We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Newbegin House

    10 Newbegin, Beverley HU17 8EG, England
    Lowest prices for your stay
    24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in BeverleySee available hotels in Beverley
    Traveller (35)
    Room & Suite (19)
    Dining (5)
    • Excellent90%
    • Very good8%
    • Average1%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “drawing room” (33 reviews)
    “appleton room” (20 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Room Service
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (306)
    There are newer reviews for Newbegin House
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    71 - 75 of 306 reviews

    Reviewed 29 August 2016

    I am reluctant to give this bed and breakfast the excellent review it deserves in fear of not being able to get in next time we wish to visit Beverley ! What an absolute gem of a place ... so full of character and charm...More

    2  Thank Mumoftwo1974_13
    Response from Walter S, Owner at Newbegin HouseResponded 31 August 2016

    Thank you so much for your eulogistic comments, which are very gratifying. We love running Newbegin House and welcoming people like you to our home. We were thrilled to note that, after repeated visits, you are already looking ahead with a view to coming to...More

    Reviewed 16 August 2016

    My husband and I went to Newbegin House for our wedding anniversary, what a great choice we made, the welcome we received was so different to anywhere else we have been (and we go away a lot), Our room had everything you could possibly need,...More

    1  Thank stokereileen
    Response from Walter S, Owner at Newbegin HouseResponded 31 August 2016

    Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the trouble to write about "the best sleep for many years". We are thrilled to be able to provide at least a temporary cure for insomniacs. The secret lies in providing mattresses with a...More

    Reviewed 9 August 2016

    Having spent years looking for somewhere 'original' in Beverley, Newbegin came up on Tripadvisor as #1 B&B - and well deserved it is. Walter is a delightful character and host, full of wit and wisdom and although a professional man he is also an excellent...More

    Thank HanoverCheltenham
    Response from Walter S, Owner at Newbegin HouseResponded 31 August 2016

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review. "Old fashioned perfection" really sums up our values, and we are delighted that, on this occasion at least, we measured up. We very much look forward to welcoming you to Newbegin again. Regards, Walter and Nuala

    Reviewed 18 July 2016

    Had expectations of high-class accommodation from reading other reviews.Somewhat disappointed to find a property in rather less than top-notch condition, though our room was comfortable enough, whilst somewhat overdressed. Comfortable bed, acceptable bathroom, though no shower. Good central location, it must be said, and good...More

    6  Thank christine s
    Response from Walter S, Owner at Newbegin HouseResponded 19 July 2016

    Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed in the condition of Newbegin House. I estimate we have spent around £500,000 on renovations and improvements. It will never be like new, as it is a 270 years old listed Georgian house. We...More

    Reviewed 13 July 2016

    On arrival we were warmly welcomed and helped by Kayleigh. Walter and Nuala are charming hosts who ensure your stay is as comfortable as is possible. The very large drawing room was spacious and comfortable with some delightful finishing touches (sherry decanter, biscuits, chocolate sweets...More

    Thank chuff2
    Response from Walter S, Owner at Newbegin HouseResponded 14 July 2016

    Many thanks for your kind and appreciative review. It was a pleasure to have you staying at Newbegin House. Regards, Walter and Nuala

    Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
    1,598 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
    13.2 km
    Kingston Theatre Hotel
    651 reviews
    #2 of 20 hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
    12.3 km
    Premier Inn Hull West Hotel
    588 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Hessle
    13.6 km
    Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
    473 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Beverley
    1 km
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Price range
    • USD 67 - USD 187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 3
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Yorkshire >
    • East Riding of Yorkshire >
    • Beverley
    • Also Known As
    • Newbegin House Hotel Beverley ,
    • Newbegin House Beverley, Yorkshire
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (35)
    Room & Suite (19)
    Dining (5)
    Hotel & Grounds (25)
    Bathroom (2)
    Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels in Beverley
    Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
    473 reviews
    .99 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Cafe Velo
    459 reviews
    .14 km away
    T C Patisserie
    312 reviews
    .07 km away
    234 reviews
    .15 km away
    Lucia Wine Bar & Grill
    1,579 reviews
    .08 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Beverley Minster
    971 reviews
    .68 km away
    Beverley Westwood
    252 reviews
    .85 km away
    St. Mary's Church Beverley
    215 reviews
    .17 km away
    East Riding Treasure House
    101 reviews
    .38 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    john w
    3 July 2015|
    Response from Walter S | Property representative |
    No, sorry, we do not take dogs in the bedrooms in the interests of other visitors. If a small dog has its own cage and does not yap if left alone, it can sleep in the utility room at no charge. Regards, Walter Sweeney
    marion r
    11 February 2015|
    Response from Walter S | Property representative |
    Dear Marion, Thank you for your enquiry. Our reduced rate for a double en suite room for two days is £130. Babies are welcome at no extra charges if they have their own cot. Unfortunately we are already fully booked on 21st... More
    Room Tips
    "One room only has a bath so if you want a shower ask for it."
    Read review
    "Fabulous Drawing room, history and modern facilities in one room"
    Read review
    "All three rooms are excellent"
    Read review
    "All the rooms are beautiful and well furnished"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing