We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wool Merchant Hotel

Hotwire.comUSD 48*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 48*
USD 48*
USD 48*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Wool Merchant Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wool Merchant Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 326: English reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We arrived at hotel, went to room to find our room had a dirty plate in the dressing table drawer with half a mouldy lemon and a dirty fork. We went to put our clothes in wardrobe and the drawer of the wardrobe had bags of pasta in it. Then we went to go in the bedside table drawer and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kezza1504
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very much for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any guest inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We had a weekend here bought as a birthday present from a friend. We arrived on Saturday. Initially was given a double room. Since I was with my disabled son, I asked for this to be changed to a twin. Absolutely no problem at all. Room was spotlessly clean, comfortable with everything we needed. Despite being told wifi was only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne I
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on Saturday while visiting family in Halifax and it has to be said we got the room plus breakfast for a very competitive price. The hotel from the outside looks fine and has a hotel owed car park beside it with ample parking. The reception area I have to say looks great. Very funky. The room itself...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan126
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

Newcastle
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

If it were not for the fantastic receptionist this would be a zero star rating. I guess I only have myself to blame as I have stopped here many times over the years because it's convenient so I sort of knew what I was coming to. Each stay has had something wrong with it but now I have had enough....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMW1970
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very much for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any guest inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

room 306 the carpets are dirty and badly stained. no dressing table no chairs when spoke about these things we were told this room was let for workmen but we are two elderly women and disabled. Breakfast well they need to put some fruit out not everybody wants a cooked breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sreid73
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very much for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any guest inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

Katoomba, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely breakfast, very helpful staff. Nice room and good location. Close to the Minster. Parking across the road was close and easy to access. We had a minor issue with the room but the staff was so helpful and insisted we move to a better room. Excellent customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ravensoak
babyshek, General Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Room was excellent in every way apart from young lady on reception all other staff were very unhelpful breakfast was ok as far as buffet breakfast goes very clean and well looked after hotel lift to all floors which is a great help

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

hertford
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We stayed 2 night in this conveniently situated hotel converted from a mill near the centre of Halifax. The room was adequately furnished if a little spartan and homespun. It looked like the owner had done the decorating! There was parking in a plot next door. The service was friendly and staff helpful when we needed taxis etc. However there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inforep
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

Hednesford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We stayed here last weekend, unsure of what to expect following mixed reviews on here. I had tried to cancel our booking within 24 hours of making it, but was told that I would have to pay in full, so kept the booking. I had booked a suite with breakfast for two nights. Upon arrival we made enquiries about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rockysgirl38
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very mcuh for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Stayed one night on business. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean but quite small, although the bed was comfortable. I was one of only two guests within the restaurant for an evening meal and the waiter/barman (presumably under instruction) informed me that if I were staying again that I should book a table.!! I'm assuming that this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very mcuh for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any guest inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.5 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.3 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
365 reviews
4.0 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
5.5 km away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#10 of 10 in Halifax
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Wool Merchant Hotel

Address: 5 Mulcture Hall Road, Halifax HX1 1SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Price Range: $63 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wool Merchant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wool Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wool Merchant Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Wool Merchant Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in number 8 and it was fine”
jeangray004, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“If wifi connection is crucial, insist on a lower room”
mattjbaret, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for top floor. The rooms were so much bigger up there and for the same price.”
leeandchloe, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Can't help you here, other than you're probably better off on the higher floors”
Coralcaybelize, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“one away from hallway doors”
Santacruz68, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
USD 48* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 48
Expedia.comUSD 48
PricelineUSD 48
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates