We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Eden House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Eden House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 239: English reviews
North East
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is under refurbishment but please do. It let this dissuade you from giving it a try. From being greeted by the owner on arrival to really great customer service throughout my stay, it was an absolute pleasure to stay at Eden House. The food was great with ample choice in either the bar or brasserie and I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrswNorthEast
Chris D, Owner at Eden House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello There Thank you for your kind and positive review. The whole team are proud to have made your stay a good one. We are making every effort to deliver best throughout the Hotel . Comments like yours energise us all to be better and deliver a consistent service. We look forward to looking after you again soon Take care...

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Many, many thanks for our 25th anniversary lunch at Eden House hotel in Grantham yesterday Sunday 20th November. Some of us arrived early to decorate the room with banners, Club banners and flags and also table decorations. All staff were very helpful as some ninety members arrived for lunch and they coped with us admirably. It was an excellent meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
Chris D, Owner at Eden House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony Many thanks for your kind and positive review. Our team really enjoyed looking after you and we are pleased that for such a large party we delivered well and food and service was to your liking . We look forward to hosting you all again ,happy motoring ! Regards Chris Duggan Owner

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Twenty of us came together this weekend from different parts of the UK, for a biennnial reunion. The function room was the ideal size and separate from other guests. We were allowed to decorate it with some birthday bunting and fresh flowers. The food (chosen in advance) was excellent, and the service was very efficient throughout the evening. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Chris D, Owner at Eden House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Micheal Thank you for your kind review ,we appreciate you taking the time to write about us. Your review was well received by our team who are all pleased to have made your stay welcome . We are pleased you enjoyed the food and service . Take care and see you again soon . Regards Chris Duggan Owner

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Check in was quick. My room was good with a very comfortable bed and plenty of pillows. Good selection of channels on TV and the free wifi worked well. The bathroom was very clean. Plenty of towels and toiletries. We had dinner in the Library room - food very good and the service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hallingbilly
Chris D, Owner at Eden House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind and appreciated review. We are pleased we were able to make your stay a good one and deliver a high standard of service and ambience . We are proud to have delivered to your expectation as a buisness professional coming to GRANTHAM . Take care and hope to see you again soon ....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When I arrived I was offered to eat in the bar or on sofas in the reception area. As they had two parties on, this was not made clear to me on booking. The food looked nice when it came out. No selection of teas or coffee. The sandwiches were okay, slightly dry. The cakes were pleasant but nothing special....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
Chris D, Owner at Eden House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear of your disappointment in respect of your afternoon tea . We always serve smaller parties in our longe area which is ideal for an afternoon tea . Regarding the sandwiches and the scone this is not good enough and not our normal delivery as our teas are very...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for 4 nights. Can't fault the staff, they were very friendly and accomodating. Food was good, good choice of menu. Room was clean and well kept. Close to town centre, within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
Chris D, Owner at Eden House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue Thank you for your kind and informative review. It is always good to know that we are delivering our accommodation and food and beverage service to a high and friendly level. We look forward to seeing again soon . Take care Chris Duggan Owner

LINCOLNSHIRE
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking forward to lunch as we have been before and enjoyed it very much. However today was not up to the standard we had before. Our main course was the beef and we were so disappointed that the veg was not cooked properly, the yorkshire pudding was soggy the roast potatoes were not crispy, we also never received...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank martiandcolin
Chris D, Owner at Eden House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you for your review. Sorry for not getting back to you sooner but our Sunday lunch service is normally very well received and given high praise . I needed to look into this as you have dined with us before and given us very good comments. Your comments have been looked into and we could have done...

essex
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre and a couple of miles from Belton House. The public parts of the hotel, the lounge and bar are very pleasant, comfortable and well furnished. The bedrooms, or at least the one we were in, are simply furnished but warm, comfortable and clean. There were functions on on two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teddyjennifluff
Chris D, Owner at Eden House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello There Thank you for your review.It is good to read your comments and we are all striving to deliver our service to the levels you have mentioned and to do this consistently . Your comments add to our desire to do best in all areas of service . Thank you and see you again soon . Take care Regards...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Our night was disrupted by the couple in the next room banging on our door, shouting and playing loud music into the early hours. We requested help twice from the night porter who phoned them, with little effect. We were too scared to leave the room and could not sleep. The hotel owner was not on the premises the next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mimtaylor04
Chris D, Owner at Eden House Hotel, responded to this review

We have looked into your review and our team are confused as to when you stayed and the disruption you experienced . We do not have any complaint on file regarding your comments. We have checked with the Night porters ,reception and front of house and no details of Your complaint or comment . Further more if you were given...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

On Friday 28 th October about 60 of us had a lovely 3 course meal here to present our triathletes with the years awards. The staff were wonderful and made us very welcome. Must of been hard work for the to put up with us lot but they did a fine job. I had prawn and crayfish cocktail, roast beef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan633
Chris D, Owner at Eden House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello There Thank you for your kind review. We are really pleased you had a great evening with us and enjoyed the quality of the food and service . We are always happy to receive positive reviews and we hope to look after you again soon . Take Care

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantham
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
2.4 km away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#3 of 9 in Grantham
761 reviews
2.8 km away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,454 reviews
6.7 km away
Ramada Resort Grantham
8.6 km away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly refurbished Eden House Hotel was originally a prestigious Hunting Lodge to the North of Grantham called Hotel Diana. It was extended and transformed into the Kings Hotel and stood unchanged for decades until 2014. The new owners, Chris and Theresa Duggan, have worked their magic to bring the original spirit of finesse, comfort and style coupled with the highest standards of dining back to this historic Hotel. Renamed the Eden House Hotel it offers a choice of two main restaurants, the brasserie and fine dining Victoria room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eden House Hotel

Address: 130 North Parade, Grantham NG31 8AU, England (Formerly The King's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grantham
Price Range: $90 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Eden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Grantham, Lincolnshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Eden House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Wimbledon
2 months ago
over a year ago
Holt, United Kingdom

Dear Theresa D

I’m sorry that my Trip Advisor review appears to have hit a nerve.

I assure you that none of our party has any connection with any of your perceived competition. I felt that my review was a well-balanced and accurate description of our evening and I did give you an ‘average’ rating which is considerably better than some you have been receiving. The individual couples in our family eat out regularly and, from fast food joints to Michelin starred restaurants, we know what our expectations are.

We were presented with your £10/£12.95 winter menu on the 2nd November and no mention was made that this was for a limited period only and would not apply to the evening we had booked. The price increase was not the main problem it was the fact that the menu was completely different to the original one and was unappealing to our party.

As for your staff saying there was no pleasing our party…. This is a complete lie. We were more than accommodating in the circumstances. We treated all the disappointments with good grace and humour. We were aware that you had Christmas parties in the function rooms and had no problem with that. In fact when the senior staff member was concerned that the music may disturb us we reassured her that it was no problem and that we were enjoying the music.

The ONLY inaccuracy in my review was that I got the number of lagers available wrong; you had three not one (Cider is not a beer and the cask ale was off on the night we visited).

If you read my other 60 Trip Advisor reviews you will see that I am always fair and honest and I have given honest feedback in the review and the comments above.

I wish you every success for the future.

Yours sincerely – WhineAndDine2

over a year ago
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Eden House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are stairs to all floors; no lift. So you might want to choose the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelsF1135WP, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We did not stay, only had a meal.”
 of 5 bubbles martiandcolin, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are no lifts so ensure to book ground floor if you have mobility problems”
 of 5 bubbles juliewalker35, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a ground floor room which worked very well for us with heavy suitcases.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsVermonter, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Several guests at the party stayed at this hotel and seemed happy with the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles JanC868, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay