We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Panoramas (27)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,367: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We had booked a spa break few weeks in advance for a special birthday. Upon confirmation of booking, we requested to book the treatments as per instructions on the website. We were told that we would be contacted to specify the treatments of our preference but no one ever bothered to get in touch. Tried calling them but no one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fotiadou
AxelGeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Fotiadou Thank you very much for your time to give us detailed feedback. It saddens me that on this occasion we were unable to serve you according to our quality standards and I hope you can accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment we have caused you. Please rest assured that we have investigated the breakdown in communication to...

New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a spa day with afternoon tea for a wedding anniversary celebration, left feeling a little disappointed, we didn't pay a massive amount and so didn't expect the earth. On arrival we were directed to the spa, given our robe and slippers and completed our forms, changed and went for our treatments, no complaints so far, treatments were fine!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holton33
AxelGeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Holton33 I very much appreciate your time reviewing your recent visit to our Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies that we have caused you reason to complaint and I would like to reassure you that I have personally followed up on the concerns you had raised and requested defects in regards to cleanliness and services to be rectified immediately....

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently had our wedding at this hotel and the staff made sure we had an amazing day. The food is outstanding. We opted for the Roast Sirloin of Beef as our main course. We first tried it on our menu tasting in the waterford restaurant and the meat was cooked just the way we like it, just pink in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pgrant76
AxelGeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pgrant76 I was delighted to read that your special day was amazing and the team and I feel grateful for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to serve you as our guests and I hope we will be able to serve you again in the future, whatever the occasion. Once again, thank you very much for your custom...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have booked the a spa break few weeks in advance. Upon confirmation of booking, we requested to book the treatments (as instructed by them). Nobody came back to us with an answer. We chased a couple of more times and then started calling them. No one was answering the phone and the voicemail was showing full. When after two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel T
AxelGeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gabriel T It saddens me that we have caused you reason to complaint in regards to the handling of your booking and I hope you will be able to accept my sincere apologies for the frustration we have caused you. I appreciate that the breakdown in communication has unfortunately caused you to cancel your booking but I would like...

Farnborough
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Elmer court hotel which is a beautiful country house, unfortunately you can't actually stay in the house you stay in what I would call a holiday camp which meant you have to put your outdoor clothes on to go and get breakfast, staff were good food mediocre, they advertise a Scottish steak house which did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred L
AxelGeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Fred L You are very important to us and I would like to thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. I appreciate that we were unable to cater for you in the desired way and I hope you can accept my apologies for any discomfort we have caused you. Our aim is to serve all...

bournemouth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

booked Elmers court for a spa day with my friend for her birthday treat, unfortunately not a great experience... firstly our treatments had been booked for 2pm and we asked to change this to 1pm so we could do the spa then have lunch after, this was confirmed over email about 2 weeks in advance. we turned up on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophie_L89
AxelGeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear sophie_L89 Thank you so much for your time to give us feedback in regards to your recent visit to our Spa. Please accept my apologies for any disappointment we have caused you and your friend. Whilst I cannot change the events that occurred I would like to reassure you that I have spoken with our Spa manager to investigate...

Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a last minute break for a special Birthday. We were very impressed by the main photograph of the Hotel and as it was this time of year envisaged cosy lounges , log fires etc. WRONG. Having entered the main building to book in we were then told to go out of the building to our accommodation. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank petercirish
AxelGeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear petercirish I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback in regards to your experience during your recent visit to Elmers Court. The team and I are sad that we were not able to cater for your needs in the desired way and I hope you can accept my apologies for our shortcomings. At times, when the casual...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at Elmers Court as a family on a number of occasions and have always had a pleasant stay. The family rooms are separate from the main house but are close to all amenities. The main appeal is the grounds which stretch from the main house down to the waters edge where you have a great view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinandlou
AxelGeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear martinandlou Thank you for your time to review your recent stay with us. It was nice to read that you had an enjoyable time. Please rest assured that the hotel is consistently working on improving the public areas as well as our guest rooms and to this extend we are following a maintenance and refurbishment schedule also throughout the...

Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A really pleasant evening in comfortable surroundings and attentive staff. A good variety on the menu. Nicely presented starters and a particularly good smoked salmon. A little brown bread to accompany the salmon would have been welcome. All of my party had the ribeye steak and each requesting differing doneness and all steaks came tender and correctly cooked. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peterorr7515
AxelGeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Peterorr7515 Thank you very much for giving us feedback on your visit to our Waterford Restaurant. We are delighted, that you have enjoyed your dinner and the team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. I would also like to thank you for your further feedback, which I have already discussed...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel last minute as we fancied a getaway for the night and liked the look of the Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal. Check in was okay - the directions to the room were confusing and we ended up going into the wrong room despite the room number being the same. We accessed the room as the door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ACHarrison75
AxelGeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear ACHarrison75 Thank you very much for your detailed feedback – please accept my apologies that not all aspects of your stay have been to your full satisfaction. In particular the concern you had raised in regards to our staff service at the front desk is certainly not according to our high quality standards and it saddens me that we...

752 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (254)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (100)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (486)
Viewed
Amenities (74)
Viewed
Executive Zip & Link (32)
Viewed
Feature Family (33)
Viewed
Feature Zip & Link (31)
Viewed
Holbein Apartment (59)
Viewed
Manor House Apartment (68)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
West Court Cottage Apartment (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
11.8 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,133 reviews
10.9 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,541 reviews
4.2 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,431 reviews
8.5 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,051 reviews
13.3 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Price Range: $146 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Tring, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check into a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 998fredl, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 921amip, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try if in a group to get the upstairs/downstairs houses.”
 of 5 bubbles jethroa305, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 excellent”
 of 5 bubbles East0n, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Apartments looking over the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles King_Druid, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay