We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Pier Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Pier Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 294: English reviews
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was on a coach trip staying at the Royal Pier Hotel Sandown between 25th and 28th November 2016. The coach trip was OK but the long weekend was made by the hotel. From the moment of arrival until our departure the staff were helpfull and freindly. My room didn't have the best view (Then I don't sit in and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PETERGCF33
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this excellent hotel many times but this is the first time I stayed there, and if all goes well I will stay again next year. A warm hotel with friendly staff who were cheerful and welcoming. Food very nice and hot which was served by just 1 waiter and 1 waitress, ie Will and Debbie. They were very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dennisprice31
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel was very clean and the staff were very nice and the food was very hot and tasty we really enjoyed our selves .we go to the isle wight every year and i would recommend this hotel to anyone good views over the sea .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosemaryprice39
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived Friday evening after booking a single room for granny and family room for my wife, myself and our 10 year old son. Really friendly staff with a warm welcome and smiles all around. Horrific storm meant our sea facing room was very noisy with the wind but this couldn't be helped. Breakfast was served from a basic choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2013Monkeyboy
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind and positive review. We are in an enviable position opposite the sea and on Sandown seafront. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the weather but we are pleased to see it did not spoil your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again maybe next summer.

Liverpool
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was booked as a last minute option due to being let down by another hotel. The staff were very helpful when we called and the location is fabulous which is why it has been given 2 stars. It is right by the pier and beach and close to restaurants and bars. We were there when there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rach2982
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As with any busy hotel, the refurbishment is always on going and at present we are still working on upgrading all the bathrooms before refurbishing the rooms. We are surprised about your comments about the staff as you will...

Eastwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This was me and my daughters first trip to the Isle of Wight. We had a lovely time at this hotel. The staff were very welcoming. Food was excellent,plenty of choice. Room was very clean .Plenty to do each day. We really enjoyed the 2 day trips touring the island. Our driver Graham was a gem,very knowledgable and friendly. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 139Vicky
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to see your enjoyed your time with us and your visit to the Isle of Wight. As mentioned, we do feel we offer good value for money. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed last week with two friends and we had a great time. The staff remembered us and greeted us as friends which was lovely. Our room 6 is a family room with a double bed and twin beds which for 3 of us was ideal. It is a large room with plenty of space together with a more than adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Heather. Thank you once again for taking the time to write your Review. You always find something different to mention every time you visit us, and it is truly lovely that you visit several times a year. I will pass on your thanks to Marie. We are pleased that you enjoyed the entertainment which was this time, was held...

Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The hotel was always spotless the staff always happy and helpful the choice of food was always very good. Sandowne has a lovely prom to walk along the view from the front of the hotel is beautiful looking out to sea at the boats moored up at night waiting to go into port

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philrider10
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As previously mentioned staff in all areas of the Hotel work hard to make sure your stay is enjoyable including Housekeeping and Kitchen which you have so kindly mentioned. We do overlook Sandown Bay which truly is an enviable location.

Haydock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Just got back after 5 day coach trip, Hotel in good location, food lovely, plenty of choice and hot. Bed was comfy and clean. Shower was a disappointment to small, and sink in the room, but only 4nights so managed. My only comment is that we had a sea view this was great but no table and chairs to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynne t
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take on board your constructive comments . There are very few rooms that do have basins in the rooms and most have been recently been replaced, but we are not able to change that. Thank you once again.

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel was very good. Staff were excellent. The manger Julie was very welcoming. Food was of a very good standard. The hotel is very tired but with all the good points would recommend. We went with just go holidays and felt it was very good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anita n
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your great review. All our staff work hard to make sure everyone enjoys their stay with us and it was nice to read that you felt the same. We do feel that we offer good value for money and thank you for confirming that.

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.0 km away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 31 in Sandown
375 reviews
0.6 km away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#12 of 31 in Sandown
271 reviews
0.4 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
1,143 reviews
0.6 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
677 reviews
0.0 km away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: $80 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Pier Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Pier Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the top floor above the main entrance which seemed quieter when there is entertainment in the bar”
 of 5 bubbles 139Vicky, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor as lift stops there”
 of 5 bubbles 753lynnet, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get sea view if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles martinrR8801FG, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea view is ideal if available although you only get the sun in the mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles bridgetjones2016, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 901DeniseA, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay