We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Pier Hotel

PricelineUSD 51*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 64*
USD 51*
USD 64*
USD 64*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
Panoramas (76)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 304: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Pier Hotel
 Click to rate
Surrey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed again at the Royal Pier for the Easter Weekend with lots of friends,Had a lovely room overlooking the Pier which was very nice.Very good entertainment for the whole of the holiday.The food was very nice plenty of choice,something for everyone.All the staff are friendly especially Mike and Debbie and our waiter Will,nothing was too much trouble. Met some of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A M
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you decided to visit us again and that you had a great time. We are very lucky with our staff, some of which have been here for many years. The Jubilee Bar is always popular and many locals have their favourite Entertainers that they like to come and see. We...

Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited this hotel on the Easter weekend holiday, the hotel building would have been magnificent in its heyday, unfortunately to bring this hotel back to its former glory would cost a fortune, it is in a bad state of disrepair décor, apparent leaks, blown plaster etc, the whole building needs a complete and extensive refurbishment. Having said this the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertRowden
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As you have said, the Hotel is an old Victorian building which is in continual use and the maintenance is on going like any old building. As you confirmed, we offer great value for money are we are in a wonderful position and have the benefit of two bars and...

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location right by the pier nice size room with plenty of storage and cheap bar prices are the good bits but being asked to pay a pound for about 7mins in the hot tub and 50p a towel was a joke it should be free what's the charges for ? We've never had to pay for this in any...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kevin a
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked the hotel last minute. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the parking. The room was adequate with a beautiful new ensuite. Shame about the bed. (Rome wasn't built in a day)Tea/coffee facilities were good and topped up. Bar prices were very reasonable. Breakfast was good. Value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen J
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do sometimes have rooms available to book last minute so it is always worth checking. Many of the bathrooms have now been refurbished but with 65 rooms you can imagine this takes time. We have previously said we feel we offer good value for money and this includes the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stunning views from our huge sea view room, exceedingly good service from all staff and when I advised I have a gluten allergy they gave me excellent choice for my meals, fantastic! If you have a gluten allergy and hate finding places to stay and eat, this is for you and definitely book room 25!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We always appreciate when people take the time to write. We would advise at the time of booking to mention if you have any allergies or special dietary needs so that we can be prepared for you, although we are use to providing a gluten free diet if required.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Couple of weeks before my visit I receive a phone call telling me that they couldn't accommodate me on my first night booked. Luckily I wasn't travelling far and no transport booked. I'm guessing this is the fault of the booking website as the place was closed. I must admit that I wasn't best pleased and was feeling slightly hostile...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tim K
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. As mentioned previously the staff in every department work hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. We do feel we offer great value for money with our indoor pool, regular entertainment and fantastic location overlooking the Pier and beach. As you kindly pointed out peoples' expectation is sometimes too high for...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Fantastic Staff Lovely rooms Good food As A disabled person I would Recommend this Hotel to anyone. nothing is to much trouble the staff Go above and beyond and all a Credit to the Owners and Managers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank basiclee08
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review. The Hotel is a lovely old Victorian building which was converted into a Hotel many years ago so we do have to work within the limitations of the building. We do request that guests who require rooms with walk in showers...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

A nice quiet time of year we visited with lovely weather for a lovely weekend get away. All members of staff are very happy and very helpful. The hotel is a perfect location with a lovely sea view of the beach and pier. Also a short walk many various bus stops and the railway station. Also there are many great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank davenator13
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Although much quieter this time of year, the Island still has lots to offer and when the weather is good, even better. Thank you for your kind words about the staff, they all work very hard throughout the year to make your stay enjoyable. We are so lucky to be...

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

you could not ask for better from the first meeting with the staff booking in was very quick and all staff was very friendly., nothing was to much trouble for anyone ,it was like being with friends the whole time ,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andabela2014
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We always appreciate constructive criticism, but when we received such a lovely review it makes us all feel much better and confirms that we are doing things rights. Thanks again.

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Stayed 5 days over Christmas had a really lovely time, all stuff were so happy and helpful, food was always hot and tasty. The overall look of hotel was clean but a little tidy, but typical seaside hotel. Entertainment every night was very good, drinks were a lot cheaper than our local pub. Would go back again. Thank you for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yolande R
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We always have a lovely time at Christmas as we do have lots of regular guests and they are great at mixing and making everyone welcome. All the staff enjoy making your stay as special as possible. We have a lot of bookings already this Christmas this year. We hope...

302 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
Family Room (33)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Triple Room (35)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.6 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
700 reviews
0.2 km away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
400 reviews
0.4 km away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
396 reviews
0.2 km away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
295 reviews
0.6 km away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sandown
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: $66 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Pier Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Pier Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms at the front of the hotel.”
RobertRowden, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Am sure whatever room you stay in will be clean and comfortable .”
basiclee08, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the top floor above the main entrance which seemed quieter when there is entertainment in the bar”
139Vicky, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor as lift stops there”
753lynnet, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get sea view if possible.”
martinrR8801FG, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 51* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 64
Hotels.comUSD 64
TravelocityUSD 64
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates