We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sefton Hotel

Booking.comUSD 115*
View Deal
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 154*
USD 115*
USD 154*
USD 154*
USD 115*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sefton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sefton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 565: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We stayed for one night, bed, breakfast and evening meal. My husband has a mobility problem, he is not in a wheelchair but has a walker so we stayed in an accessible room. The room overlooked the Atrium and was very pleasant. Bed was large and comfy with lots of space around it. Great stay with good food in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank linianmcearn
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your positive feedback. We are of course delighted to hear that you would "definitely stay again" and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 24 February 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in the Isle of Man a lot, the Sefton ranks as the best place I have stayed so far. The room I had overlooked the atrium and was a pleasant oasis to come back to after a typical business day. The room was well furnished and serviced to a good standard. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dean V
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review and for recommending the Sefton to other prospective guests. We are pleased to hear that you found your room well furnished and serviced to a good standard. Your comment regarding the corridors and lack of pictures is noted, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sefton next time you visit...

Long Whatton
Reviewed 19 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for the TT. Best location, central to Douglas. The room was overlooking the atrium and had it's only balcony. Great to have a balcony where you don't don't get wet when it rains in IOM. Breakfast room was very traditional. Loved it and breakfast very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garyscottorn
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us last year. As you know TT is an incredibly busy time for us here on the Isle of Man and the Sefton is as you say a great location, right in the heart of the TT festivities. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We had a weekend break here in a suite, which was nice and roomy, but fairly standard compared to many hotels I've stayed in previously. The room was clean and tidy, and the bathroom with spa bath was fabulous - but apart from this nothing really gave us the wow factor. The windows were very dirty too, which kind of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scallywagz
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following your weekend break with us. On the plus side we are pleased you found your room clean, tidy and spacious. Unfortunately, although the windows are cleaned on a regular basis, it can be very much a losing battle at this time of the year with the sea air and stormy weather. We are...

Isle of Man
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Perfect nights stay, arrived early to take my three boys swimming before nan picked them up, no complaints everyone had fun. Dinner in Sir Normans was excellent really great value for money. Ended up meeting friends doing the same package in the bar until two in the morning, great night. Breakfast was lovely and no rush to vacate the room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keely_63
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting such a glowing review and for your 5 star rating.....it is always a pleasure to open up TripAdvisor to be greeted with such comments. The winter B&B offer has been a great success and we are pleased you found your stay value for money. We note you will be back and we look forward...

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2015

Weekend stay - Dinner, bed and Breakfast and we absolutely loved it. Stayed in the Royal Suite and it was fabulous. Set menu in the Gallery, had lots of choice and perfectly cooked. The staff were friendly and attentive. Loved the huge bath with a TV, and the sea front view of Douglas. Breakfast was very relaxed with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank June M
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting such a positive review .....this is the sort of review we love to receive. Yes, the Royal Suite is rather special and we are delighted you enjoyed it. Thank you again for your review and we are glad to hear that you will "definitely be staying again" ....we look forward to welcoming you back.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2015

Food awful (absolutely) in restraunt staff lovely and friendly stayed in suite which is V nice great bathroom and room can't work tv (no channels) docking station doesn't work ,....don't waste your money stay at home get pizza!!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank micky m
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

I was very sorry to receive your review this morning following your recent stay at the Sefton, please rest assured that all such feedback is taken very seriously. With this in mind I would really appreciate the chance to talk through the issues you have raised and should be grateful if you would contact me on 01624 645527 or robert.duncan@seftongroup.co.im...

isle of man
Reviewed 27 December 2014

We were treated to a Xmas break by the family and really enjoyed our two nights at this hotel.The room was perfect with plenty of space and a balcony in the atrium . All the family came for Xmas dinner which was delicious . The staff could not of been more helpful and have to be commended on their efficiency...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathyIsleOfMan
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review and for your 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break and your Christmas Dinner with all the family. It was nice to see Santa as well in your picture! Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, such feedback is always appreciated and most welcome. May we take...

London
Reviewed 13 December 2014

We can't praise the staff at the Sefton more, from the outset they were very helpful and accommodating. We didn't know how long we were going to be staying - so we required a few room moves! Nothing was any trouble. The chef was very accommodating to meet our special dietary needs. Our family room was lovely and spacious. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJShep
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your 5 star rating. We are delighted to receive your complimentary feedback on our staff .....such personal comments are ALWAYS appreciated and we will of course pass your review on to the relevant staff. Thank you for chosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming...

London
Reviewed 8 December 2014

We spent two nights at the Sefton in a family room. In fact we were given two linked rooms with a bathroom between - loads of space and perfect for a family. The hotel is a little shabby in places, made up for by excellent breakfasts, a little swimming pool which my son loved, and very handy location on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oglandercrew
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review from which we are pleased to note that you found your stay great value for money. We are pleased also that you enjoyed your breakfasts and that you have recommended our hotel to other potential guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back again some time in the...

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
341 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.8 km away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
333 reviews
0.3 km away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
125 reviews
0.5 km away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#6 of 22 in Douglas
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sir Norman's
Sir Norman's
Cuisines: Bar, British, Healthy
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: $160 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sefton Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sefton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“speak to Zoe”
d0nnag7, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beware of 'road noise' in sea front rooms ...”
dreemerdog, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Atrium rooms”
robertpO1330LN, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Object in the strongest terms if put in a dismal dowdy room”
1777NT, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Junior suites improve the ambience but can't take away the staid nature of the decor”
Lpspeshmad, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 115* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 154
PricelineUSD 115
TripAdvisorUSD 115
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates