We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,449: English reviews
Start your review of Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
 Click to rate
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the prince of wales hotel Southport, The room had exposed pipe work half painted , The wall paper was coming of the wall and dirty , When I sock to the staff I was told to put it in righting which I did , They e mail to tell I should have complained at the time which I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimedmund
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We value all feedback and are sorry to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel is currently undergoing refurbishments throughout to update the rooms while keeping its Victorian charm. We have a dedicated maintenance team that work 7 days...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

this hotel is old fashioned good central location one of its better points large bedrooms very clean but wallpaper bit tatty didnt eat there so cant comment had a drink in the bar few times staff not very pleasent reception staff very helpfull overall ok for a few days in good location

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christygee
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We value all feedback from our guests. We are currently undergoing decorations and refurbishments throughout the hotel to bring our rooms up to date. Thank you for raising the issue about bar staff. We send our staff on a number of training courses to get the best...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

looking at the outside of this hotel it looks a bit old and rundown but a bit surprise inside which needs a bit of refurbishing, our room was on the -1 floor, that means a floor under the main hotel, still surprised at the room we were allocated, it looks like a big room had been split in two with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jazzbaby3
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on Trip Advisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Second time here,the first time was a really good deal,but this time we paid over £90 for b and b, The room was spacious and clean although it could have done with a lick of paint here and there, but the breakfast was poor , poor quality ingredients the main issue, but also the toast already made in bulk ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrierz
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay. We do currently have redecorations happening within the hotel and our dedicated maintenance team are here to help with any problems that arise while our guests are with us. We offer buffet...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Food is excellent. All the staff are great. Good entertainment. We had a problem with the heating system in room 20, but the staff placed an electric heater in the room then from there on every thing was great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm357
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We value all feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the hotel. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here...

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wanted to surprise my partner with a 2 day break(Thursday & Friday). The information on the web site was appealing and at £105,room only,seemed to be a bargain. However,they charged £144,i had to pay £8 for parking & there was no WiFi in the 'box room' they gave us,the window was screened because we were at the back where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay. We will look into your comments and work on any issues raised for any guests in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only way I can describe this hotel ,is that it reminds me of the hotel in the film the shining.The first room we were given had the tiniest window,too high to really see out of.I asked for a different room,this room was dark and dismal,but better than the other so stuck with it.Bed terribly hard could not sleep,bathroom bright...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy B
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your whole stay with us.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went into the hotel for a drink as in another hotel . Got served a drink quickly only thing while sitting in lounge barmaid moved away from bar and was talking on her mobile phone. She only came back when there was a customers. But soon as she served them again back on her mobile. The hotel very dated .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhonda D
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel over a year ago we enjoyed it so much we were glad wen we came on a mystery hotel , we thought it's had gone down hill the bar charged different prices every time you went to the bar we were in 14 in basement at 1 o.clock this morning I had to go upstairs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jennifer1950
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of the Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were disappointed to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This has to be one of the most dog friendly hotels we have stayed in, only the restaurant restricted but we were able to eat in the bar with her by our side. Millie was spoiled by staff and guests and even joined us in the evening as there was entertainment each night in the ballroom. The hotel itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celia K
GMPrinceofWales, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the...

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.7 km away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
2,744 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.8 km away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
459 reviews
1.3 km away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Price Range: $63 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Southport Prince Of Wales
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Dudley, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If mobility is not good, room 31 is wonderful. Walk in shower and quite warm. Also a very big room.”
Malcolm357, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Always ask to see the room before you pay!!!”
269philiph, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Excecutive room is a must,but still old fashioned and dreary.”
, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Top floor is quieter”
jennifer1950, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Nice rooms with Jacuzzi are offered on the lower ground floor but lack good light as they are below ground level.”
289celiak, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5