We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Bannatyne Hotel Durham

    Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    5 Nov. 6 Nov.
    Savings alert: 10% below average rate

    The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 62/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    USD 66*
    USD 56*
    SAVE USD 10
    USD 66*
    USD 64*
    Traveller (30)
    Room & Suite (11)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Overview
    • Excellent30%
    • Very good40%
    • Average18%
    • Poor5%
    • Terrible7%
    Travellers talk about
    “health club” (89 reviews)
    “cafe bar” (19 reviews)
    “fitness centre” (16 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Heated pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Spa
    Wheelchair Access
    Free Parking
    Breakfast Buffet
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    5 Nov.6 Nov.
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 56
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 66
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 64
      View Deal
    View all 8 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (442)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 435 reviews

    Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

    Wow where do I start; booked the hotel so I could go for a swim after work. When I arrived both windows were wide open, didn’t think much about it closed them and went for a swim. The pool is dated and not that clean;...More

    Thank ElfCumbria
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    We stayed for 1 night in the hotel on Saturday the staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was clean and the beds were amazingly comfy! Had a great nights sleep. We also used the spa facilities where we had a treatment -...More

    Thank Jemma I
    Response from Matthew E, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel DurhamResponded 6 days ago

    Dear Jemma1, I enjoyed reading your recent review with regards to your 1 nights stay on Saturday night and that you were able to enjoy a treatment in the Health Clubs Spa. The bed that you refer to are supplied with a Sealy mattress and...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Stayed here with work this week with 12 of us. Check in was great - very friendly and efficient - Actually, all the staff were great - very friendly all round. Room, this was a little tired, but certainly have been in worse - No...More

    Thank Mike A
    Response from Matthew E, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel DurhamResponded 6 days ago

    Dear Mike A Thank you for sharing your positive review after staying at Bannatyne Hotel. I will be pleased to pass on your lovely comments regarding the staff and that you had no complaints with your stay. Look forward to your return. Kind Regards Matthew...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    Due to the adjacent dual carriageway the rooms are very noisy (slept with earplugs) The room was very poorly cleaned as the week progressed. Floor was dirty. Dirty cups and spoons not replaced. Expected a lot more. Will not stay here againMore

    Thank josmac1914
    Response from Matthew E, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel DurhamResponded 6 days ago

    Dear Jocmac1994, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I have discussed your comments with the Hotel and and how we can address the issues and prevent them from happening like this again. I am sorry that we did not live upto...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    A group of us stayed this weekend and we had 7 rooms all together. Every room was dirty. Dirty bathrooms, carpets, hairs in the bed, dirty surfaces, dirty bathroom floors, dirty sinks and the smell from the toilets was pungent and made me wretch. I...More

    Thank Hayley O
    Response from Matthew E, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel DurhamResponded 6 days ago

    Dear Hayley 0, Thank you for sharing the groups review regarding your recent stay. I am sorry that you found the rooms not to your liking. I have investigated your review with the Hotel team and have made the necessary requirements so that we can...More

    Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
    1,547 reviews
    #8 of 18 hotels in Durham
     
    Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
    555 reviews
    #3 of 18 hotels in Durham
     
    Lumley Castle Hotel
    2,140 reviews
    #5 of 18 hotels in Durham
     
    Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
    780 reviews
    #1 of 18 hotels in Durham
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Heated pool
    • Indoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 59 - USD 107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #4 Spa Hotel in Durham
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 60
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Durham >
    • Durham
    • Also Known As
    • Durham Bannatyne Hotel
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (30)
    Room & Suite (11)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (26)
    Bathroom (2)
    Nearby
    Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
    1,547 reviews
    2.60 km away
     
    Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
    780 reviews
    4.11 km away
     
    Lumley Castle Hotel
    2,140 reviews
    7.76 km away
     
    Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
    555 reviews
    .61 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Lebaneat Express
    36 reviews
    1.41 km away
    Fusion Restaurant
    71 reviews
    1.57 km away
    Daaba
    19 reviews
    1.06 km away
    Cafe Dafte
    7 reviews
    .57 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Spa at Ramside
    171 reviews
    1.57 km away
    Infinite Air
    82 reviews
    .73 km away
    Old Cinema Launderette
    30 reviews
    .89 km away
    Topgear Karting
    29 reviews
    .62 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    kerencassidy
    4 March 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Richardson1985 | Reviewed this property |
    towel didn't get dressing gown or slippers.
    0
    Votes
    SteveHandy
    16 February 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from tony r | Reviewed this property |
    It's always worth asking the question as the worst they can say is no. Also see if they do loyalty cards as sometimes these offer free stuff
    0
    Votes
    ClaireMarie87
    8 February 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from tony r | Reviewed this property |
    Not in the hotel itself no. There is one across the car park though but it's mainly healthy meals as it's part of the gym.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "If you are sensitive to noise and like to have the window open, you would be better to stay in a room on the..."
    Read review
    "Some rooms face away from the motorway and would be quieter, plus the lower floors would also be better"
    Read review
    "You can either have a view of the A1 or the A690 your choice!"
    Read review
    "I think they would all be noisy from guests walking along corridor"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing