We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

527 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Burn How Garden House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 522: English reviews
Wolverhampton
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Somewhat faded glory as this hotel has seen better days and sadly lives in the past. The very pleasant elderly owners are obviously very keen to please everyone and generally do a good job. Our room was upstairs in a separate block, fairly near to reception. This meant a short walk to breakfast in the rain. However, being upstairs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steveporter2302
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and your suggestions. The majority of our guests enjoy the breakfast buffet and like the idea of the hot breakfast cooked to order and served to them, and we are always happy to offer more if at the guests request as this helps to keep food waste down. Yes we are a traditional hotel and...

Reviewed 24 September 2014

Stayed 3 nights last week. Staff incredibly helpful and accommodating. Food all excellent, but breakfast buffet outstanding. All expected facilities, although rooms a little dated. Even a bike shed for our bikes. Will definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Currymix
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We do hope we can welcome you back to the Burn How, thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We had a voucher that would give us £25 off our next stay but had to phone to book and not use booking.com. However when phoned price was £30 more over the phone!!!! Told the woman who was very rude and had no flexibility, said she would phone back.. I asked would she then take the extra £25 off she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We were horrified to read your review on Tripadvisor- we cannot trace the person to whom you spoke, but we are still investigating! I assure you that our normal customer service is totally different to that which you experienced on the telephone. PLEASE contact us so that we can offer you a free stay to come back to enjoy the...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Saturday September 13th. Got put in a room in the Victorian building behind main reception. Room was so so small and dated. Every floorboard squeaked in both our room and the guests above us room so I was woken up throughout the night and then again first thing in the morning at 6am. I had taken my partner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah J
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We were saddened to read your review that you had not enjoyed your stay with us. We are a traditional country house hotel and not a boutique hotel and certainly not an old peoples home. This comment would probably offended our guest both old and young who visit us on a regular basis

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in Sept 2014 and would recommend this charming hotel, especially for the excellent breakfasts, tranquil setting and short walk to the equally charming Bowness waterfront, shops and numerous restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burg34
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay, and letting us know that you have enjoyed your time with us

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2014

Just returned from the Burn How it was a lovely stay, spotlessly clean staff very pleasant very helpful. The hotel is in a pleasant location 5 minutes walk from ferrys and buses. The breakfast was lovely plenty to eat. It was our first visit to the Lakes and we thoroughly enjoyed our break. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonya w
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We hope we will be able to welcome you back. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay

Holualoa, Hawaii
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We were in Bowness for three nights in June 2014. The hotel is within walking distance of the pier area and downtown Bowness. There is a bus stop approximately 300 yards from the hotel going into town. There is also a very nice park / golf course across the road from the hotel. Wi Fi is useless in the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stodgytj
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay and the surrounding area, And your recommendation

Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We stopped here to turn up as a surprise for my brothers 40th, really enjoyed the place,room was lovely and spacious and clean couldn't fault it,the brekky next morning was excellent and the hosts couldn't do enough for us,extra toast and coffe re-fills etc,would deffo recommend and I will be returning as soon as I get the chance.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Col H
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We hope that you will get the chance to return and stay again soon, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay

London
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Thank you for making our short stay in Bowness-on-Windermere a comfortable one. We had a group booking, one couple and other couples with children. The accommodation was spacious and better than we expected. And the breakfast was wide-ranging, plentiful and delicious. I would definitely book at the The Burn How Garden House again and would recommend to anyone wanting a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TripAdviser_7
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We hope that you will all be able to come back and visit us again, I have passed on your thanks to the staff and would like to thank you for your recommendation

London
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Apart from the rooms being a little dated and wifi not reaching the rooms, we had a brilliant stay. Great location and super family warm welcome through our stay. Breakfast we superb with and array if options and also gluten free options for my daughter. Otherwise. Rooms were of a good size. Bright airy and very clean. Would not hesitate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NorthwoodNavra
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we were sorry to read that you seemed to have a problem with the wi-fi, as we only have 2 rooms that the wi-fi does not reach

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,700 reviews
2.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,418 reviews
0.1 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,280 reviews
2.7 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $166 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Burn How Garden House Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Burn How Garden House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The only minus, no view of lake lake​ Windermere but you're a few minutes walk from the the view.”
 of 5 bubbles 184sallyk, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room called BAY”
 of 5 bubbles 390gl, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we were in 18 which had the most comfortable recliner chairs”
 of 5 bubbles keithmG8644HF, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book early for dinner!”
 of 5 bubbles astrospike, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The old house is romantic; the cottages are better for families”
 of 5 bubbles Dukesnyder, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay