We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Durham University Museum of Archaeology
    0.6 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 2 days ago
Lovely
Had a lovely spa day here. Massages were amazing, staff were... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 376: English reviews
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a quick business stop. The ground floor room was a decent size but could do with a make over .It is really like a premier inn. The staff were friendly and there is a small bar in the reception area .The food is served in the gym area but I can not comment as I went out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186459And123
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a lovely spa day here. Massages were amazing, staff were friendly and very professional. Facilities were very clean, food was tasty. Only down side was having to pay for the use of towels and robes, would of thought you would get this for free. Would recommend booking your spa treatments for later in the day so you have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katey_Hart
Bridgwater
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have visited this hotel three times and every time we are amazed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, Good rooms and having the health and spa club on site is an added bonus. Within easy distance to Durham City. There is also a shopping area next to the hotel which is very convenient. Overall very good value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyGuestBridgwater
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear HappyGuestBridg, Thank you for sharing your positive review regarding your recent (third) stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am delighted that you are amazed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the team. On your next visit why not try one of our Spa Pamper days packages all of which can be found on the Bannatyne Hotel website. The team...

North East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a spa deal here with some family and friends to celebrate my upcoming wedding. After being to other local spas I assumed for the price it would be similar but the whole experience was terrible. Arrived for 1245 and we were greeted at the reception, told to take a health form and go fill it in in the bar,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RiversTam
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just stayed for a night with spa treatments. Excellent stay, the spa treatments were great, fell asleep in the relaxation room. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Short taxi ride and your in the centre of Durham. The rooms were also very good, beds very comfortable. We had a great stay and will definitely be coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Paul L, Thank you for sharing your positive review regarding your recent one nights stay and Spa break. I am very pleased that you had an excellent stay and that your spa treatments were great. You must have been very relaxed to have fallen asleep on the heated tiled loungers which are available in the Spa relaxation room. The...

Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 31st dec - 2nd jan with husband and couples. Hotel room was lovely and clean. We had room 51 (penthouse apparently lol) was larger than the other rooms. Hotel reception staff are lovely and personable. Fab asset to the hotel they would go out of their way to help...order taxis etc will return :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen h
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Karen L, Thank you for sharing your kind review with regards to your New Years stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. Room 51 is a family room and is indeed larger than most of the other rooms. I am glad that you found your room to be lovely and clean and that you have applauded the team for their help....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible. .budget place for stupid price...basic...loud noisy idiots and fighting going on all night with no security.poor girl at desk had to sort alone.....thrown out at check out time...spa closed at 3.30 and not told....u can't check in till 2....I appreciate it was new years eve but not informed and paid stupid money for a treat...not a treat...only thing nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ShirleyAin1
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear ShirleyAin1 Thank you for sharing your review with regards to your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. After investigating your comments I understand that you were staying in room 50 and that the young couple in room 51 had been arguing during the evening. I have had no reports of fighting and CCTV confirms this. The Health Club opening...

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved my stay here. The hotel staff were brilliant. The hotel provides everything you need. The room itself was lovely and clean with comfortable beds and a great shower. One night is not enough! Access to the health spa was included which saved us money. We used the pool, jacuzzi and steam rooms. There is also a gym and cafe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank em_k7
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear em_K7, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent positive review regarding your stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am pleased that you loved your visit and that you found everything that you needed. It is also great that you and enjoyed the use of the Health Club Spa. I look forward to your next stay. If...

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff very friendly and polite , room was clean and good size I had a lovely time there I would recommend this place, nice views and nice food to . Would defiantly visit this place again I give it 4 🌟

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sammymc1989
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Sammymc1989, Thank you very much for posting a review in relation to your recent visit to Bannatyne Hotel, Durham. I am pleased that you enjoyed the stay and found the bed to be a good size and staff very friendly. It is also great that you would recommend the Hotel and visit again. Kind regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although the staff were very friendly the room wasn't as clean as it could have been. Not sure what the stain on the seat was, and the coffee down the wall should have been dealt with before we were given access to the room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GGJM
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear GGJM, Thank you for sharing your review in relation to your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. It is disappointing to read that your room was not as clean as it should be. I have since inspected the Hotel and I am happy to say that all of the issues have been dealt with. It is pleasing that you...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.5 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.3 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: $79 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bannatyne Hotel Durham staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
SUNDERLAND TYNE AND WEAR ENGLAND
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
rose farm
7 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Bannatyne Hotel Durham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think they would all be noisy from guests walking along corridor”
 of 5 bubbles E1884MZalanc, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I assume rooms at the front would be quieter as I could hear low level traffic, husband said he couldn't!”
 of 5 bubbles LauraLou_11, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem equally good - there is a lift and 24 hour staffed reception”
 of 5 bubbles ivorrickwood, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any would be suitable as hotel quiet”
 of 5 bubbles MargiS_12, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Car park side quieter - road noise if you open windows”
 of 5 bubbles SeonsD, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5