We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA13 0PA England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Site
USD 155
View deal
Booking.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (878)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (291)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 14 in Barrow-in-Furness
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Abbey House Hotel & Gardens has recently undergone a multi million refurbishment. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Facial treatments
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Salon
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Modern
1236Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 879
  • 199
  • 91
  • 38
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ann O wrote a review 12 May
Lancaster, United Kingdom180 contributions70 helpful votes
Went to Abbey house to treat 2 special people to afternoon tea. The afternoon tea was lovely but the service was lacking. I said we wanted champagne to drink 'oh which one?' answer dont know until I see the wine list. The champagne arrived and was duly opened and poured, after that we had to help ourselves, thats not good service. The food was good but nobody came near our table until we had finished. Time to pay, I approached the bar and the waiter announced very loudly how much the bill was and made a point that I would have to enter my pin as it was over £100. I was trying my best not to let my guests know how much I had spent, it spoiled the afternoon. Please try to be tactful, he could see I was the only person with a card in their hand.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Service
Helpful
Share
Chrissie2218 wrote a review 5 May
Lowestoft, United Kingdom14 contributions20 helpful votes
This is a beautiful hotel with gorgeous grounds that you are free to walk in and is close to the old Furness Abbey. Amazingly comfortable beds. Great breakfast and evening meal Very friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help to make the stay pleasurable. Would definitely recommend staying
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Loz wrote a review 4 May
United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed weekend for a wedding. Rooms were lovely, clean and spacious. Beautiful building and surroundings. Wedding function and food (fish / chips) provided was fantastic. The staff are friendly, particularly a young man behind the bar who was knowledable and nothing was too much trouble. A 5 star experience , highly recommended !!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Lewis L wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Came here for my honeymoon with my wife on 17th of April for 4 nights. We live 3 hours drive away, but after seeing the pictures and doing a bit of research I decided it was a must we stay here. I definitely wasn’t let down by my decision. I just wish we lived closer as it would have been amazing to have got married here. When we got there we was greeted by very friendly happy faces and checking in was very easy. Congratulated us on our marriage the day before and upgraded our room free of charge. Well what can I say about the room apart from wow. Got the princess suit. We have stayed in many a hotel over the years, both in England and abroad. But this was by far the greatest room we have ever stayed. The room was gigantic. The bed was humongous. Could fit 4 of us in it if we tried. The bath was amazing and the bathroom very spacious. The decor and lay out was of a high class. Couldn’t ask for a better room for such a special occasion. What can I say about the building and it’s gardens. So beautiful. Even the hall ways are well decorated and little sofas and chairs randomly scattered all over is a nice little touch. Makes a standard hall way have a little character. I recommend taking the stairs on the odd occasion instead of the elevator. Very well designed and beautiful architecture all around. The gardens are massive for a nice little casual stroll. Very scenic and great photo opportunities all over. The car park is very spacious and easy to use. Such a beautiful building in general. The breakfast and food was exceptional. The breakfast menu has so many different options for the hot cooked section. Full english to eggs Benedict and everything in between. Freshly cooked for you every day as well. Really top standard quality ingredients and very well cooked. Little pots of many varieties of jam is a nice little touch. The lunch and dinners are of such a high quality and very reasonably priced too. The menus are a little fancy, but don’t let that take anything away from the food as it is exquisite. Highly recommend trying the grub. Especially the lamb. It’s to die for. Overall an amazing stay. Would highly recommend to anyone as you won’t regret it. Worth every penny. We will definitely be back, especially for our anniversary as it’s brought such a happy memory to us both. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon. Thanks for an amazing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Abbey House Hotel , General Manager at Abbey House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay with us, I'm overjoyed to read your review and have passed on you comments to the management in the 10 o clock meeting as well to pass onto the staff, looks like our employee of the month will be a difficult one this month due to the staff preforming beyond out high service standards already. Yes the hotel is a lovely venue for wedding and even better when the sun is out as then the vast grounds and the Abbey ruins can be explored. I do too hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Michael Britz Operations Manager
Read more
Vanessa E wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything was perfect. The food was beautifully presented, and very tasty. The staff all do a wonderful job and the restaurant supervisor ( sorry I didn't get his name but he has a french accent...) Was a fantastic host and made the whole experience one to highly recommend. Ps try the rhubarb crumble with mascarpone cream❤️❤️ it's devine!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Abbey House Hotel , General Manager at Abbey House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay, I glad you enjoyed your food with us as we have a new Head Chef Craig in the kitchen which i have passed your comments onto with great joy. The french restaurant chap would have been Philippe our restaurant manager that does strive to give the guest the best experience that he can during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes Michael Britz Operations Manager
Read more
Sharon OS wrote a review Apr 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom6 contributions
We had our wedding at Abbey House and what a day it was. Lauren and Laura were absolutely amazing wedding coordinators, and they looked after us all so well. Our guests were blown away at the beauty of Abbey House and also the food and hospitality of the staff! We all had an amazing weekend, and my husband and I have memories forever. Thank you for being the best and for making our day SO special!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Abbey House Hotel , General Manager at Abbey House Hotel
Responded 5 Apr 2022
I'm delighted to read about you r wedding that you had with us and that we management make forever memories for you of your big day, your comments will be passed onto the staff as they would be delighted as well. Lauren & Laura are super stars i agree and we are blessed to have them working for Abbey house. I do hope you will not be strangers and loo forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon. Kind regards Michael
Read more
Diane wrote a review Mar 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked Abbey House for 24th and 25th March. We had a fantastic time! Beautiful hotel, friendly and helpful staff, we'll definitely be back. Also treated ourselves to massages with Maddie, again top class. Thank you 😊
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Abbey House Hotel , General Manager at Abbey House Hotel
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, i'm glad to read that you enjoyed your 50th with us and hope to see you for your 100th :) i will pass on your comments onto the staff in the next daily briefing. look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
Sophie L wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I would just like to thank all of the staff for making my mums wedding on the 20th March so amazing. The wedding team (Laura, Lauren, Rebecca and Cameron) were absolutely incredible. They made sure everything was just perfect for my mums special day. Also the bar staff and waiting staff were amazing. Special thanks to Paul as well as the wedding team for making sure my fussy eater brother enjoyed his meal and that everyone had an amazing day. I could not recommend this venue more for a wedding. We also stayed the night and the room was incredible along with breakfast. Amazing place. Thank you once again for everything you did for us all. :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Abbey House Hotel , General Manager at Abbey House Hotel
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, i have passed your comments onto the wedding team which they do appreciate as you can imagine there hard work that goes on before and on your special day. I'm glad to read that you would recommend Abbey house as well this does mean a lot to us as a bushiness,
Read more
Rebecca Q wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
If I could have gave this review 0 stars I would have! I booked afternoon tea as a treat for my mum's 60th birthday, I told the gentleman on the phone that it was a 60th birthday treat and could the staff do something special for my mum and just add it to the bill "no problem " was the response. I also explained that my mum had a nut allergy and he added that to the notes on our booking (I booked at least 2 weeks in advance) When we arrived the staff were not expecting us and was informed that I hadn't booked in for afternoon tea, the waitress went off and arranged it with the kitchen. Eventually we got a drink (15 minutes after our arrival) and about 20 minutes later the food arrived - what a disappointment the sandwiches were drowned in either horseradish, pickle or piccalilli which disguised the taste of the meat and made them inedible as there was so much of it. The scones burnt your throat as there was too much baking powder in them and they served coffee and walnut cake to a customer who had a nut allergy!!!!! To top it off there was nothing special added to our meal to signify it was a special occasion. I didn't complain when I was there as I didn't want to ruin my mums day anymore so when I arrived home I wrote a letter to the management explaining my disappointment, funnily enough I got no response! I wonder why. It's the first and last time I've ever been to The Abbey House, it completely ruined my mums birthday! We'd have been better off going to a local cafe or supermarket, we would have received better food and better service. It was a complete waste of our time and money and made my mums special day memorable for all the wrong reasons. NEVER AGAIN.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Abbey House Hotel , General Manager at Abbey House Hotel
Responded 1 Apr 2022
Good Morning, I'm truly sorry to read this review from yourself, please could i ask if you could be email me on michael.britz@abbeyhousehotel.com with your contact details so I could discuss the review with you, as we had not received a letter prior to this review with regards your experience. Thank you Michael
Read more
Wxx wrote a review Mar 2022
Preston, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Really disappointing stay Room was nice, good size, but I have a feather allergy, asked for no feathers in duvets but on arrival we had a feather duvet. This was changed quickly but still left me feeling quite under the weather. We attended a function that evening, drinks are very expensive and empty glasses littered the table all night. Our room was the Autumn suite next to the winter suite, the other suite was clearly a wedding party who had people arriving from 7am so we got a nice early wake up call. Breakfast buffet was disappointing and the breakfast from the menu arrived luke warm
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Abbey House Hotel , General Manager at Abbey House Hotel
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I'm sorry to read about your feather allergy and that the duvet was not changed before your arrival but glad to read that this was quickly rectified for you, With regards the pricing as i'm sire you can imagine we as a business can only absorb a small portion from our suppliers when it comes to the drinks that we have too offer but i can assure you that we are in line with the current area prices, I have also reinforced with the restaurant and event staff about clearing glassware during a function. we do try our best too keep the noise down for our guests but sometimes this is out of our control and with regards the breakfast that you found luke warm i can only apologize and am sure that if this was made aware on the morning the breakfast would have been remade to your correct temperature. in saying all the above i do hope that this has not put you off Abbey house and hope to see you in the near future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 140 - USD 186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
abbey house hotel barrow-in-furness, abbey hotel barrow in furness
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictBarrow-in-Furness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Abbey House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Abbey House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Dock Museum (3.9 km), Furness Abbey (0.4 km), and Barrow Park (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Abbey House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Abbey House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Abbey House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Abbey House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweet Pepper Cafe, The Owl & The Pussycat, and Thai at Review.
Are any cleaning services offered at Abbey House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Abbey House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Abbey House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Furness Abbey (0.4 km), St Mary’s Church (2.1 km), and Dalton Castle (2.1 km).
Does Abbey House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Abbey House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.