We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hermitage Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Hermitage Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hermitage Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for three nights and left this morning. It was so nice we would have liked to stay longer. The room was clean and nicely decorated, with an obvious attention to detail. The bed was comfy and the shower excellent. Breakfast was delicious and over the course of our stay we tried out the cooked breakfast, salmon and egg...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Junglepirate
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and managed to sample the different items on the Breakfast menu

Canberra
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Everything about tis B&B is outstanding. Host were fantastic, nice to have interaction with Shelby the lab and his soccer ball. Location was great, beautiful views, and the weather was good to boot! Breakfast selection was very good, nice and hearty before embarking on our journey.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LC1954
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your "fabulous" comments, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and the "Hearty Breakfast". Shelby says "thank for playing football"

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently stayed for 5 nights in this excellent B & B. Andrew and Pauline were friendly and welcoming, the room was immaculate, beds comfortable and the breakfasts perfect. Kingussie is a small town and has facilities to match, however for those seeking a quiet location within easy reach of the area's amenities, this is a very good place to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anthony W
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovley comments, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back to The Hermitage

adelaide
Reviewed 30 May 2014

An unexpected stay at the delightful town of Kingussie led us to the Hermitage where we experienced a wonderful relaxing stay .The room was immaculate, spotlessly clean,comfortable and tastefully decorated . Andrew and Pauline are great hosts,welcoming interesting and very helpful .Their suggestion to dine at Silverfojd proved to be a winner. Breakfast was excellent,a great selection to satisfy all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gunyaman
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review it was nice meeting you both Have a great time in Scotland and have a safe journey back to Australia

Surrey
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights as we were attending a friends wedding in Kingussie. Andrew and Pauline were great hosts. The breakfast is a delight, even if it is a bit restricted to being served from 0800 - 0900. Our room whilst not the biggest was fine for our short stay. The only thing that was disappointing in the B&B was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Backpackernomore
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

We think we know which Guest is the reviewer here and which room you refer to but cannot be sure due to your Pseudonym and no room reference. However, we are sorry you found the Mattress uncomfortable but as you do appreciate it is impossible to find a mattress to suit all sleeping preferences. We do have a replacement policy...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is our 10th year staying at the Hermitage and once again we have a fabulous time. Cannot faulty anything. Andrew and Pauline made us feel welcome for the 2 weeks we stayed there the rooms are spotless and clean the food is wonderful. Fantastic place to stay and unwind and relax, well recommed you to stay there We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, it's always a pleasure to welcome you back to The Hermitage even if you do make our faces ache with laughter!!! We enjoy having you to stay and consider you our Friends rather than Guests. We look forward to seeing you all again later this year - Cottage Pie at the ready

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We recently decided to stay in Kingussie and use it as a base to explore the surrounding area. We had purchased a groupon offer for one of the local hotels. To cut a long story short the groupon offer hotel was so bad we could not stay and immediately started to look for somewhere else to stay. We found the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sylvia s
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments it is always gratifying to know our Guests have enjoyed their stay and that we/The Hermitage have met their expectations, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Reviewed 27 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night for an anniversary weekend away and the owners were lovely. Unfortunately we had to leave very early the next morning due to our other plans and missed out on the highly reviewed breakfast. However we were offered a packed lunch etc instead which was kind but we're not morning people so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmulraney
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments, we're gald you enjoyed your stay Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to The Hermitage at some time

Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a superior king size room. The sprung mattress was a bit tired and noisey, but the room was a decent size. The ensuite shower room was OK, but the water didn't drain totally in the right direction, but there were plenty of towels to mop it up! The breakfast was average. The coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JacquiDu
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments however we are dumfounded by them! The Superior Room you stayed in has a Kingsize bed which is only about 18 months old, it was replaced when the room was totally refurbished The En-suite is a “Wet Room” installed to cater for all Guests including those who may be less mobile – the floor does...

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed with Pauline and Andrew for a couple of nights to attend a "clan gathering" - wish it could have been longer! This is the Rolls Royce of B and B experience. A lovely warm welcome, beautiful accomodation which is clean, elegant and comfortable and the most wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and we feel we have made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skitot
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and are delighted you now count us as “Friends” It was lovely to join the extended group to socialise with a glass of champagne on that sunny afternoon We always look forward to welcoming both our “Regulars” and those new to the Annual Clan Gathering We hope...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingussie hotels
0.4 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
319 reviews
0.2 km away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
449 reviews
0.1 km away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
184 reviews
0.3 km away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
234 reviews
0.5 km away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 22 in Kingussie
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Hermitage Guest House

Address: The Hermitage Spey Street, Kingussie PH21 1HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Price Range: $59 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Hermitage Guest House Kingussie, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hermitage Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Hermitage Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room overlooking the street was very enjoyable.”
dnebot, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All good rooms”
davidlB9348NV, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Spey Room is probably the best. Well worth it.”
Bitesyerlegs, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Trium is fantastic if you have 3 in your party like we had, myself and my two daughters stayed together in this very roomy comfortable room.”
  • Single bed side of the Trium room...the only triple room we found.
  • View from the single bedded area (it was a bit of a cloudy day)
  • The twin part of the room, very spacious and comfortable
sharonluttrell, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Twin bed room, it was right on the front of the house which was great for keeping a check on the car and for the mountain view we could see directly in front.”
657callumt, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5