We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red House Farm Cottages

Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (7)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
6 Self catering cottages, set within 12 acres of countryside. Ideally suited for those who enjoy the tranquility of the countryside. The market town of Beverley is only 6 miles away.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Quaint
34Reviews
24Photos
0Q+A
1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed at Red House over the Christmas period, 5 nights. Myself and my husband. It was superb apart from our neighbours (will mention this more later). The cottage was just perfect so beautiful, the perfect location. Just what we wanted. Quiet and tranquil and not far to
Read more
Response from Charlotte G, Owner at Red House Farm Cottages
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your honest review. And our apologies once again for the neighbours Look forward to seeing you again. Best regards Charlotte.
Read more
The owner and manager of the property were the rudest, most unwelcoming people we have ever met. They berated us from the moment we got there as we didn't contact them about us bringing our dogs - something that was not clearly articulated when checking out on booking.com (I had
Read more
Response from Charlotte G, Owner at Red House Farm Cottages
Responded 10 Jan. 2019
It's really disappointing to read your review. The only person you met from red House Farm was our gardener, you didn't meet the owners, so it's hard to understand how you can say they are rude. When booking through booking.com it does say to contact the property if you wanted to bring a dog. Which you hadn't done and unfortunately your booking was for 2 adults only. I placed you in a pet free cottage. You arrived when I wasn't in so we only new you had dogs later on. When I got back I came to your cottage To say hello etc but you were out. So left you an email mentioning the dogs. Which you said was fine and would pay the fee for the dogs. One of the days There was lots of barking so I went to have a look to see if everything was ok... you were out on this occasion. Your very large dog I could see at the top of the stairs and the other sitting on the sofa, both barking constantly. Once I'd realised you weren't in I called a couple of times but had no answer. You did eventually ring back and told me the dogs wouldn't be doing anything wrong, which is very odd as with the constant barking they were clearly very distressed. As for the 'strict rules' you mentioned the dog rules in place are standard throughout holiday cottages in the UK. To leave your dogs unattended in a new place is very worrying. Your dogs were highly distressed. To respect other guests for future visits we ask dogs not to go on furniture or upstairs. On another occasion I'd received a call from a guest telling me there was lots of barking throughout the night and morning. I again went to see and found yours dogs unattended. Again I called you but didn't get a response, and eventually your partner returned and took the dogs. Your dogs spent a lot more time in our cottages than you did, it's like you treated our cottages like a kennel. Your booking was for 5 nights and you payed a lot under a thousand pounds, I'm not really sure why you lied about your booking. In the end you chose to leave one night early, without paying the dog fees. Regards RHFC
Read more
Having had my booking at another premises cancelled at late notice I was stuck so instead of the usual hotel I plumped for a change and went self catering for two nights here. Very surprised with quality of premises as had all the mod cons that anyone could ask for. Apart from
Read more
I don’t normally write reviews but for this place I decided to. Red house farm cottages was a fantastic holiday and break for my family. We had a superb time. The location is fantastic and the whole setting was amazing. The cottage was beautifully clean and very well
Read more
This holiday let is under new ownership. We stayed here twice while getting out house done up for 3 and 3.5 weeks. Me my wife dog and 2 year old daughter. We went on holiday and planned to stay again for a week. 4 days before arriving, a week after checkout, booking was
Read more
Response from Charlotte G, Owner at Red House Farm Cottages
Responded 12 Jul. 2018
I am terribly sorry we had to cancel your booking, but you new dogs were not supposed to go upstairs and you chose to ignore that. The carpets were in that bad of a state they had to be professionally cleaned which is highly expensive, and timely which meant the cottage had to be closed. As a rule at Red House Farm Cottages we don't let dogs upstairs, this is because the carpets are nude and every mark would show up. But the main reason being because not all our guests bring dogs and for hygiene and cleanliness we ask for dogs to stay down stairs which is oak flooring and can be sanitised fully. Where as carpets cannot unless they are professionally cleaned. Many guests have young children/babies and they wouldn't want there children crawling where a dog had been sleeping as it wouldn't be hygienic. You had stayed here twice before so you fully understood that dogs weren't supposed to go upstairs, we had even spoke about it. The only time you had mentioned the wifi was via email for which the problem was addressed promptly and was left working. Red House is a self catering cottage, bedding and towels are provided on arrival, and there is a washing machine in every cottage.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
Living room/ kitchen
the View
bathroom
Photo provided by managementRed House Farm Cottages
Bathroom
Photo provided by managementRed House Farm Cottages
Lounge area
PreviousNext
12
"I would imagine the cottages are designed to the same spec but we stayed in The Willows."
PRICE RANGE
USD 162 - USD 229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireBeverley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing