We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Newtown House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Newtown House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Newtown House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 251: English reviews
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

6 of us had roast beef and we were all very disappointed. The beef was very tough and dry. I could not cut through mine or my kids and left it. Yorkshire pud was hard and dry. Wet and soggy broccoli. Shame as it came recommended. I complained and waitress did say she was sorry we had not enjoyed our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ptj100
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately we don't appear to have a record of you. Would you please contact the hotel to speak to the General Manager about your experience further on 02392 466131. Regards Newtown House Hotel

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Four of us stayed here to attend a family wedding we were given rooms 1 and 2 both rooms were really well appointed our room (1) had a corner bath and a flashing light shower head. Beds were very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and very helpful giving us taxi numbers of a local firm, breakfast was very nice indeed....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ian724
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

A friend and I attended a conference near by and booked 2 nights stay at Newton House. We received a warm and inviting welcome from Sharon who turned out to be the receptionist but she does go over and above the call of duty. When we returned late having had no food at out our meeting she offered to make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth Y
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I have passed your comments on to Both Sharon and our General Manager who was very appreciative of your comments. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Newtown House Hotel

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived at 8.15am in the morning, well before the 2pm check in due to us going to a nearby event we needed to collect a key early. The receptionist was more than welcoming and very accommodating and informed us that if the room had been cleaned we were welcome to leave our belongings in it. It had and we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rozbarnden
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to our Staff to ensure they receive your good comments. We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Newtown House Hotel

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The steak was excellent and the salmon good although we had to ask for a cajun sauce as it was a little dry. The kale unfortunately was chewy but overall excellent food and good value. Dave, the manager is a good host.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Therearesomany
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal here with us. Your comments have been passed to the Kitchen and to our general manager Dave. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Warm Regards Newtown House Hotel.

Merseyside
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely welcoming Hotel and reasonably priced. Also lovely freshly cooked breakfast. My only request would be that the rooms be checked thoroughly on servicing as the plug in our bath was stuck in, so that we could not use it and we had to move rooms. This caused us some inconvenience and we were late for our evening outing. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments for us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. When you notified us of the issue with the room we were more than happy to move you to a functioning room. Unfortunately we had not been notified previously of the issue with the Plug however this has now been...

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Second year staying at this hotel for an annual group visit. Having stayed at the Langston previously the past two years we have stayed at the Newtown House. Party of 8 people. You will see my review for last year, the venue it's self is great. Good location, facilities and staff. Rooms are nice and well equipped. Our first night...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Dixon_Lee
london
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

What A little gem, we visited this hotel on Sunday 14th August for lunch a family of 5, service and food were excellent , we had a bottle of Pinot rose which was lovely and the men's beers were good too . compliments to the chef for the roast , it was the best we have had for a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovemydogsuk
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments for us on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon here with us and we greatly look forward to welcoming you back for your stay. Warm Regards Newtown House Hotel

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I have nothing against the place or the staff. The real problem is the layout of the hotel combined with the functions held there. Twice in 2 years we have been kept awake by guests spilling out of the function room into the surrounding areas - the problem is that those areas are directly outside many of the bedrooms. So...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ewan D
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations and I am as frustrated as you that the actions of a few people can cause, such upset. I am pleased to advise that fortunately this sort of behaviour is a rare occurrence and every effort is made to enforce the hotel’s rules and expected behaviour...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

A lovely hotel with good comfortable rooms let down completely by their kitchen. Whoever was in charge of the kitchen (I cannot call them a chef or even a cook0 must have been late for work and did not have time to cook the food before service began.To lay out almost uncooked sausages must be a health hazard the bacon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 72stev_s
Events1975, Director of Sales at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor I am sorry your recent stay at the hotel did not live up to your expectations. When you met with the hotel manager, he did try to address each of your concerns, however as you were in a hurry, he was unable to do so. Therefore I have taken this opportunity...

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
4.3 km away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,487 reviews
6.0 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
557 reviews
10.0 km away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
439 reviews
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
9.5 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old hotel with a warm feeling with superb accommodation.Restaurant open to non residence with full a la carte menu or bar snacks ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newtown House Hotel

Address: Manor Road, PO11 0QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Price Range: $109 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newtown House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Newtown House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newtown House Hotel Hayling Island, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newtown House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Newtown House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See James the bar manager.”
 of 5 bubbles lewisbrooker, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go when there's a function on.”
 of 5 bubbles ewand2014, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't order breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 72stev_s, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not sure as we only visited the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 62RichardP, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check to see if there is a event on in the rear annex. Rooms surround it, could be better to choose a room facing the road.”
 of 5 bubbles pnc80, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay