We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ben Mhor Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ben Mhor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ben Mhor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Glasgow
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We arrived at the Ben Mhor hotel on the Friday for a three night break which was to be cut short after one night. Our first impression: the car park is at the back of the hotel which meant walking through a "dingy" corridor but once in the main reception everything appeared nice. The reception at check in was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Couple_from_Glasgow
Inverclyde
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We have just returned home today from a 2 night stay at the Ben Mhor and felt we had to comment in particular on the staff, the service and the extremely good value for money the hotel offers. We have stayed in every level and price of UK hotel over the years and found many things to complain about, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolInverclyde
seancraig, Owner at Ben Mhor Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for submitting a review, all reviews good and bad can help us improve. Glad you had a great time and hope you can return sometime. Should you have any special requests or preferences let us know when you make your booking and we'll make sure these are met. Thanks again and kind regards, Sean Craig

Gartocharn
Reviewed 9 October 2009

my wife and myself spent one night in the hotel, Sat 3rd Oct., and a most enjoyable stay we had, our room was good and clean, the bed was huge, the food good, and the staff really good and helpful. The barman on duty that night was really nice, there were only 8 of us in the residents bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheAndersons_9
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2009

we as a couple stayed at the ben mhor hotel which was realy wonderful we have no complaints what so ever . all staff was the most pleasent that i have ever came across.the only problem was room 6 had no heating .but as i was there the people have been telling me tha tthey are going to spend lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nellchan
seancraig, Owner at Ben Mhor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs McCulloch Thanks for taking the time to make a review. I am delighted to hear your overall experience was excellent. We work very hard to ensure the service levels we offer are both very good and very friendly, great to hear you thought this was the case. Sorry about the heating in your room, I didn't...

Scotland
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Stayed here for a family wedding which was fantastic. The service given by the hotel was superb. The room was a good size and the en-suite had a great shower. Pity that the electrical fan didnt' go off during the night. As it was a Saturday night, there was a fair bit of noise when the pubs came out, so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScotchMissed
seancraig, Owner at Ben Mhor Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review, all feedback is welcome and helps us to improve what we are doing. Glad you enjoyed the wedding and the comfort of the room. All our bathroom fans are linked to the light switch and should cut off shortly after the light is turned out. It's now on our...

scotland
Reviewed 20 September 2009

My partner and i were awayfor two nights on the all incl package deal and we had a lovely time, we made use off the free bar the first night but not the second as we had to drive home the next day so iam not sure if it was value for money, food was good and there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tochuffedscots
Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Upon checking into the hotel, service was very good. Once we were in our room, we realized that we were directly above the pub which was really loud. The room seemed dirty and not well kept up. The bathroom floor was truly disgusting, something you didn't want to stand on with bare feet. The location was good and breakfast in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AIExpat
seancraig, Owner at Ben Mhor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review, all feedback, good and bad is most helpful to us. We have identified from the review that your room was Room 1, a family room, and your stay was Saturday 12th September. I am very sorry the bathroom floor was not as clean as it should be, our housekeeping staff have deepcleaned the floor...

Dundee
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We were a bit worried as we had a phone call the day before we were due to leave to say the hotel had been overbooked. However the extra people were booked into hotels only a few minutes walk away and we all had dinner together in the evening. The food was excellent especially the puddings. We were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scottishgran
Bournemouth, UK
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Booked a room at this hotel for considerably less than the cost of other hotels and B&B's in the area. 3 adults stayed in a family room and size wise it was fine for us and all our walking gear. The staff were absolutely wonderful, really friendly and more than happy to give us advice on where to visit in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dove0709
London
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed one night here and had a great meal in the bistro downstairs. Our room was slightly strange, with three single beds, one of which partially obscured the door to the bathroom. The beds were comfortable though with nice sheets and pillows and well-directed bedside lights. The shower was good but the bathroom was carpeted and smelt a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MsVacationLondon

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.3 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
677 reviews
0.5 km away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
599 reviews
5.0 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
271 reviews
12.5 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,179 reviews
20.9 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional Highland Hotel recently fully refurbished. Stylish new Bistro and Lounge Bar. All double rooms have King size beds, and all rooms have new flat screen TVs and power showers. Free high speed wifi throughout the hotel and private parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ben Mhor Hotel

Address: 53 - 57 High Street, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $77 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Mhor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Mhor
Ben Mhor Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ben Mhor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Ben Mhor loves music...so be warned and don't moan if it's loud. lol”
 of 5 bubbles 138bexj, 18 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Beware that there is no elevator so if you aren't very good with stairs request something on the lowest floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Solarcatt, 16 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Avoid room 12!”
 of 5 bubbles bluescharm, 10 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Make a request!”
 of 5 bubbles 233MichaelS, 22 Apr 2012 | Read review
“Maybe request one that is not facing the main street to reduce the amount of noise.”
 of 5 bubbles MontyBoris, 11 Apr 2012 | Read review
5 of 5