We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bickley Mill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 393: English reviews
Start your review of The Bickley Mill
 Click to rate
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely place to stay Bickley Mill is. The room was fantastic, we booked the room with the roll top bath (the eaves) which was just what the doctor ordered after a lengthy journey. The water was beautifully hot which we always seem to find to be an issue no matter where we stay. The room was kitted out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atkinsno1
James W, Manager at The Bickley Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very happy to hear the you liked your room so much and the roll top bath really is a wonderful way to relax whilst away, we are glad that you took time to take advantage of it. We hope to see you again soon.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The first thing I noticed about staying here was how quiet it was. I slept very well due to this and the comfortable bed. I stayed in Salcombe which had views towards the garden. The room was well equipped with pleasant toiletries, tea making facilities and lovely, soft white towels. All the staff, without exception, were friendly and extremely helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imperium66
James W, Manager at The Bickley Mill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how well of a good nights sleep you had. All of our staff work very hard to make sure that you have the best experience possible and we are glad that they made your stay such a...

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed here a few weeks back as it was a convenient location to my meeting the following day. Lovely quiet location and a very clean modern hotel room. The local cask ale was very nice as was the food. Great choices and really good value considering the quality. Highly recommend the duck. Breakfast was also good and I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JNTravels2
James W, Manager at The Bickley Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear how you enjoyed your meal with us and that your stay was comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

A TripAdvisor Member
sabadell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

In my business trip Ibtried to avoid the premier inn closed to the train station And I decided to book at the Bickley Mill Inn I'm happy with my election because I've had the chance to find a warm and familiar hotel with a good restaurant closed to Newton Abbot Good service and amazing food Rooms decorated with a classic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
James W, Manager at The Bickley Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Visited the Bickley Mill again today after a long laps hoping for better things. Sadly we were dissapointed. Found it hard to find something from the menu and also the prices expensive for what you got. The salad left a lot to be desired! Won't be returning due to limiting menu and high prices which is a shame as it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackiecampbell
James W, Manager at The Bickley Mill, responded to this review

Firstly, it is a shame that you did not seem to find anything to order from our varied main menu, light bites menu or specials board. We feel and have been told that our menu prices are very good value for money. When serving you yesterday you did ask for a Chicken Caesar Salad, which classically consists of cos lettuce...

Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last night as part of my 40th birthday celebrations. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant for twelve of us. The food was great and the staff were very attentive. Four of us stayed. Rooms are comfortable and in a peaceful setting. Breakfast is cooked to order and delicious. Had a great time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bowler10033
James W, Manager at The Bickley Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your special birthday with us and had a lovely stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Very pleasant stay here on a Sunday night. Room was very comfortable, staff very helpful and friendly . Food was delicious and good value . Great value for money and an extremely relaxing and enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamGilvear
James W, Manager at The Bickley Mill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again next time you are down our way.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the Bickley Mill Inn celebrating our Daughters wedding! The staff were attentive, approachable and efficient.The food was scrummy including canapés , the wedding breakfast and a BBQ! The Recommended DJ and the band 3BF( Three Bags Full) kept the dance floor busy all night! The accommodation was comfortable, clean and well presented. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carol k
James W, Manager at The Bickley Mill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your daughters special day and we are happy to know that we helped make that day extra special for you all. Three Bags Full are a great band and always keep the dance floor full!

Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We chose the Bickley Mill Inn for our February wedding because of the tasty food, cosy atmosphere, gorgeous bedrooms, open fires and stunning function room and they did not disappoint. From set up to finish Emily, Daryl and James were fantastic, the day ran smoothly even though we had the max numbers, the food was amazing empty plates all round,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilyjhowell
James W, Manager at The Bickley Mill, responded to this review

Congratulations again to both of you. We are so glad we were able to be a part of your special day and wish you many happy returns. Thank you for such a lovely review, we must say the BBQ is a good option!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We hired out every room at the Bickley Mill back in January to celebrate my Mum's surprise 60th Birthday. We had around 30 guests in total (not all stayed) and had family of all ages coming from all over the country so trying to find somewhere suitable was very difficult. I have to say that this hotel was perfect in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hetherington_2017
James W, Manager at The Bickley Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear how much you all enjoyed yourselves with us and for such a special occasion too. We hope to see you all again for the next big celebration!

335 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (23)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (245)
Viewed
Dartmoor King Double Room (26)
Viewed
Kingsbridge Optional Twin or King Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Riviera Superking Double Room with Balcony (39)
Viewed
Salcombe Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
The Owl Loft Family Suite (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
8.1 km away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
341 reviews
6.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
463 reviews
8.3 km away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
65 reviews
13.4 km away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our 13 En-suite bedrooms are individually styled with crisp white linen and home comforts. Each room is fully equipped with Flat Screen television with DVD player, free wireless broadband access, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Separate accommodation entrance for ease of access at all times. Traditional cooked breakfast using local produce. Bathrooms are a delight, with modern contemporary fittings, fluffy white towels and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bickley Mill

Address: Stoneycombe | Kingskerswell, Newton Abbot TQ12 5LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Price Range: $128 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bickley Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bickley Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bickley Mill Hotel Newton Abbot
The Bickley Mill Newton Abbot, Devon, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bickley Mill staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Bickley Mill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rivera room is lovely, they all are to be honest.”
Emilyjhowell, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are up steep stairs so not great for the less-abled. However other rooms are available.”
Hetherington_2017, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quieter room during the main season. If out of season, when people are unlikely to gather outside, it isn't an issue.”
t_r_nicolaou, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to avoid the roof!”
  • Bedroom
mikesC2645VX, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All standard doubles great value at £90 pounds!”
_s_riley19, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5