We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Lion Hotel

1,026 reviews
Save
Traveller (239)
Room & Suite (128)
Dining (78)
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good34%
  • Average23%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“one way system”(24 reviews)
“robert burns”(14 reviews)
“central location”(35 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,026)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Golden Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
236
284
204
108
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
236
284
204
108
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone way systemrobert burnscentral locationshopping centrebuffet breakfastmiddle of townhigh teabars and restaurantsfunction roomsteak piestayed for one nightfull scottish breakfastlovely roomwallace monumentharoldballroomthistle
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
251 - 255 of 926 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Was here for an event which I thought included dinner, but didn't! As I was hungry, I ended up downstairs in the restaurant trying to see if I could grab something quickly and return to the event. I encountered an extremely helpful waitress who asked...More

Thank Cartophile
Response from Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion HotelResponded 14 June 2016

Thankyou for your kind comments. This will be passed on to all

Reviewed 9 June 2016

I stayed in this hotel recently for 5 days. The rooms were ok but the food was awful both breakfast and evening meal. we were nearly sitting on top of each other. The staff seemed to be students who were untrained in waiting at table...More

Thank wendy g
Response from Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion HotelResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you for commenting. We do have a residents bar which is available nightly upon request to residents if it's closed at the time you require a drink. Credit cards are required if you havnt preauthosired room charges hence the request Thankyou

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

After being recommended by several friends we decided to try Cronies bar & Restaurant. Really good choice of food on the menu, they do a mid week lunch special menu which is reasonable. It was fairly busy on Saturday night when we went but that...More

Thank Jane M
Response from Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion HotelResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you for this. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and will pass this on to the team

Reviewed 6 June 2016

We booked a one nigh DBB stay at Golen Lion, staying on the Saturday night. Before travelling I had asked for a double bed and got an answer back right away confirming this. As with others we did have a bit of a problem finding...More

1  Thank SteveN4694
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

So delighted to see this fine old lady refurbished. Had an excellent lunch and will be back. The bar has also been refurbished to a high standard and definitely worth a visit. I have not stayed overnight here as I live in Stirling. Really sad...More

Thank Maxine F
View more reviews
PreviousNext
14950515253186
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 87 - USD 172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 87 - USD 172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (239)
Room & Suite (128)
Dining (78)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Trisha M
19 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from cbs194 | Reviewed this property |
We have since been back for a stay and couldn't complain of the other room we were given.New review will be posted!
0
Votes
BigFrank_10
25 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from delingard | Reviewed this property |
As said above, there is a lift from the carpark up to reception and the other floors. When I was there I saw a gentleman in a wheel chair using this lift and sharing the lift with companions, so though small the lift is... More
0
Votes
tequilas2013
10 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from GoldenLionStirling | Property representative |
Breakfast is a Buffet style, albeit we offer full tables service if required upon request, Tea/Coffee & Toast is always served to your table Regards
1
Vote
PreviousNext
1234
Room Tips
"Room 103 was very comfortable"
Read review
"Ask for a room bigger than an average bathroom in other hotels."
Read review
"do not book a room, find another hotel."
Read review
"We did not stay in the rooms but the rooms we were in were of very good standard."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing