We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Victorian Town House

    2 Victoria Terrace, Durham DH1 4RW, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in DurhamSee available hotels in Durham
    Traveller (56)
    Room & Suite (28)
    Dining (8)
    Seaham Hall
    1,494 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Seaham
    17.1 km
     
    Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
    775 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Washington
    12.1 km
     
    Eslington Villa
    368 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Gateshead
    17.5 km
     
    Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
    384 reviews
    #1 of 10 hotels in Sunderland
    18.8 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent96%
    • Very good3%
    • Average1%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “flambard room” (31 reviews)
    “b b” (163 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (404)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 392 reviews

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We stayed for four nights and were looked after superbly by Andy and Jill. A cuppa on arrival (early as agreed) was a welcome surprise. The use of a computer to print return check-in tickets for flights home was very welcome too. The food was...More

    Thank Trooper1941
    Response from TheVictorian, Owner at The Victorian Town HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you very much for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you all and are so glad all aspects of your stay were so positive. We look forward to meeting you again before too long. With all best wishes from...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    We had a disappointing start here. Arriving around 4pm after a long rainy drive we were looking forward to being greeted with the tea and cakes that other reviewers raved about. Sadly, we weren’t offered these – even the hint about finding a place for...More

    Thank BOWUK
    Response from TheVictorian, Owner at The Victorian Town HouseResponded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you for your review. We were disappointed that you weren't totally happy with your stay as guest satisfaction is very important to us. We are somewhat at a loss to account for the lack of tea and cakes on arrival as this is something...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    Luckily I telephoned as full on all sites but room free when called. Excellent room , hosts & breakfast. Can honestly say not one negative comment. We would definitely stay again. Great find just 5 minutes walk to cathedral and city centre.

    Thank J888R
    Response from TheVictorian, Owner at The Victorian Town HouseResponded 3 weeks ago

    Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we were able to find a room for you at the last minute. We look forward to you staying with us again.

    A TripAdvisor Member
    21
    Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

    We spent a Saturday night in the Beaumont Room and had a very comfortable stay. The room is large and well decorated. It's a short walk to everything and parking is easy to find. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and will be back! If...More

    1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
    Response from TheVictorian, Owner at The Victorian Town HouseResponded 7 October 2017

    Thank you for your very positive review - we are pleased you enjoyed your one night stay with us and hope you will return one day - there is lots more to see.

    Reviewed 5 October 2017

    We had a lovely two nights in the Flambard Room at this excellent B&B in Durham, very conveniently located within walking distance to the train station and Durham Cathedral and Durham Castle. The double room was beautifully decorated and appointed with a view to the...More

    Thank themartins117
    Response from TheVictorian, Owner at The Victorian Town HouseResponded 6 October 2017

    Many thank for posting such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we were pleased to help you make your way to the rental car hire offices. We hope that you may choose us again on your next trip! Very best...More

    Seaham Hall
    1,494 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Seaham
    17.1 km
     
    Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
    775 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Washington
    12.1 km
     
    Eslington Villa
    368 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Gateshead
    17.5 km
     
    Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
    384 reviews
    #1 of 10 hotels in Sunderland
    18.8 km
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 80 - USD 126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 3
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Durham >
    • Durham
    • Also Known As
    • The Victorian Town House Hotel Durham
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (56)
    Room & Suite (28)
    Dining (8)
    Hotel & Grounds (18)
    Bathroom (3)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Finbarr’s Restaurant
    909 reviews
    .15 km away
    The Head of Steam Durham
    263 reviews
    .43 km away
    Alishaan
    328 reviews
    .27 km away
    Jumping Bean Cafe
    146 reviews
    .37 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Durham Cathedral
    5,308 reviews
    .84 km away
    Crook Hall & Gardens
    781 reviews
    .76 km away
    Durham Riverside Walk
    401 reviews
    1.02 km away
    Durham Castle
    951 reviews
    .72 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    rachellamelia
    17 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from TheVictorian | Property representative |
    Thank you for your enquiry. We can do a single room for you but ONLY on 26th June 2017. We are totally booked out on the other dates.
    0
    Votes
    rachellamelia
    17 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from fdbenke | Reviewed this property |
    I'm sure they can provide a suitable smaller type room so suggest you enquire. We've only ever travelled as a couple.7
    0
    Votes
    alice_lee_sg
    24 November 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from TheVictorian | Property representative |
    Hi. We couldn't do this is in one room but could do the dates. We would suggest the Flambard Room ( double en suite) at £100 per night inc breakfast and the Langley Room ( twin en suite) at £95 per night inc breakfast. We... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "The Flambard is a double room with a view of the withdrawal. The Langley twin is ground floor - so good for..."
    Read review
    "Flambard room is lovely"
    Read review
    "Very quiet with a comfy bed even though our room was by the front door."
    Read review
    "All superb, but Langley more accessible."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing