We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Giltar Hotel

Show Prices
#5 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Giltar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 610: English reviews
wales
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Stayed for 2 nights November 2015,amazing Hotel right on the sea front.Free car parking at rear of Hotel,staff very helpful and friendly,lovely views from room of beach and sea. Room of high standard,great food and service and only a few minutes walk into main town centre. Would recommend to any one singles,couples,families,great location and facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scott037
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Look forward to having you back at the hotel in the near future!

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Wife and myself stayed for one night at end of Nov. It was blowing a gale outside but was lovely and warm throughout the hotel including our room. Booked a sea view which didn't disappoint Ate out as had already booked a restaurant. Returned for a nightcap followed by a good nights sleep and a great breakfast. Would stay again,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your stay. We're pleased to hear that the Pembrokeshire weather didn't dampen your visit and glad that you experienced the warmth of our Cwtch bar/lounge too! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015

My wife and I chose the hotel as as a base for 4 days to walk some sections of the coast path. It proved a good choice. It was agreeably comfortable when we got back and we had a seaview from the room so we never lost contact with the coast at all - and it was a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GiuseppeGiuseppe67
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very lucky to be placed so conveniently for the coast and walks, so much so we've got a walking weekend planned for February. Fingers crossed we'll have better weather than you experienced in November. We do hope that you'll pay us another visit in 2016 and perhaps give...

Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015

My husband and I treated ourselves to a gala evening at the Giltar and weren't disappointed. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a huge bath in the corner of the room (+ an ensuite shower room) and a magnificent view of Caldey Island. The staff are so friendly and our dinner was very good and the entertainment was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pembrokeshirevoice
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review in relation to one of our themed nights. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed, especially as you stayed in our newest refurbished room, St. Margaret's. See you in January for our next themed night!

Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2015

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the giltar 30 years ago we had a great time then and wanted to go back!! The hotel has had a lot of refurbishment and is fantastic !! We were given a fantastic room overlooking the beach, it was tastefully decorated and very comfortable, the dining room, food, and service was brilliant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your special celebration with us. We look forward to seeing you in years to come.

Reviewed 27 November 2015

Perfectly placed for the town and both beaches, nice sized rooms and helpful staff. We only ate in the hotel one night but the food was excellent. There is a lift which helps if you eat too much. Nice lounge area and bar with attentive staff. There is parking but it is a small car park that staff park in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kergrist Moelou, France
Reviewed 27 November 2015

We stayed 2 nights in a superior room ( amazing!) for our son's wedding, everything went really well, Malcolm's organisation and attention to detail was awesome. The food was well presented and delicious, the dining room for the wedding breakfast, the venue for the ceremony was lovely and had a beautiful view of north beach. The penultimate mention is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GTaylor1952
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review from your recent visit to the hotel . Our team really pride themselves on getting things perfect for our guests, especially on such an important day. We hope to see you all back at the hotel in 2016 and for many years to come!

Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

Well what can I say!! What a amazing stay could've fault this hotel! 9 girls stayed here in 4 rooms with sea views, all the rooms were lovely all decorated to a very high standard.We all slept well, the following mornings breakfast was brilliant, not only we were offered a full breakfast we could have had eggs benadict which I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul d
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review for your group. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the chance to sample our Eggs Benedict at breakfast! Thanks for your recommendation. Look forward to seeing you in 2016!

Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay the staff were lovely & food delicious. They are renovating the hotel ,all main areas beautifully decorated & our room stunning with sea views to die for . The only issue is parking but there is a car park nearby which is reasonably priced so didn't cause a problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June D
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay and that the limited parking (14 spaces) didn't dampen your experience. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future!

Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Just had xmas party here, the food is amazing and very well presented they must have really good chefs who want to do a good job and it shows everything really well presented you can see they really make an effort huge selection of beautiful vegetables including creamed leeks and red cabbage yum yum!!! :) smoked salmon beatiful, turkey so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welshgirl314
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. I will make sure that our chefs see this as they have worked so hard over the Christmas period to get things perfect for our guests. Pleased to see that you love it here. We look forward to seeing you next Christmas, if not sooner!

399 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (88)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Double Sea View Premier Room (53)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Twin Sea View Standard Room (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tenby
402 reviews
1.2 km away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
485 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
655 reviews
0.1 km away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 24 in Tenby
241 reviews
0.7 km away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#12 of 24 in Tenby
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Price Range: $104 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Giltar Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Oswestry
1 month ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Giltar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 108, on the first floor, perfect view”
 of 5 bubbles DebnMartMidGlamorgan, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go for a side sea view if it is windy”
 of 5 bubbles FDebbie, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for a sea facing room and check on its size.”
 of 5 bubbles senyol2, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If possible, choose the large bay window rooms on the front. The views are breathtaking!”
 of 5 bubbles 610rachaelc, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great food.”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethdX3792ZP, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5