We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Official Site
Orbitz.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1146)
360
Panoramas (6)
Dining (172)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#10 of 13 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Czech and 3 more
3,663Reviews54Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,465
  • 1,045
  • 597
  • 315
  • 241
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jacqui henderson wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
OMG what an amazing place to stay, and can I just say that I always have very high expectations. The staff were absolutely amazing, they all went the extra mile. Food was amazing and i am a vegetarian so loved the fact that there was plenty of choice. Room was large and very clean with amazing views. We used the pool which was fab and so too were the treatments, husband and I both had a back massage. I can honestly say we really enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. Oh forgot to say breakfast was delicious too. Thanks very much to all the wonderful staff that helped to make my Birthday extra special xx
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room overlooking the Lake
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Dear Doran19671 Thank you so much for your 5 out of 5 review which is awesome!! Happy Birthday again and it was a real pleasure to have you both here and lovely to read you enjoyed the birthday treat to the lakes!! Great to see you enjoyed the food plus the vegetarian options but above all the team are always pleased to read you through all were 'absolutely amazing'. Lovely to see you also enjoyed the Elemis spa treatments. Have a wonderful new year, keep safe and we hope to see you in 2021! Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Katie D wrote a review Dec 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
On the day that would have been mine and my partners Wedding day (cancelled due to Covid) we decided to stop over at the hotel for the night so we weren’t sat twiddling our thumbs on the sofa. We decided to purchase our stay through Secret escapes and paid £179 for a stay with a three course meal and breakfast. I am now very pleased we did not pay any more than this as we left after our stay feeling underwhelmed. I asked the hotel twice before arriving for information regarding any extras they could provide in the room (I would obviously have paid for these) to make our stay special, however, on both occasions I was not provided with this information. We did not expect anything special from the hotel however nothing was even mentioned at all during our stay. The room itself was ok, clean and had nice views, however, we were priced for a second night stay in the room at over £500!!!! Needless to say I laughed down the phone and politely declined. The meal on the evening was very up and down in quality. The starters were both cold, the mains were fantastic and the desserts were ok but definitely not worth the cost price and not worth the £15 extra we paid for the ‘chefs specials’. We also paid £9 for a glass of room temperature white wine prior to the meal and £36 for a bottle of Pinot Grigio at the meal which I would have only been happy to have paid £5 for at Tesco... Also, £4 for a very small cup of filter coffee following our meal seemed quite steep! The breakfast was very underwhelming unfortunately- the black pudding was dry, the sausages tasted very cheap and the bacon was barely cooked. The additional costs for the one night in extras came in total to £92 which just could not justify given what we had purchased. £15 for parking on top of the stay also seemed very unreasonable... Overall, we left very disappointed and would not consider returning. The hotel obviously charges over the odds for the location but the standard of the hotel does not match the price tag by any means.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 22 Dec 2020
Dear katiedJ51755W Thank you for your personal review. I hope you did however, remember to enjoy all the other facilities of the hotel along with all the team who as mentioned many a time are very friendly and keen to always assist guests were possible. I also hope you took time to enjoy the location and surrounding area of Lake Windermere and all it has to offer along with a relaxing cruise down to Ambleside. I appreciate your points and all pricing at the hotel is always compared to other hotels in the region to make sure we are not overpriced as you suggested. There are alternative parking options available and we are always pleased to offer this information to our guests. With regard to your evening dinner, thank you for mentioning you enjoyed your main course and dessert and with the thousands of meals we have offered recently we will continue to check the quality of our service and even more so over the coming days with some festive cheer. Thank you for your points regarding breakfast which I will follow up but I can confirm the meat element of breakfast comes from a local butcher and the quality is very good as is the Scottish black pudding. I receive many reviews from many different channels including verbal with a very high proportion which are positive and I was very surprised to note elements of yours but thank you and we will continue to strive to offer the best of service to all our guests through these strange times. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Jamie M wrote a review Dec 2020
Aintree, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
Recently stayed here on part of a long weekend in the Lakes and really enjoyed our stay at the Old England. Friendly staff, private parking, brilliant and clean room and great adherence to COVID-19. Fantastic breakfast with a view of Lake Windermere. Slightly disappointed that we couldn’t use the spa facilities as fully booked, and wished we had been advised to book ahead, so I recommend doing so if an afternoon swim is your thing. Otherwise, highly recommend and a fantastic hotel to visit. Thanks all, look forward to revisiting.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 21 Dec 2020
Dear Molloyed Many thanks for your wonderful 5 out of 5 review and it was a real pleasure to have you stay. Great to read you enjoyed your experience overall and you felt the COVID guidelines in place were suitable for you along with our friendly team and the fantastic view of Lake Windermere. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Travel Man wrote a review Dec 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom2 contributions5 helpful votes
Booked a classic double room paid c£200 incl breakfast. Room was small, aged and very tired, room situated in the old part of the Hotel. Room was not as shown on pictures on Hotels.com. Room overlooked a back street pub and directly situated over back kitchen/porter area and the industrial fat and food smell/fume extractor fans. Fans on till late and naturally back on again in AM. The aged sash window rattled all night in breeze and was damaged, kitchen food and oil smells from vents in room if window opened. Toilet door didn't close, no lock on toilet door and broke, 2 people could not fit in the very small bathroom and it was hard to get into the bath with shower over due to the small size. We checked in late, we dropped bags then went straight out, we reported our concerns in early AM following initial experiences. Duty Manger advised the room is also used by staff on occasion and that our concerns should have been raised the evening before which just wasnt feasible. My personal view is that Room 117 does not reflect the c£200 commanded, I've stayed in better old B and Bs for less than a fifth of the price. Next time I'll try another hotel or upgrade to the new section.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 21 Dec 2020
Dear TDFC Thank you for your personal review. I hope you both managed to enjoy all the lake district has to offer and enjoyed perhaps a cruise down Lake Windermere and some local retail therapy. I was sorry to learn you would have preferred a different room and I was pleased to note my team did mention that given the opportunity on arrival we would have been more than happy to accommodate this request. This would have only taken a few moments to arrange. In over my two years at the hotel this is a first for this room to have been mentioned but I thank you for your comments. The room is not tired or aged but has a modern traditional feel as it was recently re-decorated around 3 years ago with a large 42" TV as part of this upgrade on the wall. When guests stay at the hotel you are not only paying for a room but also for the experience of the location on the shores of Lake Windermere, our service in the hotel along with the spa facility. I know this room very well and can confirm the room has high ceilings with a large window. The bathroom door does have a lock on it as I double checked. The room is not directly over an area as you mentioned and this room is a standard room which does not face Lake Windermere but others are available of different room types. We will review the website as you suggested as we do want to make sure our detail on any website is correct and thank you for informing us of this point. I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience and that you for your comments. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Travelling couple wrote a review Dec 2020
30 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a lovely and all the staff went above and beyond during our stay until check out... it was let down by the manager on the front desk when we asked to keep our room an extra 30 mins with having our baby with us. The other guy on reception was great and was trying to resolve our query until he jumped in and undermined him and said there would be an automatic charge of £50. We only wanted to keep it so we didn’t have to cart everything down to the changing facilities with us as children were only allowed in the pool at a certain time. Everyone else was amazing and we loved our stay just wasn’t the best customer experience received by him. Clever and cocky and didn’t care was the impression! We will be back hopefully just not to have him on the desk. Lovely place
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 19 Dec 2020
Dear FellowTraveler150038 Thank you so much for your amazing 5 out of 5 review!! It was a real pleasure to have you here and great to note overall you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 176 - USD 413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel macdonald old england
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictBowness-on-Windermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
106
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Lake Windermere (0.3 km), Royalty Cinema (0.4 km), and The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dr Brews Coffee, Graze, and Folk.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere.
Are any cleaning services offered at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Polish, Czech, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Townend (5.4 km), Blackwell, The Arts & Crafts House (2.3 km), and Bridge House (7.8 km).