We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Townhead Hotel

TravelocityUSD 82*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 82*
USD 82*
USD 82*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Townhead Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 275: English reviews
Start your review of Townhead Hotel
 Click to rate
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent meal tonight. Lovely atmosphere with warm friendly attentive staff. Beautiful freshly cooked food. Well worth a visit. Will most certainly be back. This is a gem of a place with an extensive menu and something to suit all tastes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was the first time I've been in for a meal since the new owners took over the hotel. All the staff are very welcoming with happy smiles which is always great to see. My wife and I were in on a Sunday so had to choose the Sunday roast but the choice on the menu was fantastic definitely looking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen T
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights and what a fantastic hotel. The location was perfect away from chip shops and kebab shops so nice and quiet. The welcome from the member of staff on arrival was great and the room was even better then the pictures shown when the booking was made. Lovely modern room. The food was superb and the side...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barker84
Corby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night when in town for a family celebration. We had a large, modern and very clean room that was ideal. The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast selection was adequate, well presented and tasty. We were obviously satisfied as seven of us returned for lunch before heading home, which once again was well presented and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wvmhill
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let down by " fogetting" our order, lovely young staff but inexperienced as we had to point out how long we had waited for starters ( 45 mins) food when it did arrive was good but the duck main I ordered was missing the confit dug leg and although the duck was cooked well the plate was cold, dry from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erica Janet T
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here one night as we were planning to visit Charles Jenck's garden the following day. The room was very comfortable, en suite and well appointed. The check-in procedure was very smooth and the smiling, pleasant staff gave us an indication of the quality of service we were to experience throughout our all to brief stay. We dined in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulmckelvie
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

on arrival was met and shown to the room. reserved a table for dinner that night for all my family. the room was very nicely decorated with a comfortable bed. breakfast was well worth it with a choice of cooked breakfasts. All in all a wonderful place to stay for short or a longer break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebbyF_69
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night and was very impressed . Lockerbie is quite a small town and the exterior of the hotel is not that impressive so was wondering what it was like inside. It was very nice , our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. It was over the bar/retaurant area so was a bit noisy but after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilson015
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

My husband and recently stayed overnight at the Townhead as a half way point on our trip to The Highlands and again a week later on our journey home. The hotel is a great location just off the A74 and even has a petrol station next door. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food really good and well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosemarie W
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Was recently disappointed to be turned away at the door as we had failed to previously book. Unperturbed by what we took to be a very good indicator, we recently returned and I am pleased to say, we were far from disappointed, A friendly greeting from the young staff and we were immediately taken to our table. Choice of draft...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bellytubby
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I am so sorry to hear that your first call with us was one where you had to be turned away because we were full, but I am so glad that you called with us again and we were able to get you a table. It is always so nice to read what our guests have to say, and...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (37)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.7 km away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
27.0 km away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
561 reviews
11.1 km away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
137 reviews
5.2 km away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
87 reviews
23.1 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant
Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, European, British, Pub, Scottish
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Townhead Hotel has been awarded the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for 2014, 2015, and 2016 for our continuous top ratings from our customers. We have also been awarded the AA 2 Star award of Accreditation, and also a 3 Star award from the Scottish Tourism, along with the Good Hotel Award for 2015, and also the Silver in Best Bar None Awards Scotland. These are awards which have never been accredited to this hotel before. We are a family owned and run hotel, which has been recently refurbished. Situated 1 mile off junctions 17 and 18 of the M74 motorway, the Townhead Hotel offers you a warm welcome, good food, and a friendly atmosphere. It is the ideal stopping point for Golfing and Fishing trips. We work closely with both Lockerbie and Lochmaben Golf clubs, and we are able to offer deals on B&B with Golfing included. We are also able to speak with the local fishing clubs and put our guests on the right path for exciting fishing days. Our bar comes with many beers, wines, and spirits, and is equiped with a full SKY and BT Sports package showing all major sports, including horse racing.Free wifi is also available. Our restaurant offers good fresh home cooked food, with all ingredients locally sourced and produced. All bedrooms are en-suite and have tea/coffee making facilities, along with freeview television, and a telephone. For your comfort all rooms come with a nice fluffy dressing gown for use during your stay. All our staff are fully trained, and are available at any time to assist you, should the need arise. Our aim is to maintain a high standard, and to make sure that you, the customer enjoy your stay with us. It is the ideal place to stay if you are looking for a break away from the usual city breaks, in a lovely area of South West Scotland. Our motto is: The Townhead Hotel is run by our family, for yours! Golfing Packages available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Townhead Hotel

Address: Townhead Street, Lockerbie DG11 2AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Price Range: $105 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Townhead Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Townhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhead Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Townhead Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hanover, Massachusetts
7 months ago
Worcester

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Townhead Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room one very spacious”
emmaf211, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 2, don't know how it compares to the others. Comfortable tho'.”
495anniep, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not a lot of rooms to choose from and the hotel is on a main street although not all that busy.”
, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room at the rear”
angusirving, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The whole hotel is very quiet”
hak1963, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 82* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 82
Expedia.comUSD 82
Hotwire.comUSD 82
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates