We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlton Hotel

Save
Traveller (118)
Room & Suite (48)
Storyboard
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good29%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Carlton Hotel
Offers & Announcements: Dinner inclusive deal
Offers from Carlton Hotel
Offers & Announcements: Dinner inclusive deal
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
294
154
40
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
294
154
40
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe newly refurbished roomsnew ownersclay shootingwould highly recommend this hotelowners and stafftunnels beacheslovely hotelbreakfast was excellentattending a weddingfirst floorfull english breakfastreception areacoach partycomfortable bedenjoyable staytown centresuperior room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 523 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We recently stayed here on a clay shooting trip to North Devon. 2 rooms were booked, one had been refurbished, the other had not, so mixed report, refurbished room was good but small, the other room needed refurbished ASAP, but that was reflected in the...More

Thank Sonrichard
Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not having been to Ilfracombe before, took a chance booking this hotel. We were not disappointed. The location is great. The service is great. The owner, Michael, was very accommodating. Too bad I could only give it 5 stars. If one plans a trip to...More

Thank Bruce C
Response from Michael R, Owner at Carlton HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for a great review, so delighted yuou enjoyed your stay Bruce and hope to welcome you again very soon - Michael R

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Much of the hotel had been renovated to a good standard, however not the room we were given was. The room was tiny and highly dilapidated with incredibly cheap furniture and an aweful bathroom. I would book a different hotel next time.

Thank Matt W
Response from Michael R, Owner at Carlton HotelResponded yesterday

For clarity; I will say it again, you get what you pay for! Booking economy and to expect first class is unreasonable as is your review. Enough said - Michael R

Reviewed 3 days ago

A big welcome on arrival and direction to the quay were clear when asked for, Room was newly refurbished and very comfortable. I left the room and walked easily to the town and had a browse around, I ate locally and the returned to the...More

Thank Anne G
Response from Michael R, Owner at Carlton HotelResponded 3 days ago

Thank you Anne for the great review, we are delighted that we able to meet your needs - Michael R

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were able to entertain our friends staying with us with the age old “animal, vegetable or mineral “game as to what we had found in our hotel room kettle. The answers told us a great deal about our friends but none guessed the answer;...More

Thank Nicholas G
Response from Michael R, Owner at Carlton HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel Nicholas, I regret that you found a crayon in your kettle and will address the matter with the Housekeeping team. Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention - Michael R

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
USD 111 - USD 199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 111 - USD 199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (118)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (25)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Deborah H
4 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Michael R | Property representative |
Good Morning, There is a lift to all floors but be aware of steps to ground floor rooms. Unfortunately there are no deluxe single rooms available as yet. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel - Michael R
1
Vote
John E
13 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ElSeWe | Property representative |
Hello John. Thanks for your question. We are refurbishing (not demolishing) 7 out of our 44 bedrooms. This area of work is on the 1st floor and cordoned off from guests. Any significant work occurs between 10h & 16h during... More
0
Votes
Karen O
25 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Jackie E | Reviewed this property |
I don't really know but you can ask the hotel 😊
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I had a new refurbished room so not sure what remaining rooms are like."
Read review
"Book early , as this hotel is getting really great reviews."
Read review
"Ask for a refurbished room"
Read review
"Room 109, on 1st floor"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing