We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Townhead Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Townhead Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 269: English reviews
Start your review of Townhead Hotel
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

on arrival was met and shown to the room. reserved a table for dinner that night for all my family. the room was very nicely decorated with a comfortable bed. breakfast was well worth it with a choice of cooked breakfasts. All in all a wonderful place to stay for short or a longer break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebbyF_69
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night and was very impressed . Lockerbie is quite a small town and the exterior of the hotel is not that impressive so was wondering what it was like inside. It was very nice , our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. It was over the bar/retaurant area so was a bit noisy but after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilson015
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and recently stayed overnight at the Townhead as a half way point on our trip to The Highlands and again a week later on our journey home. The hotel is a great location just off the A74 and even has a petrol station next door. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food really good and well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosemarie W
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was recently disappointed to be turned away at the door as we had failed to previously book. Unperturbed by what we took to be a very good indicator, we recently returned and I am pleased to say, we were far from disappointed, A friendly greeting from the young staff and we were immediately taken to our table. Choice of draft...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bellytubby
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I am so sorry to hear that your first call with us was one where you had to be turned away because we were full, but I am so glad that you called with us again and we were able to get you a table. It is always so nice to read what our guests have to say, and...

Eaglesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After attending for a Sunday evening meal we were dissapointed with the food served. A starter of Belly pork was obviously warmed up and had been burnt, for a dish that was supposed to be succulent it was tough and dry. The other 2 starters were acceptable but not exciting. The Main courses were a severe let down, although the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin6622
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Welcome to the world of Tripadvisor, and thank you for taking the time to leave us your first ever review after your evening meal with us. I am so very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your meal with us, however I wish you had raised your concerns with us on the evening of your meal,...

dumfries
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We go out every month for out tea and try and go somewhere different every time. On the recommendation of one of our party's friends we chose the Townhead Hotel in Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway. The service was fine and the staff very attentive, 3 of us chose the Chicken Cordon Blu and 1 Sea Bass. The sea bass arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moira605
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Moira, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your evening meal with us. I am glad that i got a chance to chat to your table before your left. As I explained on the evening, the Seabass dish was only a "Special" which we put on for that week, however at the moment it...

Killylea
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lunch for eight. Very pleasant dining room. First class service by Honor our waitress. Food better than your average pub fare in fact it would hold its own against, far more expensive pretentious establishments, anywhere. At home or abroad. Thanks to the Towhead for a great family lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thank you for your lovely review, and I am glad that everything was ok for your party. Honor has a great personality and puts everything she has into her work. See you again soon. Regards Stephen & Staff

Glasgow
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have just enjoyed a lovely Saturday night meal We we were sold the values of the restaurant in a random helpful street conversation with a lovely member if staff. Service was a bit slow but it was very busy, we hadn't booked and the food is fab and freshly cooked. Staff kept us updated and managed expectations. Baked camembert was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MMMGlasgow
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review of your evening meal with us. My apologies if you thought our service on the night was a little slow, however as all our dishes are cooked from fresh, some do take a little longer than others, for example your baked camembert which takes a minimum of 15...

hull england
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off for lunch on way home in this little pub. Friendly welcome, nice pub with dining area. Great sandwiches and snacks, friendly attentive waitress, nothing a problem. Would visit again and only just off the motorway

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spudd
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Spudd Thank you for your review. We always love to read what our customers have to say. Please call with us again. Regards Stephen & Staff

Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely Mothers Day surprise from New Zealand. Fantastic meal at Townhead Hotel. Food was superb as was presentation. Great friendly service from Stephen and staff. Highly recommended, brilliant day out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dumgalz4
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bob, It was our total pleasure to have been able to have help arrange this surprise from your son over in New Zealand. It is always those special things which make the day just that..........Special. Hope to see you both again in the future. Regards Stephen

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
27.0 km away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
553 reviews
11.1 km away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
133 reviews
5.2 km away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
87 reviews
23.1 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant
Townhead Hotel Bar Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, European, British, Pub, Scottish
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Townhead Hotel has been awarded the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for 2014, 2015, and 2016 for our continuous top ratings from our customers. We have also been awarded the AA 2 Star award of Accreditation, and also a 3 Star award from the Scottish Tourism, along with the Good Hotel Award for 2015, and also the Silver in Best Bar None Awards Scotland. These are awards which have never been accredited to this hotel before. We are a family owned and run hotel, which has been recently refurbished. Situated 1 mile off junctions 17 and 18 of the M74 motorway, the Townhead Hotel offers you a warm welcome, good food, and a friendly atmosphere. It is the ideal stopping point for Golfing and Fishing trips. We work closely with both Lockerbie and Lochmaben Golf clubs, and we are able to offer deals on B&B with Golfing included. We are also able to speak with the local fishing clubs and put our guests on the right path for exciting fishing days. Our bar comes with many beers, wines, and spirits, and is equiped with a full SKY and BT Sports package showing all major sports, including horse racing.Free wifi is also available. Our restaurant offers good fresh home cooked food, with all ingredients locally sourced and produced. All bedrooms are en-suite and have tea/coffee making facilities, along with freeview television, and a telephone. For your comfort all rooms come with a nice fluffy dressing gown for use during your stay. All our staff are fully trained, and are available at any time to assist you, should the need arise. Our aim is to maintain a high standard, and to make sure that you, the customer enjoy your stay with us. It is the ideal place to stay if you are looking for a break away from the usual city breaks, in a lovely area of South West Scotland. Our motto is: The Townhead Hotel is run by our family, for yours! Golfing Packages available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Townhead Hotel

Address: Townhead Street, Lockerbie DG11 2AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Price Range: $100 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Townhead Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhead Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Townhead Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hanover, Massachusetts
6 months ago
Worcester

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Townhead Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room one very spacious”
emmaf211, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 2, don't know how it compares to the others. Comfortable tho'.”
495anniep, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not a lot of rooms to choose from and the hotel is on a main street although not all that busy.”
, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room at the rear”
angusirving, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The whole hotel is very quiet”
hak1963, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5