We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Show Prices
#9 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

851 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 845: English reviews
Start your review of The Honest Lawyer Hotel
 Click to rate
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at Honest Lawyr last night. Staff excellent and couldnt be more helpful. Room a little tired and bath room cold . However an extra heater was supplied within minutes of asking. Accomadation suitable for our needs. Also very practical for disabled access. The resturant was excellent, they have recently updated the menu and I have to say all 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lbw1w
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I`m pleased to hear you found us value for money. Also just want to let you know. I had a meeting with the ovners. And I have promised new furniture for all the rooms in 2017. Also, new alacarte menu seems has been a big hit. We really do get...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I decided to spend a weekend in Durham, and picked this hotel as it was cheaper than the others in town. We have been very happy about our choice: the room was lovely and the bus ride was approximately 15 minutes from the city center, with the bus stop just outside the hotel. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clelyssa
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. We always try to be good value for money. And also we try to improve our standards on daily basis. Especially in the rooms. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Kindest Regards Unsal Aydin General Manager.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good, location with a decent car park. The Honest Lawyer interior is very smart, with a good bar area ideally suited for bar meals. You can choose from the a la carte menu. The haddock with beer batter was a good size was well cooked and came with large chunky chips, along with minted mushy peas and a large dollop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geordie008
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the Restaurant. I`m sorry you found our fish and chips expensive. But same time a lot of our guest comes here on a weekly basis to have fish and chips. Because of the quality. When we do our pricing on the menus, we always think our customers first. Because we want them...

Durham UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went with friends for Sunday lunch, went to see where we could sit and the f&b supervisor said "one minute" not a smile or hello in sight. Were told we could sit at the back which we did. No acknowledgement from staff for 10 minutes so we walked out. Will never return back there again. Disgraceful service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holi K
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the restaurant. I`m very sorry about your experience when you arrived here. As we speak I`m looking in to, who were working on that Sunday shift when you were arrived. I always tell my staff. Does`n`t matter how busy they are. They have to always acknowledge our guests as soon as they...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here one week ago as a family funeral was held at the venue the following day. After checking into our room in the evening, we spotted hair all over the bathroom and on the bed linen. After pulling the covers back, we realised the sheets had not been removed after the previous occupant had checked out. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I`m really sorry to hear, you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I will certainly look in to all the points you made. But same time. I have to be very clear about the linen. We do change every linen and towels after the room been occupied. And I can`t...

Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to call with friends for a birthday meal, not a lot of people in the restaurant, The menu was limited to 'A la carte' with nothing that appealed and really expensive (personal choice) The special for a Tuesday was Burger Night but not at that price !!!! Unfortunately we drank our expensive drinks and moved onto The Coach and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the Restaurant.I`m sorry you found the our menu limited. But I can tell you on the 7th of February we have induced new all day and alacarte menu. It is really lovely menu. After Xmas and new year we have been working on new menu. Unfortunately it does take long time to...

Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We first complained the towels were dirty and there was only one set.However this was quickly rectified by housekeeping.The restaurant was really cold and I had to leave my coat on.Staff were really friendly in both the hotel and the pub itself. The pillows were like breeze blocks under your neck.The walls are similar to the set of crossroads and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale P
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I`m very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us on this occasion. All the concerns you have raised. I have spoken to my team.And they are aware, we have to improve some of our standards. My team makes the difference here at honest Lawyer. They are genuinely nice people....

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Had a amazing stay hear would highly recommend it. Room was clean spacious. staff very welcoming and helpful very friendly food was also amazing in the alacart to the full English in the Moring could not fault this place and the live heart in petals on the bed was just tje tops thanks to the staff for that amazing all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chel G
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. It looks you have enjoyed all round when you were staying with us. That is great to hear. I will pass your kind comments to the whole team. They will be delighted to hear them. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too distant...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited in the afternoon.The decor is comfortable and modern and the staff were extremely friendly and our meal of fish and chips arrived quickly and was delicious.The chips were divine!! We will definitely be going again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mhowe2015
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the bar area. Fish and chip one of our best seller.I`m very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your lunch. I will pass your kind comments to the team. They will be delighted to hear them. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too distant future....

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We booked and paid for 2 nights at this dog friendly motor. (It's a motel as you park your vehicle outside the front door!! However due to the Close proximity to one of the major roads going in/out of the city of Durham we only survived one night. We did get moved to a different room but the noise levels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Currymamma
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I have spoken to whole team today.About your concerns while you were staying with us. I assure you I`m trying my up most best to deal with this issues you raised. And your views not being ignored. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not...

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (159)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Suite (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
13.1 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,928 reviews
4.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
7.9 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
7.8 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: $78 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Honest Lawyer Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Honest Lawyer Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room on the front of the hotel and were troubled by the traffic noise from the busy road below.”
 of 5 bubbles Aileen785, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Have only stayed in the Courtyard rooms, but they are good.”
 of 5 bubbles Leebles, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dogs stay in the courtyard rooms for free and you have the added bonus of being able to park outside the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles itsallaboutthedog, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the car park in the main building are not noisy”
 of 5 bubbles PrivatePit, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Difficult to say but get a high numbered room in courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles 747regr, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5