We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Durrant House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Durrant House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

677 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 664: English reviews
Start your review of Durrant House
 Click to rate
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit annually as part of a very large group. Although we had a small room this time the view was magnificent over the river. Previously we have had rooms of good size (and on one occasion, a four poster bed!) Some rooms are decorated beautifully but others look a little tired. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff are very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrissieb94
DHhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, at the hotel we strive to provide a high quality of food and service and am so pleased that you have had many enjoyable stays with us at The Durrant House Hotel. It’s lovely to hear that you will be returning again next year, we look forward...

Appledore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked and were required to pay in advance to stay here for one night in December 2016. We were travelling to the area to visit my Partners terminally ill Uncle. On the morning of our intended trip, we received a call to advise that we were too late, as my Partners Uncle had passed away. We decided to cancel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry B
DHhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your thoughts, your comments are very valuable as they help us improve our quality and services. We provide a range of rates including those that allow for cancellation and amendment as well as non-refundable rates to enable guests to make the best choice for their circumstance. I understand on hearing...

PORTLAND
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great weekend. Can't fault the staff who are so hard working and attentive. Nothing is too much trouble if asked for assistance. The food has been outstanding. It's a great shame that the rooms need some TLC! But will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank modan45
DHhotel, Public Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Customer, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we always aim to promote a high standard of welcome friendliness and I am so pleased that our team achieved this and ensured that you had a fabulous stay. We look forward to welcoming you to back to The Durrant House Hotel very soon.

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friends of ours came last year and were so impressed asked if we could join them for a self drive 5 day break. So impressed from the minute we stepped inside the door. We had a super room, very airy, very soundproof, super view across to the fields and river. Then came the meals, fantastic value with 3 courses and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NiV0n
DHhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your great feedback, I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, your comments are gratefully received and I will ensure that these are passed on to all the staff. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to this hotel for a short break (Mon-Fri) and having booked as disabled was shocked to discover that we were on the 2nd floor, but we took our luggage up and unpacked ready for the evening meal. We found the room was small and the window would not close at all and as it was February the wind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boopygirl
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel and faultless dining. Entertainment every night. Comfortable rooms and spotless throughout. Modern bathrooms and fluffy towels. If you venture down a corridor near the kitchens to the older part of the building, you will find the original? curving, grand staircase, complete with extremely large chandelier hanging from the ceiling in the middle of it. Stainless glass window halfway...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank restorergirl
DHhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your great feedback on your stay with us, I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. At the hotel we strive to provide a high quality of food and service and I am happy that this was achieved. Your comments are gratefully received and I...

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on self drive half board package. Pleasantly surprised at quality of hotel - clean, good sized rooms and choice of dishes on menu. Helpful staff, especially front desk gentleman who provided extra duvet as ours was a bit small for size of bed (nice and large). Our room overlooked a small courtyard so was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinemorris39
DHhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank for taking the time to leave you thoughts from your recent stay with us at The Durrant House Hotel. Your comments are very valuable to us since they help us improve our quality and services and I will ensure these are passed on to all the staff. At the hotel we have a wide choice of accommodation...

wales
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and myself spent 4 nights here from the 20th to 24th February. We travelled with Brent Thomas coaches from S Wales. We booked last minute so hadn't done much research either into the hotel or the area and were very pleasantly surprised. On arrival we were met with tea and coffee in the reception area while the cases...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leebeeWales
DHhotel, Public Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your great feedback on your recent stay, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your time with us. Your comments are gratefully received and will ensure that these are passed on to all the staff. We do hope to welcome you back to the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On returning from our 5 day family trip today I feel compelled to commend the staff on their over and above customer service skills and diplomacy shown to both myself and my twin 5 year olds. Without their care and support our holiday may have been very different. As a first time coach package traveller I did expect to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
DHhotel, Public Relations Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at The Durrant House Hotel and taking the time to write a review on your family trip with us. Your comments are very gratefully received and will ensure that these are passed on to all the staff. We aim to provide a high quality of friendliness and welcome...

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Stopped for a weekend in December room was good, asked for a large glass of wine barmaid tried to serve it in a small glass would not fit!!! Said they would serve it in a slim Jim glass!! When I said no I was told I would have to go and find one from another bar, no one serving at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrmac90

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
9.1 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
345 reviews
2.0 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bideford
497 reviews
0.3 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 12 in Bideford
189 reviews
21.9 km away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
317 reviews
9.5 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Durrant House

Address: Heywood Road | Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Price Range: $116 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Durrant House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Durrant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrant House Hotel Bideford
Durrant House Bideford, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Durrant House staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Durrant House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles terrybT8095DJ, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Estuary view room”
 of 5 bubbles LibraryMike, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 101. Quiet , nice out look and this room is large, nice modern bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles ValW231, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 127 is Suitable for Disabled Guests (NB: Bring your own shower stool if needed!)”
 of 5 bubbles KaelaLee, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No opinion as would not recommend.”
 of 5 bubbles jackieandchas, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5