We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Hotel
 Click to rate
north west england,
Reviewed 23 February 2017

we booked this hotel as it was dog friendly and our dog comes every where with us . the purpose of our visit to barrow was to visit an elderly auntie who lives here. on arrival we found the staff very very friendly. the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. the room was quiet. what we liked about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tetra80
Nottinghamshire
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Stayed recently for 4 nights , 2 -'3 minutes outside the town centre but parked for free on the side street. Food very good warm and comfortable. Staff friendly and welcoming. Good value for money and nothing was to much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Genette H
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I was booked for 2 nights in the hotel. The staff try their best but they are really working with very limited means. I went to my room, and as it was a business trip, i relied heavily on WiFi, there was no coverage in my room, so I asked to move. In fairness, the staff moved me, and coverage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David186624
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I spent 2 lovely days at The Royal Hotel, the staff went out of their way to make my stay very comfortable, full of ideas of places for me to visit, as I had not been to Barrow before. Food was absolutely top notch, and the bar area was very inviting. My room was nicely decorated, and spacious and serviced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
HotelManager1214, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we greatly appreciate your comments, as we like to use these points as a way to review how we can make improvements always to make your stay with us one that you will remember and also to address any issues you may have. Once again thank you very much...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

My room was fine in this hotel, clean sheets and the bathroom was spotless. Bar staff are really friendly as is the Manager. The food is lovely, good choice for both breakfast and dinner, value for money too. Everyone gets a free drink at the bar at check-in which was more than welcome. All the staff make you feel welcome,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joxxxy
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Staying here as a contractor the rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfasts are excellent with great service. The staff are all brilliant and very helpful. On the whole efficient, friendly and a bit characterful .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jrpcl
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel was just awful. The hotel is in the middle of a scruffy estate with no secure parking. Drunk men in doorway to reception. Room on top floor, wind rattling through the old wooden windows, no extra pillows upon request (one pillow per person), stains on bedsheets. Went down to the bar to escape the room, music on full...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LittlePodge
HotelManager1214, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, as you can see from our reviews we have a lot of return bookings from happy guests. I would be interested to know the dates of your stay and the room number you stayed in, as we have check sheets for every room, signed off by...

Brooadstairs
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The room we stayed in wasn't too bad but neglected, curtains falling down, no bulb in a lamp and no plug next to the kettle. Bathroom not very clean and overall noisy as it is a pub downstairs with dire clientelle. I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
HotelManager1214, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, as you can see from our reviews we have a lot of return bookings from happy guests. I would be interested to know the dates of your stay and the room number you stayed in, as we have check sheets for every room, signed off by...

Reviewed 15 October 2016

stayed here in September with a friend whilst cycling around the area, we were a little put off by the area but once we got inside we were greeted by a very polite gentleman who turned out to be the manager who checked us in and was very helpful when we asked to store our bikes in the hotel. we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Denise T
Stevenage
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for work locally, had a bit of refurb- most of it still going on!! Rooms noisy as bar below , door locks kept failing Cheap n cheerful if you need to get your head down, expect to be up till bar closes then woken up by noise from street!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cfin71
HotelManager1214, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, as you can see from our reviews we have a lot of return bookings from happy guests, and we are a very busy hotel which is full 90% of the time. The duke box in the bar has a volume control system on it which cannot...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
1.5 km away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
311 reviews
1.7 km away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
480 reviews
1.5 km away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
383 reviews
22.9 km away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
210 reviews
4.6 km away
Clarke's Hotel & Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
The Royal Hotel
Cuisines: Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Hotel has recently undergone a huge refurbishment and has just reopened in April 2013 - and feedback has been incredible! See the photos showing the gorgeous bar area, and the beautifully refurbished bedrooms and new bathrooms in place. We have a excellent chef on site creating some fantastic evening meals and a Sunday lunch service. We offer free wifi and for long term stays a free laundry service too. We have a function room available to hire for your events and can cater for buffets and other food requirements for your event. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 12-14 Anchor Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 2QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: $80 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find a different hotel”
  • Curtains falling down
Q5694JUpams, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
Frankhams, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the bar with the noisy jukebox. It goes off at 11pm tho.”
Y2446YZstevens, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel !!”
petermK8286VV, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All roomes are good as far as I am concerned, no complaints :-)”
daigarrett, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5