We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Angel & Blue Pig

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Angel & Blue Pig
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Angel & Blue Pig
See the most recent reviews
Showing 328: English reviews
Strabane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

My wife and I had occasion to go to Lymington for a family bereavement and after a lot of deliberation on where to stay so as to accommodate six of us,( as four of our grown up children came with us), we decided on the Angel and Blue pig hotel I first of all would like to thank the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank northern456
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "northern456" Thank you for taking the time to publicly review us and for your kind words. We understand the nature of your visit was a sensitive one and we are just happy to have made the stay as comfortable as can be. We hope to see you back again under more positive circumstances. All the best, Matt E -...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Our one night stay was a very pleasant one. Very clean and tidy room, comfy bed and some lovely touches such as a coffee machine, choccies and local bottled water. We also ate - our starters were super if rather large, my spaghetti dish was a little disappointing as it was quite dry and lacked flavour/seasoning but the pudding made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henhouse45
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Henhouse45" Thank you so much for staying with us and offering a 4 star review. We are glad you enjoyed your room and your meals (mostly), I would be interested to speak further of the dish that wasn't up to scratch. By spaghetti do you mean our seafood linguine? Please feel free to contact me should you want to...

Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

The staff were very welcoming and friendly at the hotel. The room was lovely, really well decorated and great facilities. The only issue was the noise. Unfortunately as it's an old building there is a fair bit of creaking and cracking from others moving around which is fine, as you would expect. However when you add to this that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iles7
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Iles7" Many thanks for staying with us and thank you for the kind comments on the hotel room décor. With regards to the noise, it's obvious you had an uncomfortable stay which I am really sorry about. We don't often get remarks about any unwanted noise from inside or outside the rooms however we do appreciate the fact that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Very nice stay, great location and staff. Lovely old coaching inn, we enjoyed the real fire in the downstairs bar. We hope to visit again in the summer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karin367
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Karin367" Thanks so much for staying with us and giving the top 5 stars review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you with us again. Kind regards, Matt E - GM

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016

We went here last weekend for birthday celebrations and I must say a huge thank you to management and all staff,they were all very friendly and as a very nice touch they left champagne and a birthday card in our rooms for us,on check in they took our bags to our rooms for us,the hotel was a very charming boutique...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FORDY112
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "FORDY112" Amazing! Thank you for the great 5 stars review. We certainly did enjoy you spending your birthdays with us. As explained at the time, we do take every opportunity to make the most of such occasions. I will pass this on to the staff her and we hope to see you all in again soon. Regards, Matt E...

South West
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Lovely spacious warm room on a cold windy day. Large comfortable bed, excellent night's sleep, decent quality toiletries in the bathroom, excellent array of tea and coffee choices- even a coffee maker in the room- and complimentary Beaulieu chocolates. A couple of bottles of New Forest spring water included for good measure. Convenient hotel car park at rear, and staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MorganPlus4
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "MorganPlus4" Thank you for coming to stay with us and giving a decent 4 stars. I will pass on the review to the hard working team, and thanks for highlighting a number of our features. With regards to breakfast, yes it is mentioned in the brochure and on the booking confirmation however maybe we could do more to ensure...

Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night while attending a friends 40th birthday at another venue nearby. It's well located in the middle of the high street and convenient for the market, shops and eateries. The staff were polite and helpful and the pub downstairs was very cosy and comfortable. Our room and ensuite were very tastefully decorated (albeit somewhat of a trek...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennie R
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Jennie R" Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review and 4 stars. We enjoyed having your group in and it seemed everyone had a nice time. I think your issue with the layout of the building goes back to it being originally 13th century so things like elevators and wide corridors just wouldn't fit. However I...

Hambon
Reviewed 26 January 2016

The Angel & Blue Pig is a great base from which to explore Lymington....right in the centre of town but close enough to reach the marina. Rooms were very nice - a reasonable size and very clean with comfy beds and nice added touches such a Nespresso machines. As it's one of the bigger pubs in town, it has quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hambon
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Hambon" Thanks for the kind review and good 4 stars. We feel you have hot it spot on with what we offer. It's a shame you missed breakfast however we don't mind keeping something aside for you until later on for a Sunday morning however apologies if this wasn't communicated upon check-in. See you in again soon hopefully! Matt...

Reviewed 6 January 2016

We stayed here for a night as part of our mini honeymoon late December. It was a treat to me from my wife as I had often said I would love to visit, especially for their Chateaubriand. On check in we were shown to our room, 'Michael' (room 1) and it was lovely. The hotel brought up a complimentary bottle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Jeremy L" Hi and thanks for the 4 stars and kind words on service. We did enjoy having you stay with us, especially at such an important time after your wedding! With regards to the 20oz "Chateaus", I do feel for you and apologize, on reflection, I wish we had known they were quite an important part of the...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Lovely old building brought up to date ina quirky style. Room was a little chilly but well put together. Only basic breakfast is included but other nice looking options available. Right on the high street so well located for restaurants and shops.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Daniel T" Thanks for the 4 star review and kind comments. I am sorry you felt the room was a little on the cold side, that's not something I hear often however I will look into it and make any changes I need to. We hope to see you back in again! Kind regards, Matt E - GM

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.1 km away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,494 reviews
4.3 km away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
350 reviews
3.3 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
1.0 km away
The Mayflower
The Mayflower
#6 of 7 in Lymington
224 reviews
7.1 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of picturesque Lymington, the Angel and Blue Pig dates back to the 13th century when it was a coaching inn. With a homely and welcoming pub atmosphere and featuring 14 newly re-furbished en-suite hotel rooms, "The Angel" is the perfect place to visit. Conveniently situated in the on the coastal boarder of the New Forest National Park,it sits in one of the most beautiful landscapes in the South of England. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Angel & Blue Pig

Address: 108 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Price Range: $129 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Angel & Blue Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Lymington
The Angel & Blue Pig Lymington, New Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel & Blue Pig staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Andover, United Kingdom
4 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel & Blue Pig staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3, first floor front, over the lounge bar, slight noise transfer, but worth it for the large windows and high st outlook via balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 151106, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We ate in the restaurant, did not stay in hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Nallacs, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dont choose the single room on floor 2 due to poor bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles Heidi078, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you're a light sleeper, try to get a room at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles stephlukins, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back would hopefully be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Q5587ZGlouisek, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5