We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Nelson Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Nelson Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 248: English reviews
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is aout the lowest quality hotel we have ever experienced. Our choice is now very much dependant on family room accommodation and the options are small in this region. This hoyel (and almost all the hotels along the promenade) are in desperate need of internal and external maintenance. Simple cleaning tasks are overlooked. I am not sure how this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JHNB1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Da Nang, Vietnam
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We struggle these days finding a hotel with family rooms. Please be aware that this hotel is just about bearable but seriously ageing and well past its sell-by-date. Interiors are shabby, the cleaning suspect at best. The run down nature of this hotel is no better however, than all the hotels on the front in GY. All have seen better...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mkim1610
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Chatteris, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a three day break for Christmas and when we arrived had a lovely reception from the staff. Had a lovely room ,nice and spacious,it needed a bit of updating but clean. Had a job pulling the curtains at night as they were hanging off the curtain rail.Bed very uncomfortable so thought I would turn the mattress over to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion0011
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Passing good time. Room is enough big for family. Decorating is different and good. Stuff is ok. Location also good. Near sea side. Parking also available in front t of hotel. Area also good and nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nazmul H
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

The enjoyed the bible provided however was disturbed by what I think were called "ravers". Not many people willing to convert to purity. Wallpaper doesn't look like it's been changed since 1972. Also maybe instead of a Father Christmas in the hotel entrance, it should be the Father Almighty

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Godwillsaveusall
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Reviewed 5 December 2016

Absolutely terrible service. My friends and I were chucked out at 8am by half of Norfolk police force and the two chefs who were scratching themselves in inappropriate places and waving their hands around - all because some ruffians in a room on a different floor on the opposite side of the hotel were doing some drugs... The staff of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kyle J
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Lets gets this one straight! There was such a disturbance in the hotel the General Manager was called in at 5 am. The guests could not be calmed down. The police were called and all the guests that were found with drugs in their rooms are removed by the police, not the hotel. I will reconfirm - the only guests...

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We took 19members from our Club in Gravesend Kent This is the worst hotel we have stayed in. Poor furnishing, the seating in the bar lounge needed replaceing and the beds and bedroom furniture were much the same. The breakfast was the best meal of the day, but the evening meals were not so good. Air in the water pipes...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Clive B
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Reviewed 12 November 2016

Had an excellent stay at The Nelson Hotel, staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble! food was very wholesome and room was marvellous, couldn't fault it. Big thank you to everyone at The Nelson Hotel. You get what you pay for and this was worth more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel! And very nice and polite night porters and morning staff! My whole family ended up staying here for my brothers wedding!! Me and partner had a twin room as doubles was all booked but the room was clean and beds very comfy although the headboard was broken! Wifi doesn't reach up to the 3rd floor but the night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirst1235
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Kettering
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Stayed in a family room overlooking the grassed area to the front (sea to the left) although very busy, the room was quiet. Free parking outside although i imagine this could become very busy during the day/peak periods. We visited with my husband and 6 year old daughter as well as my mum and dad. The hotel was very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
373 reviews
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
386 reviews
1.4 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The New Beach Hotel
The New Beach Hotel
#10 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
162 reviews
0.1 km away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
596 reviews
1.3 km away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Nelson Hotel is a Grade II listed property that is situated on Marine Parade directly opposite the Sea Life Centre and Wellington Pier. The Nelson is an AA 3 Star Hotel that affords excellent views of the sea front and the promenade.Parking is available free of charge in front of the Hotel, although the car park does not belong to the Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Nelson Hotel

Address: 1 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Price Range: $75 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Nelson Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Nelson Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Give this hotel miss”
 of 5 bubbles JHNB1, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just give this hotel a miss.”
 of 5 bubbles Mkim1610, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The suites are better on the second floor”
 of 5 bubbles Marion0011, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“would not recommend this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 312cliveb, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were fortunate to have Lady Hamilton Suite - maybe stick to the sides or front of the hotel as all will have some sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles G7328BVdianer, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay