We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Show Prices
#9 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

844 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 838: English reviews
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a amazing stay hear would highly recommend it. Room was clean spacious. staff very welcoming and helpful very friendly food was also amazing in the alacart to the full English in the Moring could not fault this place and the live heart in petals on the bed was just tje tops thanks to the staff for that amazing all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chel G
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I visited in the afternoon.The decor is comfortable and modern and the staff were extremely friendly and our meal of fish and chips arrived quickly and was delicious.The chips were divine!! We will definitely be going again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhowe2015
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked and paid for 2 nights at this dog friendly motor. (It's a motel as you park your vehicle outside the front door!! However due to the Close proximity to one of the major roads going in/out of the city of Durham we only survived one night. We did get moved to a different room but the noise levels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Currymamma
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My friend was staying the night here so we opted to eat in the restaurant. We both had steak and all the side order was delicious. ..chunky chips especially. The problem was I ordered my steak rare and my friend medium rare but it was very dry and extremely fatty... we were picking fatty bits out our mouth....not nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the restaurant. I`m sorry to hear you are little disappointed with your steaks.. I will certainly speak to chef. And I will ask him check his batch. Normally with our steaks, we don`t get any complain. We do use local supplier for the past 10 years. And we always been very happy...

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a celebration for my wife's 70th birthday yesterday evening and there were 30 people in our party. As I live in Essex, I'd made most of the arrangements by telephone and email and I only saw the venue the day before the event. I was pleasantly surprised and I found Unsal and all of his staff very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jim T
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Jim Thank you for your review of the restaurant. Please pass my kind regards to your wife. i`m really pleased to hear, you had a great night. I always say, our team makes the difference here at Honest Lawyer. I will pass your kind comments to the whole team. They will be delighted to hear them. I would like...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked Christmas lunch for family of 9, big mistake. Luke warm soup no bread, when we asked why we were told we should have asked earlier for It! Main came with 2 small dishes of sprouts and carrots to share amongst 9 of us, both just put down at one end of the table by unfriendly staff who then stood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hungry29292
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the Restaurant. Firstly I`m sorry to hear your Xmas lunch wasn't your liking.Please accept my sincere apologies. On Xmas day we served x129 guests.X7 course each. We always do only one sitting Xmas Day.If the soup hasn't arrived with a bread roll. They definitely should. That is our standard. even on a...

Titchfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Popped here for lunch in a small party that included a young child. The staff were exceptionally polite and attentive and also nicely humoured the child. The food and ambience were really lovely too. Just a shame to not have some real ales on hand pumps.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the restaurant and bar .I`m very pleased to hear you had good lunch with us and found my team very polite. Unfortunately we do only drought beers. This is includes Black Sheep and Tetley. Unfortunately with the hand pulled beers we were getting a lot of wastage. Since we changed Black Sheep...

Reviewed 28 November 2016

I had booked via Booking.Com requesting a Family room for 2 daults and 2 children. On arrival, we were given a room with a double and a single bed in it. After a call to reception, less than 5 minutes later a member of staff arrived with a camp bed, and bedding, as well as extra towels. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beckie S
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. Firs of all I`m delighted to hear, you found my team friendly. And also some of your needs after your arrival dealt quickly and effectively .I`m really delighted to hear it. Because, even when I`m not at the hotel our guest still getting good service all round. That is fantastic...

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We recently attended a function there and, as we were a long way from home, stayed overnight. The staff were welcoming and really helpful. Our room was in the main hotel and initially rather cool but soon warmed up once we had adjusted the radiator temperature. The traffic on the busy road outside was a bit of a nuisance but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aileen785
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the Hotel. I`m delighted to hear you had a good stay with us. And sound like you found £99 DBB offer value for money. I will pass your kind comments to the team. They will be delighted to hear them. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the...

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

As a sole female traveller I was a little disconcerted to find my room was outside, motel style, as there was no indication of this on my booking. I was able to park directly outside my room which made it easier but I still very unsure. The room was OK for the price I suppose. Unfortunately the noise of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the Hotel. We have x 6 rooms in the main building. Other x 46 rooms are at courtyard. We have 24 hours security CCTV system and night manager on the night shift. I have been manager here for the past 5 years. And I assure you we never had any problem about...

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (159)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Suite (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
13.1 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,895 reviews
4.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
7.9 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
7.8 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: $74 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Honest Lawyer Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Honest Lawyer Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room on the front of the hotel and were troubled by the traffic noise from the busy road below.”
 of 5 bubbles Aileen785, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Have only stayed in the Courtyard rooms, but they are good.”
 of 5 bubbles Leebles, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dogs stay in the courtyard rooms for free and you have the added bonus of being able to park outside the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles itsallaboutthedog, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the car park in the main building are not noisy”
 of 5 bubbles PrivatePit, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Difficult to say but get a high numbered room in courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles 747regr, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay