We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

West Country Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
West Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for West Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

I was really surprised to see the negative reviews on here after a lovely break in the Inn. The rooms were homely and clean and the staff and management were all very chatty and helpful. Breakfast was just right - good sized full English without overdoing things. Access was great to local places being just off the A39 - heard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave B
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dave, What a lovely review, thank you! I am so happy that you liked our staff, management and the Inn. I will look forward to meet you when ever you decide to visit again, I would be most delighted to serve you. Kind regards, Laura.

Monza, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I've made a reservation through booking, in the reservation i've informed them of my dog's presence and their answer was a charge of 12,5 pounds each, so i've canceled the reservation in less than 24 our, and they took the entire payment in any case, and now after 2 months I'm still struggling to have my money back, cancellation was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manuela B
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Manuela, Our reservation policy states that cancellations must be made 48 hours prior to arrival and is very clearly stated on your paperwork terms and conditions. You had only elected to cancel your booking after you discovered (also stated on your paperwork) that we do implement a pet charge of £12.00 which is quite reasonable considering that other local...

Staffordshire
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Staff very rude, room shabby and unclean. Whiskers in sink. Kettle broken in room. Could be lovely with some TLC and staff with people skills. Problems high lighted but not listened to as staff too dismissive and kept saying that management were on holiday ! Not informed of any facilities, breakfast time etc on check in

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn H
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lynn, I have consulted our staff and the Designated Premises Supervisor who was actually on site with you. She has worked here over 6 years and I do trust her management tasking. However, there were actually complaints received from other guests regarding your abrasive attitude toward staff and extreme demanding behaviour. Further, you neglected to fully pay what was...

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Thank you for a lovely two days, I stayed with my daughter Friday and Saturday and I wanted to say how lovely the place is and full of character. I could just imagine the number of people who have stayed there before us. Apparently it is from the 1620s and the landlady has continued to preserve the heritage. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Church12
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Churcher, Thank you for your lovely review. We all appreciated having you here at our lovely old Inn and I sincerely hope that we may be able to look after you again one day. I am grateful to read such positive comments and will share them with the Staff. We all wish you the very best. Kind Regards,...

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We are from the West Country and enjoyed our one night stay at The West Country Inn. The room was spacious and the bed was massive and very comfortable, The people were very welcoming and friendly and the food, especially the home made curry were much enjoyed, and also like the chef delivering the food to our table and ensuring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
Dorset
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This pub is conveniently situated, albeit on a busy road, and could be a useful stopping place. However it is rather shabby and needs upgrading. Having said that the room we had was clean and neat but was let down by the lack of lighting make it difficult to read. It was very small but the price was wasn't. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank crosscountryrush
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you felt disappointed by our personalised service. The Chef does like to present his food as he is a people person, I believe the personalised touch is an asset, not a hindrance and I think it is nice to see who took pride in cooking the food for you. I...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Our room was directly over what sounded like a very noisy generator that kept us awake all night. In the morning we were told it was the cellar cooler and we could have asked for it to be turned off! How could we have known that? If they had any consideration for their guests it would have been turned off...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank birchhay
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We do not "scam"ever. I am very disgusted and appalled at the accusation. If you booked through Booking.com, it will be shown on your paper work. You need to read your copy. If you provide evidence to us via a Booking.com representative, we will gladly refund your breakfast. We retain all of our paperwork from that very good...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The staff were lovely and the food was great but the inn itself was a disappointment. It looked lovely on the website but not so much in reality .It is a really oldy worldy type place,with wooden beams, etc and the dining room was really attractive but our room was only passable. It overlooked a main road and with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane N
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Diane, it is a great shame that you over looked the facilities. We have a huge state of the art gymnasium full of equipment to the tune of £30,000.00!! We also have a very large hot tub Canadian 6 man spa with wet room and large spacious marble effect tiled shower. No old dismantled equipment behind reception. - (I...

Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Wanted to thank Martin at the West Country Inn for resolving my complaint about my father being overcharged for our family meal. My father has today received the refund by cheque together with a letter of apology, both gratefully received as was your token of goodwill. Thank you again 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andrea, I am very happy that we were able to resolve the over charge which was a genuine mistake. We enclosed some money in addition to the refund so that you are able to take your Father out again. Kind regards, Laura.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Just... Old, tired, rundown a throw back to the eighties in taste and style...Please. Quite expensive not value for money food 'no comment'. Best thing about this establishment, the drive in and out lovely countryside but nothing really to do here unless you have a vehicle. Stayed here March 2016.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie H
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Julie, I am very sorry that you feel our 16c Inn is old and tired! We received a full no notice Hotel AA Inspection this morning and passed with flying colours and retained our 3 Stars. This building is preserved with care. It is not modern, it reflects it's historic age and roots and we are proud of it's...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bideford hotels
9.7 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
323 reviews
3.3 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#4 of 12 in Bideford
463 reviews
1.4 km away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#7 of 12 in Bideford
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
488 reviews
2.1 km away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Bideford
185 reviews
4.2 km away
Treyhill Farm
Treyhill Farm
#5 of 37 in Bideford
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about West Country Inn

Address: Bursdon Moor | Nr. Hartland, Bideford EX39 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford
Price Range: $116 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your West Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bideford Country Inn
West Country Inn Bideford, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from West Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the road!”
 of 5 bubbles anonK7060AR, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Can't think of any”
 of 5 bubbles LynnH52, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we had a super king room”
 of 5 bubbles melaniemT775FX, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. Rooms at the back would avoid some traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles crosscountryrush, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms (at a guess) will have views over the rolling hills. Beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles lynneb683, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay