We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Arms

Agoda.comUSD 129*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 158*
USD 129*
Great Deal
USD 148*
USD 158*
USD 130*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

707 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 707: English reviews
Start your review of The Kings Arms
 Click to rate
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ask Tomas in the Cocktail Bar to make you a Pina Colada!! He makes the best we have ever tasted! We had a lovely Sunday visit for these excellent cocktails, followed by a simply delicious lunch in the restaurant, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The Staff were so friendly, service great and our lunch most beautifully prepared. Thank you King's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel and ate in the restaurant both evenings, food was lovely and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was decorated and furnished to a high standard. The river walks and castle ruins opposite the hotel were lovely. We also went on the ferry from the harbour over to the beach and the very pretty (but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 276rachel
TheKingsArmsHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear Rachel Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you managed to enjoy the wonderful attractions we have in Christchurch. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Kings Arms in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Kathryn Shields...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This recently renovated hotel is charmingly situated opposite Christchurch Castle and very near all Christchurch's principal sites, including the ducking stool (!), the Priory and the lovely river walks. We loved the modern but under-stated decor - not too dark - and the room was very comfortable and well equipped. Even the free wifi was excellent. The hotel has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
Management response:

Dear Martin S Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure our housekeeper reads this review. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back really soon. Kind Regards Kathryn Shields Front of House Manager

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to a wedding being held at this hotel and were pleased when we saw the lovely Pavillion in the park opposite. It was beautifully decorated and ideal for a spring wedding. After the ceremony drinks were served just outside and we were able to enjoy the pretty setting which includes a Norman castle and house, although they are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngieP49
Management response:

Dear Angie Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are all so happy you enjoyed attending the wedding at the weekend. The day was truly beautiful. We do hope that you will visit us again really soon. Kind Regards Kathryn Shields Front of House Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was slightly disappointed with our stay overall despite receiving a free room upgrade upon arrival as our room was five minutes late being made up post check-in. The hotel itself was clean throughout and our room was comfortable and spacious. Dinner was slightly disappointing with some dishes being lukewarm and long delays between courses - our mains were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Panderys
Management response:

Thank you so much for your recent comments. I am so sorry you felt a little disappointed with your stay. We have recently moved away from having a reception. The idea is that guests can deal with the receptionist or duty manager taking a seat in the lounge or bar as we feel this is a lot more personal than...

Essex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the night before we stayed at The Kings Arms, what a lovely reception we received when we arrived. Very helpful staff and very polite. Our room was beautiful comfy and clean. We stayed on the second floor and although a party was being held below we never heard a thing all evening. The breakfast was delicious and plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gardesana
Management response:

Dear Gardesana Thank you so much for your lovely review. I will make sure I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff at the Kings Arms Hotel. I do hope you wont make it too long before you visit again. Kind Regards Kathryn Shields Front of House Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nicely presented and decorated building inside and out, lovely bar and fine dinning restaurant. Enjoyed some very nice cocktails and dinner here recently, would highly recommend. Although I am not local to the area this is always a first choice location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mason Albert St... D
Management response:

Good Afternoon I would like to thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I have passed on your comments to the restaurant and bar. The bar pride themselves on our lovely cocktails, they are so happy you enjoyed them. Like you said if you do visit the area in the not too distant future we do hope to welcome...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visit the restaurant at the Kings regularly and no matter how busy they are you get a warm friendly welcome. The service always excellent. Fabulous food with a great innovative and varied menu. A great place to enjoy a chilled Sunday lunch

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
Management response:

Dear Steve Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I have passed on your comments to the staff. We do hope you will visit us again really soon. Kind Regards Kathryn Shields Front of House Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Kings Arms is the perfect location for a short stay in Christchurch. Situated in the heart of Christchurch's historic old town, it is directly across the road from the Norman Castle and imposing Priory and a short walk along the river to the beautiful Christchurch Quay. Mudeford Beach is also within easy reach. It took us 50 minutes to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeiseGirl15
Management response:

Dear DeiseGirl15 Thank you so much for your recent review. We do agree with you that Christchurch is a beautiful area with lots of lovely places to visit. Thank you for your comments on the restaurant I can assure you I will let the staff now. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you to the Kings...

Southbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My Dad and I stayed at the Kings Arms for a week in March and it was Amazing!!! The staff were all warm, friendly and happy to help in any way they could. We were met by the manager Nicolas and saw him through out our stay - he did an outstanding job during our stay and lead the team...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WestwoodLou

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 km away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.6 km away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
663 reviews
5.1 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
329 reviews
4.6 km away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
361 reviews
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Kings Arms Restaurant
The Kings Arms Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Price Range: $188 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back of the hotel won't have a view of the Castle/Priory but are likely to be quieter.”
DeiseGirl15, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at back probably quieter.”
Eijon, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for the largest (King Room) on the front of the hotel, should be quieter.”
483philipd, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we chose the loft for value and quiet plus it was at the rear away from the road”
98annw, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“avoid rooms over the bar which may be noisy”
JantySpelthorne, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 129* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 148
PricelineUSD 130
getaroom.comUSD 158
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates