We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Chesterhouse Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Chesterhouse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Chesterhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 242: English reviews
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

We were on the island for a motorcycle rally & stayed in the Chester house over a Friday & Saturday night. It's location is perfect, just minutes from the ferry, restaurants & bars and faces out to sea. The hotel it's self is clean and tidy and all of the staff were really helpful especially the young staff that ran...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, thank you for choosing The Chesterhouse for your recent visit. May we offer our sincere apologies regarding the issues you encountered during your stay. Rest assured we will look into the issues raised and address them as may be necessary. We are however pleased to note your kind words regarding the cleanliness of the hotel, service and...

Reigate
Reviewed 14 September 2016

This hotel was right on the seafront, and very convenient for central Douglas. However as I had a car, to avoid the time restrictions, i had to park about a mile away. It is a traditional seafront hotel, with multiple buildings joined together, giving it a complex layout with lots of little stairs and lots of doors, so not great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scubajonb
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, nice breakfast. Room small but clean with grotty view at rear . £300 for 2 night's but that's i.o.m for you at tt.good night's sleep though.why do I need to say more and use 200 characters when100 will give enough info???

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinker46
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Very handy for ferry terminal and horse trams. Staff very pleasant. Reasonable breakfast. Room 109 was a major disappointment. It was at the rear of the hotel and looked out onto a narrow alley. The lower half of the windows had been covered with a frosted film to obscure the view. The upper half of the windows were the dirtiest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman R
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, may we first thank you for choosing The Chesterhouse for your recent visit. May we also thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We are disappointed to read you weren't 100% satisfied with your room. We will look into this issues you have referred to urgently and address them as may be necessary, however we assure...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Well, I am sorry, but to sell a room with this view and sound effects without prior warning is criminal..kitchen extractor vent outside ....they should be ashamed of themselves. Breakfast was rubbish...must have walked through 2 dozen fire doors, in my opinion a hazard in themselves.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank aifreeman2016
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, may we thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to write this review. We are naturally disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not live up to our usual high standards, we will investigate the extractor issue you refer to and establish the reason for any excessive noise. Should you return to...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Very noisy position but it is on the main prom road....had room 305 which is compact but with everything you need including an iron and ironing board. Bed was OK and the room was cleanish. The room layout of the building can be confusing. The building itself is obviously very old and has uneven floors narrow corridors and is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank horwich1
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Booked this hotel as I was attending a funeral in Douglas. No problems with the hotel, especially for the price, but the bar next door was extremely noisy with live groups on till the early hours and bottles crashing every 5 minutes into bins !! Breakfast was OK not fantastic, again, for the price, fine. The position of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Archie C
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, we are sorry to note that there were elements of your stay that did not match our usual high standards. We would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention so that we have been able to immediately address and correct them as was necessary. Should you return to the Isle of Man, perhaps...

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Were given room 222 which had a sofa in the bay window overlooking Douglas bay. By day it was gorgeous but at night taxi drivers lined up outside and left motors running and talked loudly. One even hoovered his car at 2a.m.! Appreciate this is out with control of hotel. Occasional loud reveller kept us awake too. Apart from this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, may we thank you for choosing The Chesterhouse Hotel for your recent visit and for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay overall but are sorry that there were certain elements of your stay that you feel could have been improved upon. We will certainly here-on be...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We arrived here on Saturday 20th August 2016, myself, my son, my friend and her daughter. My friend has already wrote her review which, as I have just read it, sums everything up to a tee. The fact our room was ready when we arrived at 08.50 was just great and then we were able to have breakfast too😀😀😀. To...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angela342016
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I've just got back from a business trip to the Isle of Man and I stayed here for three nights. The staff were lovely and extremely helpful. The breakfast was good and I enjoyed the entertainment the hotel put on after dinner. In summing up I couldn't fault it and the staff made my stay perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick M

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
339 reviews
0.4 km away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
563 reviews
1.3 km away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 22 in Douglas
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
1.1 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
328 reviews
1.1 km away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Chesterhouse Hotel

Address: 37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: $112 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Chesterhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterhouse Hotel Douglas
The Chesterhouse Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chesterhouse Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
Christchurch, New Zealand
Trafford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Chesterhouse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles johnlander10, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask fir rooms on the second floor we will next time”
 of 5 bubbles milljeStaffordshire, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Brilliant sea views”
 of 5 bubbles rosieclev, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are a must!”
 of 5 bubbles ElizabethWigan, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“lovely sea front view-street illuminated-looks lovely”
 of 5 bubbles jop424, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5