We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Carlton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Carlton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

605 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 605: English reviews
Burnley
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having been on many a Shearings coach holidays this rates up there.Firstly the bedroom, sea-view, just done up and a comfy bed what more can you ask for.The reception area looks good as does the entertainment room.There were some good turns on with the lady musician brilliant.Food i have got to rate this the best we have had at a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PhillipKBurnley
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Philip K Burnley for your great review, its a pleasure to read lovely reviews like yours, I will certainly inform all the staff of the wonderful comments, especially Denista, kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Visited this hotel as part of a Shearings coach mid week break last week which is in February, that particularly icy week! After being out it was lovely to come back to a lovely warm hotel and room. As a single traveller I had a single room and had asked for a bath and a high room, both of which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annamarie B
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Annamarie B for your glowing review, great to see you had an enjoyable experience and all your needs addressed, will pass on your praise to Nellie who will be highly delight to see your wonderful feed back! please make time to come to see us and our beautiful town and the city of Norwich soon, kind regards, Paul...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our stay at the Carlton was great, weather apart,it is ideally situated on the front near the Wellington pier.The staff are extremely friendly and the choice of food and quality cannot be faulted.The entertainment is spot on hosted by a young man called Alex who also sings,i have got to say he is a credit to this hotel.I would have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank piperglenn
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Piperglenn for your glowing review, I have noted your comments and will pass on your praise to all concern, great to see you had a wonderful experience at the Carlton, we all look forward to your speedy return, kind regards, Paul Betts.

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

6 of us went with shearings to the Carleton Hotel, great yarmouth, we were late arriving through no fault of anyone and the evening meal was poor, owing to us being 11/2 hours late. there the problem ends, it was a great hotel, good food, wonderful staff, the waiters were efficient and friendly. our room was not too big, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raygill1949
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Raygill 1949 for your review, sorry to see your first meal was not to your liking! great to see we all redeemed ourselves and you enjoy your time with us and I do hope you return in the near future, kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last visit was 2011, just returned from a mon -fri with shearings. We had a double room (110) and a single (108 ) at the back of the hotel and at the end of the corridor. Nice size and quiet. Not many steps up to rooms from getting off lift. All clean but had trouble with shower water temp (...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 68chrisjohn
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you 68chrisjohn for your review, its a real pleasure to read good reviews, kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

leicester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are coeliac the Carlton is a great choice every morning at breakfast the menu for the evening meal was on our table I just ticked my preferred meal for all 3 courses and have never had so much choice,I don't normally look forward to eating glutton free food away from home but this was exceptional,they also provided excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rickyroo16
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Rickyroo16 for your great review, we endeavour to cater for all our guests tastes and its such a pleasure to see your enjoyed the experience, kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the carlton as our trip to torquay was called off last minute. My partner and i had great stay room brilliant Seaview comfy bed. Food and service fantastic isisBelleand another lady thankyou so much. Staff polite and friendly. Will stay again would recommend to anyone. I have not been able to put review on till now.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim W
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Tim W. for your wonderful glowing review, great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return in the near future, kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend and i booked 3 weeks before going , i have been to this hotel 3 times now , and would go again , lovely and warm at all times , food was really good , entertainment was very good to , and Stewart the coach driver for Shearings was wonderful , his knowledge of the area is 100%,

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie F
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Julie F for your glowing review, great to see on your third visit was the same as your first excellent experience, nice to know standards have not fallen! we all look forward to your speedy return to our hotel, kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just spent 5 days at the Carlton with national holidays. Room was basic but lovely and clean and warm. We have done lots of national holidays over the years but the staff at the Carlton were fantastic. Always smiling and worked very hard. Teamwork was excellent. Food was great, always hot. People are always moaning about quality of service in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stevie55taxi
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review Stevie 55 taxi, great to see your stay with us was an enjoyable experience and how excellent value for money we are! look forward to your speedy return, Kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was worth every penny we paid for which was not much food was excellent and the service was first class room was not fantastic but was well equipped and clean and had lovely views of the sea It is such a shame that Great Yarmouth is not so Great these days. seems the council planning dept have let...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Buffaloburtie
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Buffaloburtie for your kind review, its a real pleasure to see your stay with us was a great experience, Great Yarmouth is still very much being rejuvenated and has a wonderful future for offering family holidays, so please come and have a look in a year or two and you can judge once again, I think you will...

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.5 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
459 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
383 reviews
1.0 km away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#12 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
436 reviews
1.4 km away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
168 reviews
3.3 km away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Great Yarmouth’s premier hotels, the Carlton is centrally located at the heart of Great Yarmouth’s recently modernised promenade. This elegant 97 bedroom Victorian hotel can accommodate most holiday requirements and all rooms are en suite, with hot beverage making facilities and colour Television. There is the opportunity to upgrade to sea view and Superior rooms in order to make the most of your stay at this hotel, and a comfortable and quiet lounge bar to relax in. For those looking for something livelier, there is a separate entertainment suite and dance floor with a programme operating most nights of the week. Like many of our hotels, the Carlton enjoys an enviable resort location and it is just a short stroll along the seafront to reach the town centre which offers a bustling market and plenty of shops to browse. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Carlton Hotel

Address: Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Price Range: $121 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth
Carlton Great Yarmouth
Bay Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Carlton Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Darlington, United Kingdom
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
7 months ago
leicester
1 month ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Carlton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“125 seaview rcently done up”
 of 5 bubbles PhillipKBurnley, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“no opinion”
 of 5 bubbles piperglenn, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are opposite wellington pier.”
 of 5 bubbles 68chrisjohn, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Would recommend room 323”
 of 5 bubbles rickyroo16, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we were in room 300 , it doesnt have sea view , but we was ok with that for 4 night break”
 of 5 bubbles Y8717AZjulief, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5