We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Windmill

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Windmill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Windmill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Very pleasantly surprised about this Hotel looks very deceiving from the outside but on entering the hotel we were extremely well greeted from Michael on reception and what made our stay even more special is that he had upgraded us to the Honeymoon suite at no extra cost and what a room it was very large and spacious had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonycourt51
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again shortly. thank you

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a night on route to Scotland, very pleased and satisfied with the standard and price. Nice comfortable and quiet a great meal next door in the restaurant, parking was would use again, good and friendly welcome on arrival and would certainly recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn F
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a lovely time and hope to see you again soon thank you

Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed over with my Dad as we went to the England match in nearby Sunderland. Great location for travelling around the North East. Great hotel, nice rooms, nice atmosphere with friendly staff. Will be staying again for sure to try the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon. thank you

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Went for a family birthday meal, first visit but had heard good things, we weren't disappointed - staff were very attentive without being pushy. Order was taken promptly and arrived in a timely manner, started with free garlic bread for the table which was a lovely surprise. All nine of us had starters and Mains everything was delicious. The stand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alycat67
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again shortly thank you

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016

only came for food as we know the Sambuca brand is always very good value and we weren't disappointed we all had potatoe wedges for a starter, a pasta main and ice cream for desert and we all had a coke to drink. £28.80 final bill was good value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dazho
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon thank you

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 3 January 2016

I stayed with my wife and kids in Windmill for 4 nights on Christmas time. We booked 2 double rooms including breakfast. We didn't know what to expect coming here all the way from Spain. When we arrived we were very surprised. The gentleman in reception was so friendly and nice help us with everything we asked for. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrivera511
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015

I booked a 3 night stay at the Windmill Hotel in Hartlepool, through Booking.com on 04/12/2015. The first night of my stay I hardly got any sleep because my room faced the A19, and was about 75m from the busy road, with constant noisy traffic on both North and South carriageways. the window in the room was single glazing and...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank keithy306
Hungryman2222, Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

We sorry that you felt that way but unfortunately I have to say that all you wrote here is not true at all. At first you stayed first night in room 6 (where windows are closing proper and there is no problem at all) It is true that the room is on highway side but this room is very quiet....

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2015

We needed a midway point for a special surprise reunion, location ideal but wary of previous reviews. Glad we ignored them, food was very good for a 3 course special under £5. Staff so friendly and because it was quiet they got involved with the childrens' colouring in etc One of our party chose from main menu and said very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2015

I visited hotel recently. Amazing changes. Very nice and clean rooms. Honeymoon room just brilliant .I was here last year in October . It was ok but now is fantastic. Very friendly staff in reception and restaurant. I have to say food was awesome. Lovely Sambuca restaurant . Had very good time. Definitely coming back again Christmas time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2015

I stayed 3 nights with my wife . We had wonderful time again. Hotel room very clean and quiet. Friendly reception staff. The meal was just delicious. We ordered steak ,it was die for. All staff in restaurant so kind and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John G
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit again shortly. Thank you

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartlepool
5.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
451 reviews
7.2 km away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
41 reviews
8.5 km away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,002 reviews
6.7 km away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
7.3 km away
Trinity Guest House
Trinity Guest House
#1 of 1 in Seaton Carew
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about The Windmill

Address: Dalton Piercy, Hartlepool TS27 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Price Range: $53 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windmill 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Windmill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windmill Hartlepool, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Windmill staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Windmill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room facing the car park is quite......this Hotel is just off the A19.”
35kathleenb, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quite close to the A19 - try and request a room not directly on the A19 side.”
alansK2971ZS, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great food is all we came for”
Dazho, 30 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms large size and clean”
mrivera511, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Get a Room away from the very busy A19.”
keithy306, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5