We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wool Merchant Hotel

  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 301: English reviews
Start your review of Wool Merchant Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Value for money budget hotel For the money I can't complain. Rooms seemed well isolated from noise of other rooms and people in corridors, probably helped by the size of the rooms. If I'm being picky, mattress was a bit lumpy - although I slept fine, they could do with a change. Attention to detail with cleaning - there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great value room, very clean and spacious. The room was rather warm on arrival however with the window open for a bit it soon cooled down. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, quite creaky and the mattress was rather lumpy but I still managed to sleep well. Tea, coffee and bottled water were provided which was greatly appreciated especially with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed here a lot but not for the last 6 months. The reception area and stairs up to it have been refurbished and look fantastic. We had to ask for a room change as the one we originally were allocated had the worst mattress ever. But the room was changed very quickly so very happy. A few things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhuk1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good value, spacious rooms, comfy. Tea and coffee, biscuits and a chocolate. Unfortunately they "don't do decaf" either in the rooms or for breakfast. That was a shame. Breakfast was good for the money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night after booking a mystery trip with National Holidays. We found our room 201 cold on arrival and the bathroom smelt of urine/drains-i think it could have done with drain cleaner or a dose of bleach in toilet shower etc. The bed and room was clean and comfortable, coffee and tea making facilities with biscuits,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ruby186317
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very much for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any guest inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at hotel, went to room to find our room had a dirty plate in the dressing table drawer with half a mouldy lemon and a dirty fork. We went to put our clothes in wardrobe and the drawer of the wardrobe had bags of pasta in it. Then we went to go in the bedside table drawer and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kezza1504
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very much for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any guest inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a weekend here bought as a birthday present from a friend. We arrived on Saturday. Initially was given a double room. Since I was with my disabled son, I asked for this to be changed to a twin. Absolutely no problem at all. Room was spotlessly clean, comfortable with everything we needed. Despite being told wifi was only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne I
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on Saturday while visiting family in Halifax and it has to be said we got the room plus breakfast for a very competitive price. The hotel from the outside looks fine and has a hotel owed car park beside it with ample parking. The reception area I have to say looks great. Very funky. The room itself...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan126
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your positive review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for the feedback! It is really nice to hear from our valued repeat customers and we appreciate repeat business from you. We keep working hard to improve the standard and quality of...

Newcastle
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If it were not for the fantastic receptionist this would be a zero star rating. I guess I only have myself to blame as I have stopped here many times over the years because it's convenient so I sort of knew what I was coming to. Each stay has had something wrong with it but now I have had enough....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMW1970
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very much for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any guest inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

room 306 the carpets are dirty and badly stained. no dressing table no chairs when spoke about these things we were told this room was let for workmen but we are two elderly women and disabled. Breakfast well they need to put some fruit out not everybody wants a cooked breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sreid73
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You recently stayed with us, thank you very much for your review; we are really sorry that you had few issues during your stay with us. Thank you very much for raising these issues which we will try to resolve in order to avoid any guest inconvenience in future. Operations Manager Ravi Jain

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.5 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.4 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#8 of 10 in Halifax
195 reviews
3.9 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
2.5 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Wool Merchant Hotel

Address: 5 Mulcture Hall Road, Halifax HX1 1SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Price Range: $60 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wool Merchant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wool Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wool Merchant Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Wool Merchant Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not choose 204- view of smoking area from window. humming fan and lift right outside the door!”
 of 5 bubbles ruby186317, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“higher are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles sreid73, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All room are very good”
 of 5 bubbles tonyhC9850ZE, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms seem to vary a lot unfortunately.”
 of 5 bubbles Hamptonbeaver, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Twin rooms are more spacious but also more expensive”
 of 5 bubbles helenholmes50, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5