We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Hotels.comUSD 188*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 194*
USD 188*
USD 194*
USD 194*
USD 188*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,097 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,095: English reviews
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

After staying at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa a few times, and using the facilities, we decided that it would be the perfect venue for our wedding. So we booked our big day for 8th July 2017 and gave a £1,000 deposit. Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances we had to cancel our wedding, and also cancel the guest rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sean_Beth14
London
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We had our wedding on bank holiday August 2015. Was an amazing venue I could not really fault much. The only points I had to make was I saw another bride/ wedding while in my own wedding which they guaranteed me would not happen. They kept on asking me for help during the day, while it was my wedding. and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kimboshorne
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear kimboshorne, Thank you for taking the time to review your wedding with us here at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am delighted that you thought our venue was as amazing as we do! Maybe for your wedding anniversary coming up soon you should re visit us for a round of golf or perhaps even a Spa break!...

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great time at The Mere. We arrived in the afternoon and had time for a dip in the pool and used the thermal spa area which was lovely. The rooms are really nice and little meerkat greets you on the bed which is also one of comfiest beds I have ever stayed in!! We had dinner in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danware
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2016

My fiancé and I are getting married next year and we were so excited to have our wedding dinner and reception at The Mere. We tried really hard to book here but have been unsuccessful in receiving a quote for what we would like. After being in touch with 5 different people, either by phone or email, no one seems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11Red11
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear 11Red11, Thank you for taking the time to review The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. Our guest feedback and opinion is extremely important to us and with this in mind, I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further, please may I ask you to contact our Guest Services Manager directly Helena.camu@themereresort.co.uk I am sorry to hear that...

blackpool
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We stayed for 1 night in July. This hotel is lovely, calm and luxurious. The room is well quipped, beds comfy, nice view, and sumptuous towels. The pool is across the large car park, has all the relaxing facilities you could ask for. The breakfast was excellent. cant wait to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildberrytravelFY8
Management response:

Dear wildberrytravel, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review here on tripadvisor. We really do value all of our guests comments. It is so pleasing to see that you enjoyed your time with us so much that you are hoping to come back again. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you on...

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

My partner booked my the queen suit for my 30th £280 for the night, had such a lovely day in the spa relex in with a glass of prosecco, we went to the room had spent the whole night chillin and having a drink.. For the price we wanted to spend as much time using the room!! Lovely deep bath,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Htreanor
Management response:

Dear Htreanor Thank you so much for your comments, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your room so much and that you had a relaxing time in our Award Winning Spa. I apologize that you did not get to enjoy the same experience upon checking out. We try to keep the amount of people in the pool area to...

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Booked as a treat for myself and a friend. Got there early to enjoy the full day, to be told that the have family swimming for members for the first couple of hours and from 3.30pm till close in the pool. Not really good when you come for a relaxing day and you leave your own children at home. Pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
Management response:

Hello Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value all of our guests' feedback and this is very important to us. In relation to your comments regarding Children's time, we do limit this to just an hour in the morning and then 4:00pm - 6:00pm. Our Health Club and Spa opening times are from 6:30am until...

Ashmore, Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2016

I was presented with a voucher to use at Mere for a Spa Day package. A beautiful gift to receive. The day was very enjoyable, the staff polite and attentive and the beauty treatments excellent. Only one complaint to the day, the lunch which was included in the package did not meet expectations. A rather scruffy card was presented to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ali260
Management response:

Hello ali260 Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your recent Spa day package. It is so pleasing to read that you enjoyed your treatments and the team here looked after you throughout the day. Please do not be deterred from staying with us again, we have taken your comments on board in relation to the quality of...

lincolnshire
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Stayed here for a business meeting, Areas of the meeting were ok and others were very poor. Bedrooms/Concierge/Breakfast/Dining staff were good and our evening BBQ was appalling, There was an additional function taking place the same evening and maybe more staff should have been brought in. Very poor communication between staff, food very substandard and not in line with this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bournetoparty
Management response:

Hello bournetoparty Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback here on TripAdvisor. I will certainly take on board what you have mentioned and this will be discussed at the next Team Leaders meeting. We value all of our guest feedback and will use this to put actions in place to ensure we continue to improve. Thank you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

On arrival we were happy and pleased with the grounds and look of the hotel. Reception staff , very friendly. Check in was easy. Our room was beautiful, and even had a balcony, the room had everything we needed in it, although trying to do makeup in the lighting was difficult. We had robes on the bed, mine unfortunately was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anita m
Management response:

Hello anita m Thank you so much for posting your feedback here on TripAdvisor in relation to your recent stay with us. I am happy to see that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, in particularly your room and the breakfast. I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the team, as kind comments from our...

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (282)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.6 km away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
923 reviews
2.1 km away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
26.8 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,451 reviews
35.8 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,022 reviews
39.3 km away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Price Range: $191 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mere Golf Resort And Spa Knutsford, Cheshire
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#1 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Warington
Stafford, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Loughborough, United Kingdom
over a year ago
bourne
1 month ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lakeview have better positions”
Sarah1703, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the lake”
887paul, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back overlooking the Mere recommended”
BossPrestonUK, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms were quiet facing the spa”
Becs182, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a Lake View are lovely.”
kirkc999, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 188* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 194
Expedia.comUSD 188
PricelineUSD 194
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates