely, helpful staff. Food was also lovely and would definitely recommend a stay here. Lift might be a problem for some but we were on the 1st floor so wasn't that much of an issue for us- would have been with heavy cases though. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee Anne C
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The hotel is in lovely grounds and looks very impressive from the outside. The receptionist was pleasant and friendly. Our room was at the top of the hotel and as a previous review commented, the lift was out of order and we were given the distinct impression it had been for a long, long time without any prospect of repair...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Picturesofu
tornacoille48, Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The lift has unfortunately been out of order for some time as we investigated the options for repair but given the age of it the only economical solution is to replace it which is something we are now looking into. All guests are offered assistance with their luggage both on arrival...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

I only stayed one night, on my own too tired to even venture downstairs to the restaurant until breakfast. All the staff were very helpful and happy. Room service was speedy, the food great and all round a very pleasurable experience in comfortable well equipped surroundings. I would stay again in a flash and recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chappers216
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is very helpful for us and to future guests. We are glad to know that you enjoyed room service and would be delighted if you have the opportunity to come and stay with us again. Thank you

Aboyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Warm welcome given to the 5 of us and staff accommodated us wanting to change seats and tables. The afternoon was excellent; good selection and all home made. Comfortable and relaxed setting. Reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSDeeside
tornacoille48, Front Office Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with friends and you were well looked after by staff. We look forward to you coming again. Thank you

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.8 km away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 4 in Banchory
482 reviews
3.7 km away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raemoir
281 reviews
31.2 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.6 km away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#4 of 4 in Banchory
153 reviews
23.2 km away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful 4-Star Country House Hotel in the heart of Royal deeside. Offering luxury accommodation where the care and attention of our guests is paramount. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tor-na-Coille

Address: Inchmarlo Road | Royal Deeside, Banchory AB31 4AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Price Range: $132 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor-na-Coille 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tor-na-Coille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor-Na-Coille Hotel Banchory
Tor-Na-Coille Banchory, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tor-na-Coille staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel is well back from the road so any room will be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles R580CDjohnm, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor due to permanently broken lift!”
 of 5 bubbles Picturesofu, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 second floor but besoke”
 of 5 bubbles Jonahcardiff, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“First Floor rooms with a garden view”
 of 5 bubbles NickyCo, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Relax and enjoy the ambience.”
 of 5 bubbles williamwO3530BN, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay