We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hamilton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hamilton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 195: English reviews
Start your review of The Hamilton
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely breakfast . David & Lorraine the owner's were lovely. Made you feel welcome , nothing was to much trouble. Lorraine couldn't do enough to help us when we asked her advice. Stayed from March 13th for a few days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Could not fault hotel at all. There is a review from a 'lady' named Karen saying it was like an old people's home . I am elderly and find that very offensive - perhaps she could post online where she is going next and us smelly old people can stay away and not spoil her trip. Why does TripAdvisor indulge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terry m
Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked through Wowcher and going to be honest thought it was going to be bad. Well how wrong was I, we was in Room 12 and this was spotless and no complaint from us. The breakfast was beautiful freshly cook. The staff where brilliant friendly and I have no complaint. Would cone again if visitig Great Yarmouth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
DavidAndLoraine, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review

Hi Alison So pleased to hear you had a great stay with us. At this time of year we offer several off season deals, so do look out for these if you return. Again, many thanks for the review. David & Loraine The Hamilton

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights, clean room, plenty of space, lovely sea view. Very polite and friendly staff who were always available when needed and always happy to help. Lovely place to stay. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimberley M
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a nice place to stay for a short weekend break. Though not 5 Star the hamilton is very clean and tidy. Breakfast is nice and filling. Had 1 of the 2 larger corner sea facing rooms, well worth the extra couple of pounds. Always a warm welcome and will most def be going back for a 3rd...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tsfootie
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I booked to stay at the Hamilton for the weekend of the 18 - 20 February 2017. The room we were given was sold as a small double. On arrival at the Hamilton we were given the keys to the room to view and were told that we would be able to move to a larger room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria S
DavidAndLoraine, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your review. Our small double rooms are never sold as anything else. Everything needed but in a small room at a budget price, and we do stress this to our guests on booking. At check in it was clear that our guests were expecting much more than we offer and we are not surprised that...

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Had no worries or complaints to be made , people are lovely , I would most certainly stay again , and recommend to anyone , defo worth the money , I will be back to stay again next year sometime . Look forward to it

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlene C
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We visited The Hamilton Hotel on a Groupon voucher. Overall we would say it is very good value for money. We were given room 1A on the ground floor. Very pleased with the room. Excellent size, very comfortable king size bed, and a large flat screen TV. A very good supply of tea bags, milk etc for making our tea/coffee....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip S
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

More like a old people home, from the smell to the decoration. not good for couples or any one younger than 70 ....very small and dirty rooms .breakfast good and hot .no hand soap in rooms ,maids did not clean the rooms ,so was dirty the whole time we were there .blood strain sheets ,and No toilet rolls given til...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
DavidAndLoraine, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your review - it's rather sad that you did not feel able to speak to us during your stay - but, we do understand its easier to leave and then complain! We will certainly speak to our housekeeper on the matters you raise, but as we do not know your room, its hard to be...

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The room was smaller than expected, the bathroom was the size of a cupboard that smelled of urine due to the carpet in the bathroom and some previous guesses missed the bowl. Bed wasn't made when we left for the day and came back bin only emptied once during the 3 night stay. Didn't use the bar area but looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam W
DavidAndLoraine, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for your recent review. Had you discussed any problems with your room with us during your stay, we are sure we could have offered an alternative room. Likewise, any problems with housekeeping would have been addressed. Our bar is a great place to meet either ourselves or other guests even if just for a social chat. Good...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Yarmouth
0.0 km away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
413 reviews
0.0 km away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
115 reviews
0.5 km away
Belvedere Guest House
Belvedere Guest House
#86 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
340 reviews
0.1 km away
Gable End Hotel
Gable End Hotel
#35 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
214 reviews
0.4 km away
3 Norfolk Square
3 Norfolk Square
#13 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hamilton is open all year round and is ideally positioned on North Drive overlooking the Venetian Waterways and the beach.The Hamilton is a family run business offering a warm welcome, friendly atmosphere high quality accommodation and excellent food.At The Hamilton we offer something for everyone from holiday makers seeking that special time away to corporate clients seeking a warm friendly environment in which to relax and unwind after a long days work. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hamilton

Address: 23-24 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Price Range: $76 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hamilton 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamilton Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hamilton staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Bradford, United Kingdom
London
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Hamilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't take notice of sad people who don't stop moaning.”
 of 5 bubbles terrymY86HC, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a sea view (rear facing rooms are a lot smaller too)”
 of 5 bubbles tsfootie, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I don't think you will get one here”
 of 5 bubbles samw488, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“quite noisey from road outside rooms very small.”
 of 5 bubbles 462lynnem, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would not go back”
 of 5 bubbles pleuty, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5