We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Save
Traveller (679)
Room & Suite (336)
Dining (94)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good29%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“old england”(424 reviews)
“feature room”(74 reviews)
“valet service”(42 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (3,120)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
3,088 results
Traveller rating
1,273
893
505
248
169
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,273
893
505
248
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold englandfeature roomvalet serviceexecutive roomterrace barice roomrelaxation roomlake viewlovely hotelcar parkcooked breakfaston arrivalsauna and steam roomafternoon teablack puddingevening mealshort break
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
691 - 695 of 3,088 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2016

great location on the shore of lake windermere with gardens and lawn providing great setting for drinks using the outdoor facilities. separate patio area with more tables and parasols to offer shade from the sun. staff very helpful and efficient, room service quick and friendly...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidcZ5772OH
Response from Marco F, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & SpaResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us referring your recent stay at the hotel. We are elighted to se that you enjoyed the experience.

Reviewed 22 July 2016

We stayed a week in the Lake District and travelled to Bowness via steam train and Windermere cruise, both brilliant. Travelled with a 91 year old who needs a walking aid. Bowness is so so busy and is totally unsuitable for any age group trying...More

Thank James S
Response from Marco F, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & SpaResponded 23 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent lunch experience with us. Althjough I am happy to see that you appreciated the staff service itself I am concrened to read about your comments referring to the sandwich as wel drinks prices. I have...More

Reviewed 22 July 2016

Best part of hotel was it's location, room was in need of refurbishment, very noisy over front of hotel meals and drinks overpriced, asked to be moved even offered to pay for an upgrade for a quieter family room, would not recommend nor return to...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank A7020OFjeffc
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Very happy with stay. Good was great and service matched this. Beautiful scenery of the lake. One criticism was that I had to pay a £10 fee for parking after already spending 100s of pounds in the hotel.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jackfE1772QQ
Response from Marco F, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & SpaResponded 23 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent experience with us. It is with pleasure to read that you rate our standards and services accordingly. As we operate a valet service for our guest cars we do charge a minimal fee for this,...More

Reviewed 20 July 2016

lovely view of the lake. room spacious & quiet. Staff all extremely friendly & helpful. the spa was very nice, & the pool was perfect for swimming being quite long. The location was ideal for the shops restaurants & bars.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Graham T
Response from Marco F, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & SpaResponded 23 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent experience with us. It is with pleasure to read that you rate our standards and services accordingly.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Bowness-on-Windermere
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Pool
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Bar/Lounge
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 193 - USD 427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
USD 193 - USD 427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (679)
Room & Suite (336)
Dining (94)
Pool & Beach (33)
Amenities (42)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
poemanchester
30 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from dmtbManchester | Reviewed this property |
Take the turning from bowness towards Ambleside and there is a car park opposite the Beartrix potter museum for £15 for 3 days. It’s only a 10 Minuets walk from the hotel. Much better value than the rip off they charge.
0
Votes
poemanchester
21 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Lyn132 | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can.
0
Votes
Dean H
10 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Fay S | Reviewed this property |
There is a car park up the hill, approximately 5 mins walk from the hotel. It was full when we were there recently but I think you can reserve places on line, I believe it is about £15:00 for 3 days.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Room 122 has a fantastic view"
Read review
"A lake view room is a must"
Read review
"Choose a back room with a lake view."
Read review
"Room with a Lake View."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing