We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Save
Share
Trimstone, Ilfracombe EX34 8NR England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
USD 138
View deal
Expedia.com
USD 138
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/05/21
Agoda.com
USD 121
View deal
PricelineUSD 138
Hotels.comUSD 138
Trip.comUSD 231
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (98)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (12)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 03/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Updated 03/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 16 hotels in Ilfracombe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Trimstone Manor is a traditional country house offering 4 star guest accommodation 2.5 miles from glorious Woolacombe. Set in 48 acres of beautiful North Devon countryside & landscaped gardens, it is perfect for a peaceful & relaxing break. Easy access to the A361 makes Trimstone perfect for those who want to explore North Devon. Sandy beaches and the rolling surf of Croyde, Woolacombe and Saunton are just a short drive, ideal for beach lovers and surfers alike. We have famous Lynton & Lynmouth, Exmoor, the South West coastal footpath and Arlington Court (NT). Whatever the weather there's always something to do. Guests can use the games room, tennis court, seasonal indoor heated swimming pool, gym & sauna, walk or simply relax in a quiet spot with a drink. Why not book Breakfast or an Evening Meal at our Tyme Restaurant (Friday or Saturday nights) to make your stay even more special? We can cater for children and special dietary requirements too but booking is essential to avoid disappointment.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Tennis court
Highchairs available
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Billiards
Darts
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
237Reviews2Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 110
  • 56
  • 31
  • 17
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Raychel999 wrote a review Nov 2020
We had a fantastic break staying in Manor Cottage. Our children especially enjoyed the pool and the games room. Fantastic grounds. Really friendly staff. It is situated with easy access to Ilfracombe. We especially loved Croyde Bay. The cottage was as described and served its purpose well.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
JK772020 wrote a review Nov 2020
lovely friendly people run this place which has lots of amenities for a great family holiday. We enjoyed the pool and the games room. The surrounding area has lots to offer including coastal walks, lovely beaches; with caves, art, bodyboarding / surfing. Our favourites were Woolacoombe, Ilfracoombe, Croyde bay, and baggy point. Thank you for a great holiday.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
lucygraham555 wrote a review Oct 2020
Warminster, United Kingdom
What a lovely place to stay. The whole family and their team of staff were very accomodating and made us feel extremely welcome. It had a relaxed atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble for them. The grounds were lovely and although the tennis courts aren't professional standard (why would they be) they were all you needed for a short stay holiday and we enjoyed daily family matches. The pool was warm, the sauna was great after a session in the gym. A lovely holiday and we would definitely go back. A hotel but with a caring, family, welcoming touch!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
gaynorweaver wrote a review Oct 2020
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
This is the worst holiday accommodation we have had in the last thirty years. Mill Cottage is advertised to be suitable for six people which is not the case. One bedroom is unusable due to a boiler outlet. One of the single mattresses was unusable. The sofas are well past their useful life. There were dirty cooking equipment. What was supposed to be a family holiday for six was impossible. Feedback was given to the owner and got no response!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
9 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Milton, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Responded 24 Oct 2020
Unimpressed with "Gaynorweaver". She complained on arrival about some trivial issues and out of courtesy I also wrote a note to her the next day (after staff addressed the issues she noted there and then) next day. She failed to acknowledge the reply nor the entirely goodwill gesture made to her of a complimentary cream tea for the whole family, which she did not use. She had complained about two things - the numbers of beds made-up (but she had failed to communicate correctly the numbers who were going to be staying) and we are adhering to Covd19 precautions of limiting soft furnishings, etc. All she had to do was ask anyway and she could have as many as she wanted. She also said that certain items of crockery were not in adequate numbers - that was all - no more, no less. She indeed then wrote 'feedback' and I replied to that - we can't always drop everything immediately to deal with such after event correspondence - she wrote this two-and-half-weeks after leaving and I replied in full days later. This is what was said:- "Naturally I was very sorry to receive the note and to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I did contact you following the initial issue you raised and to which I responded below but never had any acknowledgement from you, so had assumed all was well. We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your time in Mill Cottage. I appreciate that there is nothing or little I can do to change your dissatisfaction but I am angry about one aspect and that is, quite simply, that you did not raise these issues with us as soon as you arrived. In fact we could have reallocated you to our larger Cottage ‘Granary’ and should not have charged you anything more, as a goodwill gesture and regardless of the issues, as it happened to be free that week. I say I am angry as we were here to help you ensure that your stay was as enjoyable as it could be and to think that you were festering for the whole week over issues we could have resolved had we had the opportunity really disappoints me. We live on site and are always around too – or someone is. I am very sorry indeed if matters regarding cleanliness etc were not as they should have been. I appreciate that the staff have been under tremendous pressure this summer but there is no excuse and I apologise unreservedly for any deficiencies which you found. In regard to your comments however on matters like ‘size’, I appreciate that we shall never meet everyone’s expectations all the time and as much as we try - and also hope that guests check the website and other material before booking to make sure what they have meets what they need and expect. We shall occasionally not succeed. Mill Cottage has been configured for six for as long as we have had the Premises so about thirteen years and we used to have a VisitBritain star rating and one of the criteria is meeting the occupancy levels with the appropriate space. I appreciate it is subjective to some extent but I cannot recall having particular problems previously and you can tell that structurally the rooms are as they have always been. It is, after all, a holiday cottage and not ‘home-from-home’ but sometimes we have two people rattling-around in our cottage for eight or the opposite which is four large individuals in our Apartment with one double bedroom and a put-me-up. The craze at present seems to be to go for a compact ‘shepherd’s hut’ for very expensive upper class ‘camping’ effectively but I think that would be too claustrophobic for me. Of course we cannot also regulate how the six is configured but more often than not, I suppose, two or four adults with children. I should add too that the Cottage has always been at the three star level and that used to be impacted by the available space etc as well – we have never aimed at being higher but instead a ‘comfortable homeliness’ and certainly not deluxe, nor the price to match. The two sofas are not very old at all and were some thousands of pounds new, though I have to admit I had not realised until last week that the arm of one had enjoyed much usage this season and was going somewhat threadbare and needing attention. I was sorry to hear about the boiler noise issue. Of course, the heating was unlikely to have been on I assume at the time of the year (I cannot recall) but even then, the hot water and the heating are both on timers which do not function overnight. It is again not a problem which has ever been noted to us before. The boiler is outside the Property in fact so we were surprised the noise was so great regardless and shall have to investigate that and consider better insulation – not a major issue to address if we had been made aware. On the single bed mattress, again, had you noted the issue, we would have changed that immediately for you. We have been unaware and unless someone tells us (even if it is simply a personal choice issue), we should be oblivious to any issue from one week to the next. I am sorry too that your other family members did not join you as they would have been welcome. Indeed, even as we have done for others, if there was a sleeping issue even in a bed or room in a cottage, we should have done our utmost to assist and that is likely to have included a complimentary hotel room for the night for example, if given the chance to rectify any dissatisfaction if you had not moved cottage. So I repeat again that I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I am doubly sorry that you did not mention these things with us when you arrived. We may have been unable to do somethings but that week we could have done so for you all quite easily. As a goodwill gesture only, if you did decide to return to Trimstone and perhaps booked our larger Granary Cottage, then I should be very happy to offer a concessionary discount of 10% against a booking at any time over the next year. I hope that goes some way towards meeting your dissatisfaction even if I am doing so as an entirely goodwill gesture as noted.
Read more
Snomads1 wrote a review Oct 2020
Chelsea, Australia
We had a great time, good facilities and very accommodating staff. Great location away from everything but not far to the beaches and shops. Would definitely recommend and hope to go back in the future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 92 - USD 155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
trimstone manor country hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonIlfracombe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Borough Farm Sheepdog and Falconry Displays (2.3 km), Walk - Morte Point Trail (4.4 km), and Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room (5.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Biffen's Kitchen, Antidote, and Nelly May's Parlour.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room (5.4 km) and Chambercombe Manor (4.6 km).
Is Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.