We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Show Prices
#15 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Tenby Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 560: English reviews
Barton-under-Needwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took a weeks break here in September. We were greeted by very friendly hotel staff who all proved to be as helpful as possible through out our stay, The hotel itself does show its age in more ways then one. It is set on top of a cliff which enables spectacular views of the sea and beach bellow, both...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig J
bodmin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been updated but still neads a bit more doing, bedrooms good, clean and very friendly staff. Meals very nice, breakfast self service so could be warmer evening meals excellent, we went with Shearings so had evening meal encluded, however you could order from full menu at little extra costs. Well worth a stay,views incredible.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jean h
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Imperial. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel and Services that we provide, Our Hotel does strive to offer good value for money and it is pleasing that you felt we delivered this to you. I shall certainly make sure that all the team are...

Bromyard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

I've always loved Tenby and have been visiting it all my life. I've often walked past the wonderfully situated Imperial Hotel and wished I could stay there and assumed I'd never afford it. How wrong I was! I've just spent 4 nights, half board, in the hotel and paid way less than I would have anticipated. There are issues and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TonyBurt
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel and Services that we provide, I shall certainly make sure that all the team are aware of your kind comments. We are glad that you took advantage of our location and that you had...

Bristol
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Visited as a group same weekend last year, enjoyed it, so re-booked. Not expecting five star treatment for the money we paid, but there were too many niggly annoyances. We were in a top floor bedroom. There was a shower over the bath, but no fitting for the shower head ( apparently as there was not enough water force for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gilliano386
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Imperial Hotel. I have passed your comments onto all the relevant departments. We are always looking to improve the service that we offer and when these things are brought to our attention we try to deal with them as quickly and efficiently as possible. I am sorry to...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The outside of the main hotel entrance is quite impressive built against the old walls of the town but this hotel needs a good overhaul. I know its the end of the season but standards should be kept. It is no fault of the staff who are friendly and efficient more the fault of the owners. I now know what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vince C
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Your comments help us to review our standards with the team. Our Hotel does have 5 different buildings join together and room in all areas. We allocate rooms depending on information given and try our best to allocate the best possible way. I will pass on your comments to the...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed here for 5 days at the beginning of sept. Simon the manager was so so helpful as was kerry the receptionist. Good food great service and a wonderful location. Many thanks . So much to see and do around Tenby we left the car in the car park .... Recommend booking car park in advance. Mrs williams

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian W
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to writing a great review of your stay at the Imperial. I am delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our hotel.I shall pass on all your kind comments to the staff and Kerry as they always trying their very best to make you feel like home. I look forward...

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Following the good reviews on Trip Advisor we booked for the Ironman in Wales a stay for four nights. The staff was very friendly and flexible. The room we had (Nr. 11) was, however, far bellow standard. It wasn't clean at all, the carpet was smelly. The shower and toilet were in very poor condition (in fact the toilet was...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Mark-Anthony S
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review at your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I am really sorry that you felt the accommodation and the food was not up to standard. I will look into the room in question and I will speak to kitchen team regarding your comments about the food. As you can see from previous reviews we do...

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We had a mid week break with Shearings to Tenby. The hotel was very but could do with a little TLC, we had two rooms on the ground floor and they were both very big rooms. We did have some damp patches on the walls although we was overlooking the sea and there is not much that the hotel can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly T
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review at your stay at the Imperial hotel. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Hotel does strive to offer good value for money and it is pleasing that you felt we delivered this to you. I will pass on your comments to the team specially to...

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We booked here for August bank holiday for a couples getaway, but due to last minute change we had to collect our 2 very small grandchildren halfway thru our 3 day break and bring them to the hotel. The hotel could not have been more accommodating. They provided cots for both babies - and the hotel staff regularly checked if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JulieEleanor
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Imperial Hotel in Tenby. I am delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our hotel. I shall pass on all your kind comments to the staff as they always trying their very best to help our customers, making sure they feel like home....

Northop Hall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We have just returned from a week in Tenby staying at the Imperial hotel. The hotel is in a fabulous position overlooking the sea with views of Caldy Island. We had a very large sea view room which had been refurbished some time ago. The hotel itself requires some TLC but the staff were all very friendly and helpful, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris D
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Imperial. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel and Services that we provide, I shall certainly make sure that all the team are aware of your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoy your holiday and I am looking forward to welcome you back...

219 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#9 of 24 in Tenby
462 reviews
0.2 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tenby
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.1 km away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 24 in Tenby
234 reviews
0.2 km away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tenby
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Price Range: $148 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Tenby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Imperial Tenby Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
wales
Tamworth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Imperial Tenby Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Seaview rooms are available with stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles AGW1954, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 5 is on the ground floor with twin beds and a sea view. very good.”
 of 5 bubbles dumpyDerby, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Car parking is limited you may need to use the multi story car park which is a distance away.”
 of 5 bubbles MRD62, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles vivianl238, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do get a sea view room- amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles lizgardener, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay