We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 102*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 102*
USD 102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 504: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

long trip by coach but worth it, all of the staff were really friendly hotel very clean & good food. We had a great roomno.18. the hotel was centrally situated to all amenities great for walks & seeing all surronding areas, just nothing that you could complain about except we were just not there long enough as it was only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank slippers2013
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear slippers2013. Thank you for reviewing us. Glad you had a ‘brilliant’ holiday with us and found us to be a ‘friendly’ hotel. Thanks for mentioning our great location, our cleanliness standards and our food. There is a lot to do here on our doorstep in South Devon, so we appreciate your predicament of trying to fit everything in, in...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a last minute booking with Shearings so to have a twin room we had to pay extra as the only ones available were Sea view ones. The room, I would say, was newly redecorated as was lovely and fresh. The bathroom was minute and, unfortunately had no shower. My partner had recently had a shoulder op and getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wulfrunia
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wulfrunia. Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. Glad we that we could assist with your bathroom problem, and pleased that your room was to liking. If possible, it’s always a good idea to let us know in advance if you prefer a bath or shower, we can’t always guarantee a request, but always endeavour to do so....

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

It was an OK stay . The room was small and the walls weren't overly clean . The bathroom bin was broken and contained the wrapper of someone else's sanitary items so hadn't been emptied. The breakfast was OK. On the menu is some information about upgrading your room . Seems a bit late as we had already stayed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sambolinisquarepants
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sambolinisquarepants Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Disappointing to read that you weren’t totally satisfied with your stay. We will look into the House-Keeping issues you experienced. Sea-views are usually only available if we have late cancellations, so a sign at reception does advertise if any are available, I am sorry your hadn’t seen...

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

The hotel is very clean and the staff were very helpful, you can tell its an old Hotel as some rooms the toilet is in like a cupboard also shower the same and the sink in the actual bedroom, some they are in one room but very small. The Hotel is well placed for the Sea and Shops Buses and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shendaseven
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shendaseven Many thanks for your review. As you stated, we are fortunate to be in a superb position, ideal for both shops and the beach. We are pleased that the food was to your liking, and will pass on your comments to our chefs. Glad the room size wasn’t detrimental to your stay, and we hope that you would...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel is a great place to stay only a few yards to the main beach and close to main shopping area, bus and railway station. The hotel is exceptionally clean, the staff really friendly and helpful, the food is really good, the rooms are adequate with comfortable beds, the only downfall is the bathrooms which to be honest are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur V
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Arthur V Many thanks for your 5 star review. We totally agree with your opinion; we are indeed fortunate to be in a superb location with a superb team behind us. Our rooms probably wouldn’t be the largest that you’d encounter on your travels as you stated, but we do like to think that the friendly staff and great...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We went as a party of 11 of us to celebrate the 100th anniversary of our organisation. The Esplanade again did not disappoint. Staff were very tolerant of our sometimes quite noisy behaviour and accommodated us at mealtimes by setting up a table for 11. A very enjoyable weekend with staff making every effort on their guests behalf as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan P Many thanks for reviewing us. Glad we could accommodate your party of 11. Really pleased to read that our service didn’t disappoint, and always a pleasure to see you with us. Look forward to welcoming you for visit no.16!

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Well it was back again to this wonderful hotel. As a regular visitor I do notice changes and improvements on each visit and once again was not disappointed. Firstly the hotel itself. It is impeccable clean and the ongoing refurbishment and upgrade of rooms provide a really comfortable stay. It's location is handy with the harbour just across the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy J
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy J Thanks again for leaving us a lovely review. Great to chat with you again, and Interesting to find out that you’ve been coming to our hotel now for 25 years! We do have quite a few regulars, but you are definitely up there amongst the most stalwart!! I hope you are having many happy memories of your...

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the Bay Esplanade Hotel. I reviewed this hotel following a stay, back in 2015 and rated it very good. I can honestly say this hotel now warrants an excellent rating. The hotel itself is not 5 star, but the staff certainly provide a 5 star service. All the staff are friendly, polite,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John V
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear john V We really appreciate your 5 star rating, and love the title, “Top of the class”! Thank-you for acknowledging the endeavours of our team here at the Bay Esplanade. I will pass on your comments to all the staff, particularly Dovile & Tabby, whom you have mentioned by name. Glad you liked your refurbished room, and our public...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I stayed here for the weekend on a Shearing weekend break. The hotel was near the sea and the main bus station and rail station for trips to other destinations such as Brixham, Dartmouth, Totnes. We stayed in a basic room which was clean and the beds were comfortable. The shower room was rather small and could do with an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JasmineSt
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JasmineSt Thank you for reviewing your recent break with us. As you stated, we are in an ideal location, close to the town centre shops and the beach just across the road! It’s also only a short walk to the bus/train station opening up the possibility of visiting lots of other popular attractions here within the South Devon region....

Havant, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Had a great 4 night break wth Shearings. Staff were excellent, food was plentiful and of great standard and service was fast and efficient. Breakfast was self service which did cause a few queues at times but the cooked breakfast was always replenished quickly and cooked perfectly. Yes the bedrooms are small and the bathroom tiny but you don't spend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda W Thank you for awarding us a 5 star review. We are pleased that most aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction. Unfortunately, our rooms won’t be the largest you’ll encounter due to us being a Victorian building. The bathrooms were added many years later to satisfy changing consumer demands, resulting in a reduced room size! Pleased...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.4 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
301 reviews
4.0 km away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#34 of 88 in Torquay
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
470 reviews
1.6 km away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
271 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: $135 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth paying extra for seaview We had room 222. Compact and clean with a bath,.”
redrOn_11, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't know if it's worth paying for sea view as window was so crazed it was a bit disappointing.”
Mabel1969, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“our room 18 was very easy to get to & very cosy”
slippers2013, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front and Sea Views”
shendaseven, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Seafront rooms have a small surcharge but are worth the extra.”
jikabob, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 102* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Orbitz.comUSD 102
TripAdvisorUSD 102
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates