We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,462: English reviews
Start your review of Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was OK, but nothing special. This is a Victorian building that was doubtless very grand in its day, but has lost much of its lustre. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was basic but plentiful. It was also self-service for all meals, a sad reflection of present-day hotels. My room was OK: spacious and with a very large bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie A
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful and your positive comments will be passed on to them. Your comments will be a warm welcome for the hard work that they put it on a daily basis. We are currently redecorating the hotel...

uk
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived in Southport on Friday 19th May 2017 to find it difficult to get parked in the limited spaces available. the Hotel is very dated and in need of some serious refurbishment. Our room was clean and tidy and pet friendly. The bed was not comfortable and after our weekend I had a very stiff back. The décor was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UkEnforcer
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We value all feedback and are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us. Unfortunately, we do have a limited number of parking spaces on the hotel grounds but there are other places to park close by to the hotel. We apologise for any...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

People sleeping on the floor in the corridor all night outside our room drunk and drinking. Notified staff but was not interested and seemed afraid to do anything about it. Was not helpful when reported it so we had no sleep all night and was exhausted next day. Some weekend away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABAB A
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We value all feedback and were disappointed to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us. Let me assure you that we do deal with any problem guests that arrive in the hotel and our Duty Managers are always on hand to...

NOTTINGHAM
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is sited on Lord Street, which is a wide tree lined road boasting a great variety of shops. Shoppers are well protected from rain by overhanging Victorian glass panels. This street alone will be well worth your visit. Although the hotel is old it does have lower ground floor rooms, which are relatively new and modern. I am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FIRSTREVIEW2010
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We value all feedback and are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us hear in the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

According to booking.com our room was £150 a night, we got it through their site for £44. On arrival we were given a very small room on the 4th floor that was dark and had a small window thats outlook was the roof (grey tiles) that were just 12 inches away. I complained and was given an equally dismal room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We value all feedback and are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that your rooms were not to your satisfaction. Our rooms all vary in different shapes and sizes and we do try and accommodate all...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No 1 my wife is in a wheelchair so when we booked we stated that fact, but when we when we got to are room their was a flight of stairs, we were then move to a downstairs room which was so dirty. The first night was awful, because are room was next to the dining room, so when the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ilovecity16
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you can appreciate, our hotel runs 24 hours a day 7 days a week so we do have Night staff that work from 11pm through to 7am to help do any jobs...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked one night on late rooms to take advantage of the Bank Holiday. Hotel looks a bit tired on the outside but nothing a lick of paint won't help plus replace the missing letters in the signage! Reception staff brilliant. Ground floor double room compact but comfy. En suite had been refitted recently. Comfy bed and ideal location to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nixi64
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the...

Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It is such a shame that the inside has been left to get in such a state. If Britannia spent some real money on it, it could be stunning. I imagine in its heyday it was breathtaking but sadly now it's a bit like going to your great great aunts house who is too tight to do spend her money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PINKYPETAL
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience to Trip Advisor. We value all feedback and were disappointed to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently undergoing redecorations within the hotel to bring it back up to date whilst still keeping its Victorian features. We have a dedicated maintenance...

Manchester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My Husband and I went to Southport for the day and took a suitcase in case we decided to stay over. Found this hotel online and went in to enquired about rooms. Got one for £45 room only. It did the job, yes, it is a dated hotel but we knew this after reading the review. We had a ground...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaxManchester
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We value all feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to hear that the hotel met your needs and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We could not have had a more enjoyable night, the staff were brilliant ,the food was great and the room looked fantastic,we were helped from start to finish with the planning etc no one could have been more helpful,we all had a wonderful night and my husband who was celebrating his 80th birthday was delighted and really enjoyed himself

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frederik193
GMPOWBRICK, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences to Trip Advisor. We are very please to hear that you enjoyed your night with us. Your positive comments are a welcome reward to all the hard work our staff put in to ensure that your time with us is as good as it can be. Again, we would like...

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.7 km away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,786 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.8 km away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
490 reviews
1.3 km away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Price Range: $61 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Dudley, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would not recommend this hotel unless you want sleep deprevation”
UkEnforcer, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a modern lower ground floor room or one of the traditional rooms, serviced by grand staircases and unbelievably wide corridors.”
FIRSTREVIEW2010, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Check your room does not have a door to an adjoining room”
stevegD1599GT, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Dont stay, they are dirty and uncared”
ilovecity16, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Might be noisy if you're near one of the function rooms.”
Nixi64, 9 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Cancelon
Elvoline
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates