We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“top floor”(10 reviews)
“group stay”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
Self-Serve Laundry
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
56
23
14
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
56
23
14
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorself catering kitchengroup staybed dormdrying roomcomfy sofassecure storagekitchen areagreat place to staypubs and restaurantsrooms are cleanlocation is excellentfamily roomwalking distancedevon coast to coastcouple of nightsstayed one night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I did not expect anything more than basic accommodation from a backpackers hostel and have stayed in plenty of basic but clean and comfortable places in my time that I would happily return to - Ocean Backpackers is not one of them. This converted town...More

2  Thank TashaONeill
Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 24 April 2016

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry if you did not enjoy your stay at Ocean Backpackers. Stripping beds after your stay and bringing your own towels is quite the "norm" for the majority of Hostels and I am sorry that our furniture...More

Reviewed 30 March 2016

Spent a Night at Ocean Backpackers recently ,I were impressed on my first visit...Very easy access late evening ,by means of door punch codes etc.....On arrival I received a friendly welcome ,and very good advice about places to decent Fish & Chips Pubs etc ....More

Thank Peter m
Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 3 April 2016

Hi Peter, Thank you very much for your great review. Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Lundy Island!!

Reviewed 29 February 2016

It was a very stay in Illfracombe and at Ocean Backpackers we booked the double room which was on the top floor bit of a walk when you've had a skin full. It had everything a hostel does to Avondale your needs and to rustle...More

Thank Alia K
Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 9 March 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We were really sorry to read that you did not have a great stay at Ocean Backpackers due to the disappointing customer service skills of our staff member. As the owners, we will make it a top priority...More

Reviewed 19 February 2016

Location was good. However... The guy running it was not overly friendly and very unhelpful. Our room didn't actually lock and first of all he acted like we were stupid and couldn't work the lock, until I made him have a look. Then he was...More

Thank gem2323
Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 23 February 2016

Thanks for your review and we are very sorry to see you were unhappy with your stay. My manager did inform me about the lock and I left work early the next morning to come and fix it so by 11.30am it was done. Very...More

Reviewed 21 January 2016

Having grown up visiting Ilfracombe, I was well aware of Ocean Backpackers as it has such a great location by the harbour. However, since I used to stay with family, I had never visited before. This all changed after a stressful time at work left...More

1  Thank Rebecca T
Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 22 January 2016

Thank you so much Rebecca for such a great review! We are so pleased that you had a great time at Ocean Backpackers and that we were just the "tonic" you were looking for! Chris and I have both done a lot of backpacking in...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
USD 49 - USD 112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Family Rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 49 - USD 112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Family Rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ocean Backpackers staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Dorms are excellent value for money and during the winter I even had a dorm to myself"
Read review
"Top floor is quietest"
Read review
"Upgrade to a private room"
Read review
"Top floor is quiet and has its own kitchen"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing