We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

695 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 695: English reviews
Start your review of The Kings Arms
 Click to rate
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Last Saturday attended Nephews wedding pageant at The Kings Arms in Christchurch. The ceremony was held in the small pavilion on the green opposite at the foot of the castle ruins. The whole setting was wonderful, with guests spilling onto the green for the traditional photographs. Back across the road at The Kings Arms all the guests were treated to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DOUG Y
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear Doug Y All the staff are so happy you could spend the day celebrating your Nephews wedding here at the Kings Arms hotel. We would like to thank you so much for your lovely comments. We do pride ourselves as one of the best wedding venues, and your words have kindly confirmed what we all feel. We do hope...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to the kings arms for happy hour on cocktails for my sisters birthday. The bar area is really nice and has a good atmosphere, until around 6:30/7 when they had a dj playing ridiculously loud music! We spent the rest of our time literally shouting at each other as the music was just so loud. There was no need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stacey l
NicolasRoulier, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear Stacey Thank you so much for your review. I do apologise you found our bar a little too noisy for your sisters birthdays drinks. Our bar is a very popular venue in Christchurch on a Friday and Saturday evening, where we do advertise we have an in house DJ on these days. If you would like to visit the...

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for lunch as we have many times before. Unfortunately, service was poor. One of our party did not receive their main course until a good 10 minutes after everyone else and my main course was only luke warm. Three people ordered dessert which was delivered AFTER our coffees had been served. Disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gedhilly
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked Into the restaurant to try it out. It was Fantastic ! We've eaten at a lot of the local restaurants but this really was something special ! Cannot rate the food or the wine list highly enough, and an extra special mark for Alex's cheese Soufle - out of this world ! But what really made the whole thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2014MrC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A two night business trip. The Positive. Extremely friendly and welcoming staff. Good location, near all amenities and a pleasant river walk. Comfy bed and pillows. Good security gates at rear carpark. Lift to allow luggage to be transported easily to the room. Car parking could be a problem if the hotel is busy, there is little available. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear Philip Thank you so much for your feedback. I am really happy overall you enjoyed your stay. I do apologise for the issues you addressed in your comments and I can assure you I have passed the notes to our maintenance team. This is the same for the comments your food. We pride ourselves on our beautiful restaurant so...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited this hotel in the last few days, having been here on many occasions. We were a little disappointed with our visit this time as there seems to have been some changes which we feel has affected the quality of the hotel and the service. We still enjoyed our short break apart from some concerns we had which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenBateman66
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear Karen Bateman Thank you so much for your comments and we appreciate your feedback. I am sorry you were a little disappointed with your recent stay. I do not like any of our guests to leave disappointed and I can only hope that you will return at some point when I would only be too pleased to oversee your...

Deal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I attended the hotel for one night recently as we were celebrating a special occasion. The hotel is clean, tidy and well presented. Staff were friendly. We had a "loft" room and paid £105 for the privilege. The room was very noisy with the sound of wind whistling all night through the old single glazed wooden framed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank W M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Dorset to see Bideford and Avon beach which had been highly recommended and we weren't disappointed , the sun was out on our arrival and everything looked great. we checked into The Kings Arms and certainly weren't disappointed there either, the room, the bar and the food were all excellent as were the staff, would recommend it anytime...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann w
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your wonderful comments onto the team. We all look forward to see you again very soon. Kind regards. Nicolas Roulier

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful. The service was great, food was fabulous cooked to perfection. Everything was A1. So good we have booked our forthcoming wedding there staff were so attentive. Looking forward to our next visit. Thank you for making a valentines lunch so memorable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmBear69
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your lunch. See you again very soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely rooms, food, and bar especially the cocktails. . Happy hour between 5 and 7 and then again at 9pm. You can use the spa at the Christchurch harbour hotel witch is amazing. The kings hosted comedy club witch was very funny

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 318rachel
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
2.2 km away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
640 reviews
3.4 km away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
4.7 km away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
357 reviews
6.7 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Kings Arms Restaurant
The Kings Arms Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Price Range: $173 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the largest (King Room) on the front of the hotel, should be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 483philipd, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we chose the loft for value and quiet plus it was at the rear away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles 98annw, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“avoid rooms over the bar which may be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles JantySpelthorne, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have a wonderful outlook but could be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Lotus19, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms face onto busy road, so can hear traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles ianf30, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5